X10 Community Forum

🔌General Home Automation => Automating Your House => Topic started by: DowNet on September 22, 2006, 03:57:44 PM

Title: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: DowNet on September 22, 2006, 03:57:44 PM
Anyone know why X10 has stopped selling the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?  :-  Since their bandit deal a couple of months ago, discounting the units to about 9 dollars a pop or cheaper, it seems that they have ran out and have yet to get any more back in.  Is this unit being discontinued or are they just slow in refreshing their stock?  I've been able to buy a couple from other stores on-line but it appears that X10.com will list the item, but when you click on it to view the info, it brings you to the 1-way lamp module.

Any info would be appreciated.  Thanks.  ???
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 22, 2006, 04:09:21 PM
Anyone know why X10 has stopped selling the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?  :-\  Since their bandit deal a couple of months ago, discounting the units to about 9 dollars a pop or cheaper, it seems that they have ran out and have yet to get any more back in.  Is this unit being discontinued or are they just slow in refreshing their stock?  I've been able to buy a couple from other stores on-line but it appears that X10.com will list the item, but when you click on it to view the info, it brings you to the 1-way lamp module.

Any info would be appreciated.  Thanks.  ???

I think we're all waiting to find out what X-10's plans are - whether they're coming out with an improved model or are just discontinuing a product that hasn't sold well enough at its normal price to justify continued production.

Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Dan Lawrence on September 22, 2006, 04:22:23 PM
If you really want LM14's, Pigs Electronics in Baltimore  http://www.pigselectronics.com/  is selling them for $21.99.  Act quickly, they only have 9 left.  Apparently Pigs Electronics can't get them either.

Opps, called the module a LM15.  Bad poster!!!!
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: DowNet on September 22, 2006, 06:21:56 PM
If you really want LM15's, Pigs Electronics in Baltimore  http://www.pigselectronics.com/  is selling them for $21.99.  Act quickly, they only have 9 left.  Apparently Pigs Electronics can't get them either.

Yeah, I got my from another online store (smarthome.com)...but looks like I bought them out only by buying one.  Thanks for the tip on "pigs."  I'll try them out.  I agree with the above post; $40-$50 for a 2-way lamp mod is too much from X10.  How are Smarthome's LampLinc's in comparison with controlling X10 PLCs etc?
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Brian H on September 23, 2006, 07:30:56 AM
The Lamplincs may also be going and replaced with the newer Insteon versions that can have an X10 Address. They also have no programming dials so you have to send them codes from a controller to program them. Some of the Codes are House Codes only.
I can control them with my PalmPad remote and a RR501 Transceiver.
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: DowNet on September 23, 2006, 12:34:08 PM
The Lamplincs may also be going and replaced with the newer Insteon versions that can have an X10 Address. They also have no programming dials so you have to send them codes from a controller to program them. Some of the Codes are House Codes only.
I can control them with my PalmPad remote and a RR501 Transceiver.

Are these modules out yet?  And are the former Lamplincs pretty good with remote controls and AHP?
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: DowNet on September 23, 2006, 12:42:10 PM

Quote

I think we're all waiting to find out what X-10's plans are - whether they're coming out with an improved model or are just discontinuing a product that hasn't sold well enough at its normal price to justify continued production.


Quote

On 2nd thought, they have to replace it with something. Overall it was and still is a good unit. Pricey? Yes. But still a good unit.  If anyone has good experience with LampLincs or the like, pass it on...it might be time to switch to a different lamp module that can do similar funtictions and hold up to the good sensitivity of the LM41A has.  I think the 1-way lamp mods are terrible. They are slower in response and not as reliable.  If anything they should discontinue those. ::)
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: KDR on September 23, 2006, 01:43:16 PM
Makes me happy I purchased 3 extras awhile back. If I recall right isn't the 2way lamp module the only lamp module you can use to turn on a lamp and have it come on at a previous dim level without going full bright first? If so I would think that a replacement of some kind would take its place.
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Brian H on September 23, 2006, 04:50:15 PM
DowNet; I have not used the Lamp Types of either X10 Compatible or Insteon much just a few qiuck tests . I have almost 100% CFLs so diming is not possible.
I believe preset dim commands are different from X10s modules and the LampLincs.
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 23, 2006, 05:24:41 PM
I believe preset dim commands are different from X10s modules and the LampLincs.

