X10 Community Forum

💬General Category => Announcements => Topic started by: X10 Deal Manager on September 11, 2006, 08:30:53 PM

Title: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: X10 Deal Manager on September 11, 2006, 08:30:53 PM
The wait is over! Introducing OnAlert, the latest, greatest software plug-in for ActiveHome Pro!

For the first time ever, your home security modules can communicate with ActiveHome Pro! Receive e-mail alerts when your system is armed/disarmed, trigger lights/appliances with security modules, be notified when your sensors are low on batteries and more! OnAlert is the missing link between your security and automation systems!

OnAlert debuts tonight at midnight! Click the link below to find out more information:

http://www.activehomepro.com/plugins/plugin-onalert.html
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Oldtimer on September 11, 2006, 09:10:41 PM
Will the OnAlert AHP add on allow you to use security modules with AHP even if you don't have Protector Plus?
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 11, 2006, 10:57:59 PM
Will the OnAlert AHP add on allow you to use security modules with AHP even if you don't have Protector Plus?

Yes - you can directly trigger macros from AHP with it, similar to triggering from a remote or o powerline signal.   A security console is not required.

Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: KDR on September 11, 2006, 11:22:13 PM
Cool... so is what your saying is that you could setup a window contact switch and have it trigger a macro to turn on a light? Is the RF from the contact switch received by the CM15A?
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: steven r on September 12, 2006, 12:45:08 AM
Looks interesting. Kind of a "poor man's" alarm system. If I didn't already have a real alarm, I might be interested. I'll keep an eye out for the best deal just to see how X10 markets it.
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 12, 2006, 06:12:56 AM
Cool... so is what your saying is that you could setup a window contact switch and have it trigger a macro to turn on a light? Is the RF from the contact switch received by the CM15A?

Yes, that's correct., for both questions.

[Comment added later]
Lest you be misled by my answer above, macros triggered by security device have to be run from the PC - they can't be dowloaded to the CM15A memory.  See: http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=9604.msg56764#msg56764
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: steven r on September 12, 2006, 10:11:12 AM
...macros triggered by security device have to be run from the PC - they can't be dowloaded to the CM15A memory....
Very good point for someone thinking of using just AHP as an alarm system. You will have to have an computer running all the time.
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Dan Lawrence on September 12, 2006, 11:09:36 AM
Oh, well. I'm not interested.
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: cealbrecht on September 12, 2006, 07:05:48 PM
How many security modules can you use with the AHP?  Is it still only 8 zones or can you set up more than 8 with the AHP software?
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: CLacina on September 12, 2006, 09:13:40 PM
How many security modules can you use with the AHP?  Is it still only 8 zones or can you set up more than 8 with the AHP software?

OnAlert doesn't use the concept of 'zones' the way the Security Consoles do.  You should be able to include as many security modules as you want. 
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Henri T on September 13, 2006, 01:57:08 AM
Hi!

I'd like to know if a blinking function for lamp module will be available in macro instructions ?
(with security console, it's automatic for the security lamp module)

I'd like to have the possibility to send the AHP event log  by email when an intrusion is detected.


Thanks.

I will buy this module for sure.  But I'm waiting to see if bugs will appear in the fisrt days of the release....

Sorry for my poor English, guys. I'm from Montreal, QC and I'm a french canadian.

Thanks.
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: JimC on September 13, 2006, 06:32:12 AM

Quote
Lest you be misled by my answer above, macros triggered by security device have to be run from the PC - they can't be downloaded to the CM15A memory

Charles, Thanks for that very usefull bit of information. That will certainly make a difference to me. I was thinking of getting it but if it has to be run from a PC and not able to be downleaded to the CM15a I have no interest. :-\
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Henri T on September 13, 2006, 09:55:24 AM
Hi !

I already have a Protector Plus  system fully installed.
I have AHP and all plugins, a lot of switchs, lamp and appliance modules, etc.
I have 6 cams too.

I'd like to know if  I will have to reinstall all the sensors, motion detectors and remotes if I want to use OnAlert plugin  

Thanks.
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 13, 2006, 10:53:52 AM
Hi !

I already have a Protector Plus  system fully installed.
I have AHP and all plugins, a lot of switchs, lamp and appliance modules, etc.
I have 6 cams too.

I'd like to know if  I will have to reinstall all the sensors, motion detectors and remotes if I want to use OnAlert plugin  

Thanks.


No - you shouldn't have to do anything with the security console except disarm it, if that is your question.

In AHP you drag  the sensors, detectors, and remotes into the room the same as you would any other module.  OnAlert will pop up a window asking you to "install" each device, e.g., press the test button or open the door for a Door/Window sensor, so it can match the security ID for that device with its icon.

When it comes to installing the remotes, just remember NOT to press the "ARM" button, else the next device you install will set off the alarms in your security console.

Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Henri T on September 13, 2006, 01:00:21 PM
Thank you Charles.

I'll buy the plugin very soon (maybe tonight) to make some tries ...

 :D
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: W8UFO on September 14, 2006, 07:13:36 AM
This looks like it will be a useful plugin.  I have the Monitor Plus system....will it work with that?

Thanks!
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: crussell on September 14, 2006, 01:26:58 PM
I have been reading that the plugin will allow you to ARM the Protector Plus via AHP or the internet, but will it also allow you to DISARM or Reset a triggered alarm?
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 14, 2006, 04:40:30 PM
I have been reading that the plugin will allow you to ARM the Protector Plus via AHP or the internet, but will it also allow you to DISARM or Reset a triggered alarm?

I haven't seen the final version, but I believe the thought was not to allow OnAlert to disarm the system, either locally or via the Internet, based on concerns about household security.

Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: TC10 on September 16, 2006, 02:17:41 AM
I put in a good suggestion for free copy of On Alert. There was no prompt for my email id so how do you know who to send free copy of OnAlert to if I win??? :'(
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: SteveR on March 17, 2007, 10:41:59 PM
I have the Security system already
I installed the Active home pro with the OnAlert Plug in
I can see that the interface is talking to the Active home software (I can turn on and off lights with Active home)
But I see none if my security system window,door,motion modules

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,

SteveR
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: bradleystownsend on April 21, 2007, 09:52:00 PM
Is there a plan to fix the software.  I tried it and it sucks!
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: MeThinks on June 03, 2007, 02:03:32 AM
Except that AHP doesn't talk through the security remote SH624 to arm the console. Yet to get AHP to know the security system is armed it must be activated by a securtiy remote....

Therefore no macros to automatically arm the system if you have forgotten...

That doesn't make much sense, does it??

I can arm the system automatically, but it doesn't do any good if AHP doesn't know it. Which would be beneficial for other macros that I would like to initiate but can't!!!!!

AARRGGGGHHHH!!!!


 8)
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: B on September 19, 2007, 12:40:22 PM
Can anyone explain how to incorporate the keychain control that was used with the security console with On Alert?  It is my understanding that the console can be removed from the overall configuration and with On Alert, my reed switches and motion detectors can be configured thru AHP.  My confusion is when building the security macros, how do I incorporate the keychain module to arm and disarm?  Some of my macros have conditions based on armed or unarmed to send email notifications.
Title: Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
Post by: Tuicemen on September 19, 2007, 03:00:09 PM
B: the answer to this can befound in the OnAlert section of the forums!
I posted a link in my thread Topic: Tips and Helpfull Suggestions! (Read 2719 times) (http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=10441.0)
I explained the how to in the thread Topic: Bug - On Alert arms Console but not itself! (Read 8841 times) (http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=10289.msg62699#msg62699)
Hope this helps! ;) :D ;D