X10 Community Forum

🖥️ActiveHome Pro => Plug-ins => OnAlert => Topic started by: cealbrecht on September 18, 2006, 11:52:29 PM

Title: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: cealbrecht on September 18, 2006, 11:52:29 PM
If we get enough positive results, we'll add it to the code.  I'll run this poll for a couple of weeks to see what kind of feedback we get.  Please post your thoughts if you are passionate about the issue one way or another.

Thanks,

Chris.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 19, 2006, 05:13:13 AM
I want to disarm my protector plus for short periods by simply pressing a button or setting a timer.(such as a ten minute delay to leave the house in the morning, or a 20 minute time slot when I expect my children to arrive home from school).  It would be nice to be able to put the disarm command into a macro and set timers.  My system only shows the arming commands under the security dropdown in the macro generator.

Am I missing something?

I understand the decision was made by X-10 not to allow disarming the system by the PC.  It was felt this would be a security risk since it could be done over the internet by a hacker and leave the house unprotected.

Why not use one specific remote to disarm the system, then have the Disarm signal from that remote trigger a macro which will re-arm the system after the selected period of time.

Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: cealbrecht on September 19, 2006, 07:21:57 AM
I wanted to be able to arm and disarm or change the alarm state depending on the time of day/week/holiday etc.  This would be a good reason for X10 to allow the macros to be saved to the AHP module.  Once saved to the module, the computer can be disconnected from the security system, but I would have a very sophisticated, personalized security system that would rival most professionally installed ones.

Any thoughts from the guys at X10?
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 19, 2006, 01:22:11 PM
I wanted to be able to arm and disarm or change the alarm state depending on the time of day/week/holiday etc.  This would be a good reason for X10 to allow the macros to be saved to the AHP module.  Once saved to the module, the computer can be disconnected from the security system, but I would have a very sophisticated, personalized security system that would rival most professionally installed ones.

Any thoughts from the guys at X10?

If by "allow the macros to be saved to the AHP module"  you mean downloading a security macro to the CM15A memory for operation while disconnected from the PC, the chances of that happening are nil - the CM15A firmware doesn't support it.  I could see it happening if X-10 ever decides to design an upgraded product, the "CM16A" as it were.

X-10 could conceivably (although improbably) be convinced to allow disarming from the PC.   That's strictly a software function, requiring only an upgrade to the OnAlert plug-in.


Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: klawrence on September 23, 2006, 05:48:37 PM
I also have spoken with X-10 peoples via email and phone asking for this feature. Arming and Disarming via macros/and timers is paramount. What is home automation without complete automation? Setting the alarm via a timer or macro is a secondary defence just in-case some one forgot to hit the arm button via remote when leaving, and having the ability to disarm via a macro or timer is just another part of the puzzle of complete home automation.

Just my thoughts, and please VOTE above....

Kirk
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 23, 2006, 06:12:47 PM
Quote
If we get enough positive results, we'll add it to the code.  I'll run this poll for a couple of weeks to see what kind of feedback we get.  Please post your thoughts if you are passionate about the issue one way or another.

Thanks,

Chris.

I have a professionally installed and monitored security system at my house.  But if I did have an X-10 system I think I'd be a little nervous knowing that some hacker could possibly disarm my system remotely over the Internet.  I know a lot of people would like to have the disarm feature so I'm voting for adding it to OnAlert for macro and timers.  However if the consensus is to allow disarming over the Internet,  I'd also like to see a way of globally enabling/disabling this feature which could only be done from the PC and not over the Internet.

Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: klawrence on September 23, 2006, 10:29:04 PM
Excellent point, I do agree with you, and I have changed my vote accordingly to not allow the system to be disarmed over the internet. Although I do want to say that a hacker would have to know where you live, and whether you had an X-10 system or not, hack the system ID, then hack the password (hopefully it is a strong password}, and then disarm the system. Then take the risk that the x-10 system is the only security system. Get past the camera's and then hope that there is not a macro that emails the owner that the system was disarmed. Remote at best, but still a viable risk that should be addressed.  I would like to see the ability to disarm the system via macros or timers though allowing for greater automation.  Also I want to point out that I nor anyone should not rely on the X-10 security system to be a primary security system, only a supplement to an existing hard wired monitored system.  I know that this seems like overkill, but with the flexable automation and the ability to customize the AHP system with marcos I do feel that it could,  in time and with continued refinement,  surpass conventional systems. I do not think that the x-10 security system is bug free enough to be a primary security system yet, getting close, but not yet.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 23, 2006, 10:43:49 PM
Excellent point, I do agree with you, and I have changed my vote accordingly to not allow the system to be disarmed over the internet. Although I do want to say that a hacker would have to know where you live, and whether you had an X-10 system or not, hack the system ID, then hack the password (hopefully it is a strong password}, and then disarm the system. Then take the risk that the x-10 system is the only security system. Get past the camera's and then hope that there is not a macro that emails the owner that the system was disarmed. Remote at best, but still a viable risk that should be addressed.  I would like to see the ability to disarm the system via macros or timers though allowing for greater automation.  Also I want to point out that I nor anyone should not rely on the X-10 security system to be a primary security system, only a supplement to an existing hard wired monitored system.  I know that this seems like overkill, but with the flexable automation and the ability to customize the AHP system with marcos I do feel that it could,  in time and with continued refinement,  surpass conventional systems. I do not think that the x-10 security system is bug free enough to be a primary security system yet, getting close, but not yet.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: cealbrecht on September 24, 2006, 10:45:10 PM
I would be happy to disarm the system with the use of macros and timers.  I can always set my permissions to execute the disarm macro over the internet if I found the need to do so.  I am more concerned by stupid common criminals than I am with a smart hacker.  If someone were smart enough to hack into my computer and disarm my alarm, he should be smart enough to know that he may need to hack his way past a couple of big dogs and my Glock 17.  Something the common criminals don't seem to take into account.  In a way, my alarm system and all of the great automation will most likely save the life of anyone who is brazen enough to consider breaking  into my home.

I think x-10 should allow the customer full automation of everything they purchase, whether they think it is safe or not.  It is the buyer's responsibility to be prepared for all scenearios.  What if there is an extended power outage in the home?  Essentially, all of the sirens and flashing lights have been taken off-line...all automation has been disabled.  The buyers need to consider this and have battery backup on system critical devices and home generators, cell phones, etc and if that isn't feasible...some dogs and a gun.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Grandpa David on October 25, 2006, 09:08:10 AM
After a week of thought on this, I'm still of the opinion that it should be my choice to be able to disarm via whatever method, perhaps selecting the disarm macros only from the pc that AHP is installed on and with password protection.  I would find it very useful to set the system to disarm from 11a.m. to 1p.m. to allow someone in to let the pets out, etc. and not to have to give out a remote.

Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: compunerdy on October 26, 2006, 11:58:32 AM
I vote to atleast give us the option. You asked now lets see some action.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: E on November 17, 2006, 12:41:18 PM
I would like the option.  Perhaps to appease both sides of the issue, X10 could make it an user controllable option allowing users to disarm the system from MyHouse.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: twalls on December 07, 2006, 10:13:18 PM
I am relatively new to this but may have a partial solution to this problem. I set my alarm to activate onlywhen a certain module is in the off position. I used a table lamp to be the must be off module for the alarm to initiate the macro that turns on the power horn. with the remote I can then "turn off the alarm"from a key chain remote simply by turning off the table lamp and stopping the macro from running
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: JMac on December 07, 2006, 10:48:22 PM
I have never been able to arm my console other than with the security remote.  Of course the ability to disarm would be great too!
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Jeff619 on December 30, 2006, 05:26:08 AM
When I purchased this plug-in I thought it had this function. I am really disappointed that it was left out. I hope an update will correct this soon.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: hostilejava on December 30, 2006, 08:24:49 AM
When I purchased this plug-in I thought it had this function. I am really disappointed that it was left out. I hope an update will correct this soon.

It wasn't just left out, It was left out on purpose.  If you look, you'll see you have the ability to arm away, arm away with delay, arm home, and arm home with delay.  They left out the ability to disarm so that someone can't just hack your pc or worse yet, if you have it sitting near a doorway, walk in, trip it, and then use your macro to shut it off right away.  Personally I think it's a good idea.  I only want people with security remotes that I handed out to be able to shut the system off.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: paulnoel12 on January 09, 2007, 12:18:05 AM
I did tobe able to arm my system via the internet and a timed macro so that in case some one forgts to arm it i can have it trm at a certain time. My system is currently installed in an industrial faciltity and I need the security of knowing that it is armed and if not i need to be able to arm it either by timer and with certain days and be able to arm it over the internet. the dis arm would be ok but i beleive the most important thing is to be able to arm it in case some one for gets to and according to the add this is supposed to be possible i just need to know how ???
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Puck on January 09, 2007, 12:41:33 AM
paulnoel12: If you are trying to ARM your DS7000 Security System with a macro / over the internet, look at Arming DX7000 via a Macro (http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=10205.0). cealbrecht posted the solution.