That's correct.  The LM14A uses the Extended Codes to set the brightness level (64 levels) while LampLinc uses the old style Preset Dim commands to set the brightness level (32 levels).  Unfortunately ActiveHome Pro  does not support the old style Presets.

However the LampLinc responds to standard X10 Dim and Bright commands, and can be brightened from the Off state without first going to fully On.  It can also be configured to turn On either to a predetermined brightness level or alternatively to resume the last level it was at when turned Off.  (At least this is true for the one I have, a LampLinc 2000STW.)
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: DowNet on September 23, 2006, 09:21:49 PM
I believe preset dim commands are different from X10s modules and the LampLincs.

That's correct.  The LM14A uses the Extended Codes to set the brightness level (64 levels) while LampLinc uses the old style Preset Dim commands to set the brightness level (32 levels).  Unfortunately ActiveHome Pro  does not support the old style Presets.

However the LampLinc responds to standard X10 Dim and Bright commands, and can be brightened from the Off state without first going to fully On.  It can also be configured to turn On either to a predetermined brightness level or alternatively to resume the last level it was at when turned Off.  (At least this is true for the one I have, a LampLinc 2000STW.)

What is the difference between preset dim and extended code dim?  Don't they achive the same results?
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 23, 2006, 10:17:12 PM
I believe preset dim commands are different from X10s modules and the LampLincs.

That's correct.  The LM14A uses the Extended Codes to set the brightness level (64 levels) while LampLinc uses the old style Preset Dim commands to set the brightness level (32 levels).  Unfortunately ActiveHome Pro  does not support the old style Presets.

However the LampLinc responds to standard X10 Dim and Bright commands, and can be brightened from the Off state without first going to fully On.  It can also be configured to turn On either to a predetermined brightness level or alternatively to resume the last level it was at when turned Off.  (At least this is true for the one I have, a LampLinc 2000STW.)

What is the difference between preset dim and extended code dim?  Don't they achive the same results?

Different strokes for different folks.

The LM14A responds to Extended Code Dims but not Preset Dims.  The LampLinc responds to Preset Dims but not Extended Code Dims.

ActiveHome Pro only supports Extended Code Dims.



Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: DowNet on September 23, 2006, 10:42:31 PM

Quote

Different strokes for different folks.

The LM14A responds to Extended Code Dims but not Preset Dims.  The LampLinc responds to Preset Dims but not Extended Code Dims.

ActiveHome Pro only supports Extended Code Dims.




Quote

Okay, so for example if I set a dimming level of 50% on a lamplinc module from AHP it won't do it?  Sorry, I'm a bit confused about that.  :-\
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 23, 2006, 11:23:04 PM
Okay, so for example if I set a dimming level of 50% on a lamplinc module from AHP it won't do it?  Sorry, I'm a bit confused about that.  :-\

Sorry if I confused you.  In addition to the Extended Code and Preset Dims, there are also the standard X10 Dims & Brightens.  With the first two (and a compatible module) you can turn on a lamp directly to a specified level.  With the standard Dims, the lamp is first turned On to full brightness then dimmed to the specified level.  All lamp dimmer modules, whether LM14A or LampLinc or standard X-10 Lamp Modules, respond to the standard Dims.

