X10 Community Forum

🖥️ActiveHome Pro => SDK => Topic started by: InGearX on November 01, 2006, 10:52:32 AM

Title: X10
Post by: InGearX on November 01, 2006, 10:52:32 AM
Goo day all,

I want to plug the 2-way Transceiver (RR501) http://www.smarthome.com/4000.html w. a USB into my PC A and then have it ping PC B and internet (and request http from PC B and internet to make sure they are up...)

if either fail for x # of times - then reboot (turn of and on) the switch http://www.smarthome.com/2002.html which has PC B, router and modem connected to it.

What is the best way to go about developing this?
I think someone has even made something like this...

I found this http://www.activehomepro.com/sdk/sdk-info.html
I think there is an
>x10.exe -code -on/off
that takes parameters, all I would need to do is make a small Perl program that pings PC B (192.168.1.101) and cnn.com
if OK then it sleeps for 60 seconds and repeats
if BAD then send "x10.exe -a1 -off" sleep for 10 seconds then send on do something else (e-mail?)

But I just want to get outside input and feedback on how I should do it...

Thank you all...
Title: Re: X10
Post by: Brian H on November 01, 2006, 12:16:50 PM
RR501 is not a X10 Computer Interface. Just a Transceiver and has no connections for any computer.
Do you have an interface like the CM15A USB unit or an older CM11A Serial one?
Title: Re: X10
Post by: InGearX on November 03, 2006, 08:45:04 AM
RR501 is not a X10 Computer Interface. Just a Transceiver and has no connections for any computer.
Do you have an interface like the CM15A USB unit or an older CM11A Serial one?
Sorry I have the CM15A;

So what do you think would be the best way to do this?
Title: Re: X10
Post by: Tuicemen on November 03, 2006, 09:18:10 AM
Quote
I think someone has even made something like this...
There was  a program made with the SDK called x10ping you can find info and a download here:
Topic: X10 software to monitor and power cycle network devices  (Read 4460 times)  (http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=8659.0)
If there is another option you'd like that it doesn't already have post to the thread and it may get added! ;)
Title: Re: X10
Post by: vhoang on November 03, 2006, 04:47:29 PM
You've got the right idea.   The general consus is that you don't need to build your own ping application.   

Any network monitoring type application that can launch a command line can interface with activehome to send a command.

Here's another option to look at that i've used before.   Their trial softare has not time limit ... but you can only monitor 5 computers or 5 services..   Enough to do what you need.   Lots of features, and worth a look.

http://www.woodstone.nu/

Just command line into AHP to control the CM15A as you pointed out from the SDK