In your macro you might want to have it send you an email, for verification that it ran, as it's last step.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: paulnoel12 on January 09, 2007, 10:11:08 PM
i am a new user and just learning how to set things up can someone send me the list in order that i would need to do to build a macro to arm my alarm system with the ds7000(protector plus dailer uni) so that i can both arm it over the net from my home if some one forgets to arm it and also a macro list on setting up a schedule for having it turn on at differnt times on different days.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Puck on January 09, 2007, 10:53:51 PM
paulnoel12: Below is a sample of an Arm Away Macro. On the right, I have shown where the arm selection menu is.

(http://www.geocities.com/puckx10/macros/arm/arm_macro.jpg)


To schedule this macro for different times on different days, you will have to create a Timer for each day. What you will need to do is create a Phantom/Dummy appliance switch for your ARM macro. This will allow you to create timers for it.

For more info on Phantom/Dummy modules, see Tuicemen's thread: Using Phantom/dummy/ghost/virtual modules (http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=8807.0)
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: lightiv on February 04, 2007, 12:30:22 PM
Any suggestions why AHP would not show me the "Security" option?  I have the onAlert plugin installed.

Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 04, 2007, 05:05:57 PM
lightiv:
You have to setup your security modules and any security remotes you have including the key flob KR10A in AHP!
In order to get all the security options this must be done!
I never had any options until I started installing the devices and once I installed the key flob the "Arm" options appeared! ;) :D ;D
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: lightiv on February 05, 2007, 09:48:15 PM
Thanks Tuicemen,

you were right as usual.  ;)

On another note I have created some phantom modules with macros to tell me when doors or windows have been open but not to speak when a sensor checks in.  I am wondering if I am understanding things correctly.   

You can only have phantom modules? 

You have to use a security macro to activate the phantom module?

In my case I am using the phantom module as a flag so that the system will not speak when a sensor checks in.

Any thoughts will be much appreciated.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: JMac on February 05, 2007, 10:11:59 PM
 "but not to speak when a sensor checks in."  I was curious, by "checking in" do you mean the activity monitor indication?
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Puck on February 05, 2007, 10:34:01 PM
lightiv: When you create a security macro for a door/window sensor, you can choose to have the macro execute just when the sensor is triggered (opened).
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: JMac on February 05, 2007, 10:42:55 PM
lightiv: When you create a security macro for a door/window sensor, you can choose to have the macro execute just when the sensor is triggered (opened).

OR when it is delayed triggered or closed, right?
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Puck on February 05, 2007, 11:37:45 PM
OR when it is delayed triggered or closed, right?

That right JMac, those are the 3 security macro trigger conditions available for door/window sensors.

From what I see in the activity monitor, the sensor closed is what gets sent when it checks in every ~ 1 hour.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: lightiv on February 06, 2007, 12:13:39 AM
Hi Puck,

What about when that closed command across? 

For a macro that speaks when the sensor is closed ("the kitchen window has closed.") I do not understand how you keep it from speaking without using a phantom module.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Puck on February 06, 2007, 09:54:35 AM
I never left a window or door open for an extended period of time (being winter) but I suspect the senor sends out it's current status as it's check in. I.E. Sensor Closed when closed & Sensor Triggered when open.

So if you have a macro to trigger speech, it will repeat itself every hour. This may be fine as a reminder that something is open, but will be a nuisance constantly telling you it's closed.

The best way I can think of to avoid the repeats is using a Status Flag and only triggering the speech on a change (Clear-to-Set, Set-to-Clear). This of course will eat up most if not all of the 16 Status Flags.

You could use a set of Phantom Modules as pseudo-Status Flags for this. Just dedicate a House Code (example "P") for 16 phantom appliance switches. Then set this House Code as the Monitored House Code. You could then use macros that check for the state of these phantom switches (same as the Status Flags above) to determine when to trigger speech.

Too bad the sensor check in wasn't unique.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 06, 2007, 04:23:50 PM
lightiv
Sorry for not replying sooner but Pucks reply is very similar to what I'd have stated! With the added info that you use the houseunit code that your security module is on as the phantom module address.
X10 uses a technique similar to the phantom module trick in order to make the security plug-in work! If your not sure which house code your security module is on then you'd best read Topic: Tips and Helpfull Suggestions!  (Read 1132 times)    (http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=10441.0)  and get all your security modules on the same house code! ;) :D ;D
In my tests using this as a phantom didn't affect the security modules or the Phantom (but I wasn't triggering sound)! ;) :D ;D
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: nklght on February 11, 2007, 02:31:57 AM
It would be a nice feature to be able to disarm the system automatically with a macro.  I used to live at a house with a professional security system and it was a pain in the behind opening the door, and dropping everything to disarm the system.  We wound up never arming the system, due to this nuisance.  I would have no problem with having the system doing an at home disarm via a macro because a multitude of items occurred.  The garage door opened, and the garage to house door openend within a specified time frame, will disable the away mode, any use of any door or alarmed entrance will result in the automatic trigger of the alarm.  I do not have an alarm right now but the few people that have access to my house are family, and have the code and a key to my garage/house door.  For service people, I can set up a code to open the garage door and I also have keypad that deploys the key to the house door, which I can change in a instant.  So it would be nice to be able to have the alarm disarm if certain parameters are met, since most thieves are not going to hang out and figure what must be done to break in.  Currently, I know who has the code and key to my house, so if something is stolen with a macro-disarmament, I could help police back track.  Having a macro dis-armament is better than having no security at all.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Sham on February 17, 2007, 09:43:57 AM
Hello everyone!