Note however that the percentage brightness level is calibrated only for X-10 productes.  You will usually have to use a different percentage to set a lamp controlled by a LampLinc to the same visible brightness as the same lamp controlled by an X-10 module.
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: DowNet on September 25, 2006, 11:31:38 AM
Okay, so for example if I set a dimming level of 50% on a lamplinc module from AHP it won't do it?  Sorry, I'm a bit confused about that.  :-

Sorry if I confused you.  In addition to the Extended Code and Preset Dims, there are also the standard X10 Dims & Brightens.  With the first two (and a compatible module) you can turn on a lamp directly to a specified level.  With the standard Dims, the lamp is first turned On to full brightness then dimmed to the specified level.  All lamp dimmer modules, whether LM14A or LampLinc or standard X-10 Lamp Modules, respond to the standard Dims.

Note however that the percentage brightness level is calibrated only for X-10 productes.  You will usually have to use a different percentage to set a lamp controlled by a LampLinc to the same visible brightness as the same lamp controlled by an X-10 module.

Thanks for the clarity. So if I got this right, if I use AHP to dim a light say to 30%, using a Lamplinc, it won't recognize the command?  And this is becuase the lamplinc does not recognize those "extended codes" sent out by AHP when dimming etc.?
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Charles Sullivan on September 25, 2006, 12:30:36 PM
Okay, so for example if I set a dimming level of 50% on a lamplinc module from AHP it won't do it?  Sorry, I'm a bit confused about that.  :-\

Sorry if I confused you.  In addition to the Extended Code and Preset Dims, there are also the standard X10 Dims & Brightens.  With the first two (and a compatible module) you can turn on a lamp directly to a specified level.  With the standard Dims, the lamp is first turned On to full brightness then dimmed to the specified level.  All lamp dimmer modules, whether LM14A or LampLinc or standard X-10 Lamp Modules, respond to the standard Dims.

Note however that the percentage brightness level is calibrated only for X-10 products.  You will usually have to use a different percentage to set a lamp controlled by a LampLinc to the same visible brightness as the same lamp controlled by an X-10 module.

Thanks for the clarity. So if I got this right, if I use AHP to dim a light say to 30%, using a Lamplinc, it won't recognize the command?  And this is becuase the lamplinc does not recognize those "extended codes" sent out by AHP when dimming etc.?

It depends how you define your LampLinc for ActiveHome Pro.

If you define your LampLinc as an LM14A (by dragging the LM14A icon into the room), AHP will use the Extended Code commands which the LampLinc does not support, so the command won't be recognized.  However if you define the LampLinc as a standard X10 Lamp Module like the LM465, then AHP will use the standard X10 Dim and Bright commands which the LampLinc does support.   But you will find that the visible brightness of a lamp connected to a LampLinc will be different than  that of a lamp connected to a LM465 for the same percentage brightness, so you'll have to adjust the percentage.

There will be some other differences, e.g., an LM465 in the dimmed state will not change if it receives an AllLightsOn command, whereas a LampLinc will go to full brightness.  So the state of the lamp as displayed by AHP will be incorrect.  Similarly, a LampLinc can be manually configured to resume its previous brightness level when turned On after having been turned Off.  So a LampLinc thus configured will be displayed in AHP as fully On whereas the actual lamp will be dimmed.




Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: DowNet on September 25, 2006, 12:44:01 PM

Quote

It depends how you define your LampLinc for ActiveHome Pro.

If you define your LampLinc as an LM14A (by dragging the LM14A icon into the room), AHP will use the Extended Code commands which the LampLinc does not support, so the command won't be recognized.  However if you define the LampLinc as a standard X10 Lamp Module like the LM465, then AHP will use the standard X10 Dim and Bright commands which the LampLinc does support.   But you will find that the visible brightness of a lamp connected to a LampLinc will be different than  that of a lamp connected to a LM465 for the same percentage brightness, so you'll have to adjust the percentage.