New x10er here, been learning a lot lurking around in these forums. Love them, they are great, much better than the "manuals".

Just wanted to throw in my request to PLEASE give us the ability to disarm the security system via macro!
My system is going to lose a whole lot of WAF if I suddenly try to get her to use 2 keychain remotes! (one for lights, garage door, etc, and one for security).

I thought for sure that disarming via macro would be possible when I bought everything!  I do now see the concerns some users have with this, but they do not bother me one bit. PLEASE give us the choice! 
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: MeThinks on June 03, 2007, 02:37:40 PM
I also have spoken with X-10 peoples via email and phone asking for this feature. Arming and Disarming via macros/and timers is paramount. What is home automation without complete automation? Setting the alarm via a timer or macro is a secondary defence just in-case some one forgot to hit the arm button via remote when leaving, and having the ability to disarm via a macro or timer is just another part of the puzzle of complete home automation.

Just my thoughts, and please VOTE above....

Kirk

I know I've missed the vote by now, but I just started fooling with my system again recently, got AHP and all its plug-ins, having a good time, but I also would like to have a back up to arm my system if someones forgets. Don't get me wrong, I've got macros set up to arm the system automatically at certain times, but it would be nice to be able to only automatically arm if certain conditions applied, such as the system not being armed already. Unfortunately AHP can't figure out if its already armed unless you use a security remote, which in some cases I would like to arm the system without the need of the remote, especially from remote locations.

Anyways I just wish I could get the console and AHP on the same page, so to speak.

 8)
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: lil_engineer on September 27, 2007, 03:30:32 PM
For those that are afraid of the security risk to disarm an alarm system;   :o
does that mean you do not do your checkbook or other finances on your computer?  As with any computer system it is only as safe as you are keeping it safe.   ;)
I don't let people access my AHP from the Internet,  :'(
I have an email form that has to be sent via my personal website to control AHP.  8) (yes you have to have an account and login to use the form)

Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: lil_engineer on September 29, 2007, 09:27:15 PM
A "panic" like what is on the controller would be nice
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: Bruno B on December 03, 2007, 10:23:18 PM
Hello everyone, these forums are great!!!

I came on tonight looking specifically for this topic, but was disappointed, like many of you to find the answer.

Maybe I'm missing something here, but this seems like a no-brainer. X10 should create the all-inclusive option (macro, timer, myhouse, etc). The, let the user decide how to use it - if at all.

If you're not too worried about it - use as you wish.

If you're concerned, add conditions to protect the disarming - you could for example set up a door/window sensor mounted on the wall. If you have the magnet in your pocket, it can't be disarmed except by remote to the console - not by macro - or a lamp state, set up permissions in myhouse, etc.

If you're paranoid or have extra security concerns - don't use it.

I notice this thread started a while ago. Any news on the verdict? I'm sure the vote speaks for itself - when are we going to know the fate of this community request?
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: oldokie on October 10, 2008, 11:36:38 AM
Most of my security macros have a condition of "Armed Away". They allow you to reset the condition to "Armed Home" so that none of the security away macro will run. So, what's the difference in being able to set "Disarmed"?

I vote for being able to reset to "Disarmed" state.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: steven r on October 10, 2008, 12:51:03 PM
I voted "Don't Care" but in all fairness to the pole I neither own nor am interested in owning an X10 alarm system.
Title: Re: Disarming via a macro? Where are the macro commands to do this?
Post by: nklght on October 18, 2008, 01:24:21 AM
Most Alarms operate on a dis-arm, arm at home, or arm away.  The difference is that dis-arm turns off all sensors, Arm at home turns on all sensors except for the motion sensors, and arm away turns on all the sensors.  We want to shut off the system via a macro so we could open the garage door with a seperate secure code remote, and then run a macro and dis-arm the system.