There will be some other differences, e.g., an LM465 in the dimmed state will not change if it receives an AllLightsOn command, whereas a LampLinc will go to full brightness.  So the state of the lamp as displayed by AHP will be incorrect.  Similarly, a LampLinc can be manually configured to resume its previous brightness level when turned On after having been turned Off.  So a LampLinc thus configured will be displayed in AHP as fully On whereas the actual lamp will be dimmed.





Quote

Ah-ha!  Now I fully understand. :)  Thanks much Charles in your explanation regarding this (you earned a "helpful" link click by me).   All in all I hope that X10 works out their LM14A stock soon. :-\
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: ekb on June 19, 2007, 06:45:51 PM
What happened to the LM465 modules that would let you smoothly dim the lights up and down using the dim controls.

The new ones I just bought dim the lights all the way up or down with the on/off buttons and all the dim buttons do is adjust the brightness to internally preset levels in a very jerky or spasmodic manner. I also dislike not being able to instantly turn the lights all the way off or on like I used to.

What's the point of an on/off buttons that aren't  on/off buttons, but are actually an extra set of  dimmer buttons?

Anyway, does anyone know where I can buy some old-style LM465s or if any other company makes modules that are compatible with X10 remotes and work like the old-style 465s.

Thanks
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: dave w on September 23, 2007, 07:27:18 PM
What happened to the LM465 modules that would let you smoothly dim the lights up and down using the dim controls.

The new ones I just bought dim the lights all the way up or down with the on/off buttons and all the dim buttons do is adjust the brightness to internally preset levels in a very jerky or spasmodic manner. I also dislike not being able to instantly turn the lights all the way off or on like I used to.

What's the point of an on/off buttons that aren't on/off buttons, but are actually an extra set of dimmer buttons?

Anyway, does anyone know where I can buy some old-style LM465s or if any other company makes modules that are compatible with X10 remotes and work like the old-style 465s.

Thanks
New LM465s have the "soft start"  feature which takes about two seconds to bring the bulb from OFF to 100% and about the same amount time when turning OFF again. The feature should extend bulb life, and adds a bit of ambiance I suppose. All LM465 from X10 are the new type. You might try eBay for the older design. Unfortunately X10 made the change without any model number change or a firmware revision indication. So I don't know how you could guarentee getting the old units.

If you find other branded lamp modules such as RCA, Magnavox, Stanley, or First Alert, they will be the old design. X10 also has a "$50 bundle of RCA moduels on their site. I think it is three lamp modules, three appliance modules and two wall switch modules for $50. They will be the old design.


Good luck
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Brian H on September 23, 2007, 08:08:16 PM
The features are also mixed. My new Lamp modules; I got a few weeks ago are the old style no soft start. While some have gotten the new ones with soft start months ago.
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: dave w on September 24, 2007, 12:39:59 PM
Well ekb, based on Brians findings, unless you know someone at X10 who will take a trip down the basement to find you some "old stuff" your only choice might be to try and source the "rebranded" lamp modules. Try searching eBay for "First Alert" or "RCA"  "X10 lamp module" and see if anything pops up.
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Brian H on September 24, 2007, 06:18:19 PM
The Black and Decker FWLR  lamp modules also work fine and may also be found in close out deals. Even have knobs you can grab to set them and no screwdriver needed. Note they also have a fuse in them. So if overloaded; the load is disconnected from the circuit.
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Walt2 on September 25, 2007, 08:45:01 AM
The features are also mixed. My new Lamp modules; I got a few weeks ago are the old style no soft start. While some have gotten the new ones with soft start months ago.

Did you get these lamp modules directly from X10???   In other words, is X10 itself sending out a mix of random new and old style lamp modules to fill orders?
Title: Re: What Happened to the LM14A (2-Way Lamp module 2-pin)?
Post by: Brian H on September 25, 2007, 12:14:51 PM
Yes it was less than a month ago and had a very recent date code. Was part of the new Timer Kit with the LCD version Mini-Timer.
There is a thread on date codes and what seems to be old and new. Version of hardware does not change at a certain date code.