X10 Community Forum

🛡Home Security => Problems and Troubleshooting => Topic started by: RFG on February 21, 2011, 11:10:57 PM

Title: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: RFG on February 21, 2011, 11:10:57 PM
Anyone have experence with using the new SecuriLink SC1200 with answering systems?  I just installed a SC1200 to replace a PS561 and it doesn't seem to work with my answering system as described in the manual.  After the answering system message entering the PIN just seems to be ignored even though the tones are recorded on the answering machine.  I tried changing the "answer delay" with no effect.  Ideas?
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Brian H on March 04, 2011, 04:06:05 PM
I am hoping to get my SC1200 installed shortly.
I will try and test it with a phone as I have an answering machine also.

Where you using a cell phone or another land line phone?
I saw a post over in the Smarthome forums. Where the user was trying to access an X10Pro Touch Tone Responder.
Was OK from a land line but not the cell phone.
Seems many cell phones send short touch tone bursts, that where too short to be decoded properly.
http://www.smarthome.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=7891
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: RFG on March 04, 2011, 05:00:14 PM
I was using a cell phone that has worked fine with a couple of PS561s in the past.  X10.com has agreed to exchange the unit.  Will post the result with the new unit.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Brian H on March 04, 2011, 06:01:41 PM
OK. Will be waiting for your findings.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: dwyane on March 12, 2011, 10:31:05 AM
Ordered security system advertised to be able to initiate commands remotely via telephone while answering machine is in service. I couldnít get the system to work with my answering machine in service.

Called X-10 Technical Support several times. First time was told to try a lot of different things and call back if it still didnít work. Called back and was told that the system (doesnít do that).  I asked about returning for a refund and was put on hold for about 5 minuets and disconnected.

Called back several times and unable to talk to anyone. Called using a different phone and was answered right away. Explained the situation to Jan again and was told that it might be may answering machine. Was told I could return if I paid for shipping. I expressed my disagreeing with paying to ship something for something not working as advertised and was disconnected in the process.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Brian H on March 12, 2011, 12:26:36 PM
Thank you for your input.
I am sorry it had to be on a sour note, but it may assist others.

Where you using a standard telephone line or cable internet phone service?
Where you using a standard phone or a cell phone to access it?
If you are using DSL. Are both the answering machine and SC1200 on a DSL Filter?
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Knightrider on March 12, 2011, 03:59:15 PM
Ordered security system advertised to be able to initiate commands remotely via telephone while answering machine is in service. I couldnít get the system to work with my answering machine in service.

Called X-10 Technical Support several times. First time was told to try a lot of different things and call back if it still didnít work. Called back and was told that the system (doesnít do that).  I asked about returning for a refund and was put on hold for about 5 minuets and disconnected.

Called back several times and unable to talk to anyone. Called using a different phone and was answered right away. Explained the situation to Jan again and was told that it might be may answering machine. Was told I could return if I paid for shipping. I expressed my disagreeing with paying to ship something for something not working as advertised and was disconnected in the process.


Have you posted this story on FaceBook?  They tend to like jumping on the issues posted over there.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Brian H on March 12, 2011, 06:25:26 PM
I could not access my SC1200A with the Answering Machine On.
Was fine as long as it was the unit answering the phone.
Tried a few different answer delay settings didn't seem to make a difference.
I was using my cell phone but had no control problems if the SC1200A was the one that seized the phone line.

Looks like it is not like the TR16A Touch Tone Responder. That listens even when an answering machine seized the phone line first.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: RFG on March 19, 2011, 05:25:12 PM
Just got and tried a replacement SC1200.  It has the same problem as the first, I can't get it to work with an answering machine!  I even tried a different answering machine.  It works fine if the answering delay is set short enough such that it picks up before the answering system but doesn't respond at all once the answering machine answers.  The answering machine is compatible with a TR551 telephone transponder and that combination that works fine.  I think X-10 has a definite problem with the SC1200.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: dave w on March 19, 2011, 06:05:05 PM
  I think X-10 has a definite problem with the SC1200.
Wow, that's certainly novel for X10.

Anywho, sarcasm aside, take Knightriders recommendation of posting on Facebook. It lights their fire. Appearently this should be changed to past tense.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: dwyane on March 20, 2011, 08:18:28 PM
  I think X-10 has a definite problem with the SC1200.
Wow, that's certainly novel for X10.

Anywho, sarcasm aside, take Knightriders recommendation of posting on Facebook. I lights their fire.

Tried posting in FB but cant see what I posted. I can only see positive postings about X10. Am I doing something wrong or are they filtering post.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) on March 21, 2011, 11:07:34 PM
Actually, us CO's have been informed that you will get better results shooting an email to either support@x10.com or webmaster@x10.com and they will no longer respond to such requests, gripes, etc. on their Facebook.  >*<
 >!
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Brian H on March 22, 2011, 06:03:13 AM
Thanks Bill for the new information on Facebook comments.
I will scratch that option from my respones.

Extra percentage off an order if you are a Facebook Fan and giving a thumbs up. Also is a clue on how this is going down.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: dave w on March 22, 2011, 09:21:37 AM
Actually, us CO's have been informed that you will get better results shooting an email to either support@x10.com or webmaster@x10.com and they will no longer respond to such requests, gripes, etc. on their Facebook.  >*<
 >!

Why am I not surprised.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: RFG on March 22, 2011, 07:04:21 PM
Latest feedback I received via e-mail from X-10 tech support on the SC1200 and answering machines:
"I am afraid I need you to wait while I discuss further steps with the tech team and some of the developers. We are seeing a very high volume of support requests right now. Please rest assured that I am doing what I can to see the issue resolved, but it will take some time. As soon as I receive further information, I will let you know. Again, thank you for your patience."

This was after they had me provide the make/model of the answering machines I had tried and also had me try a test of answering the line with a phone after the answering machine had started recording.  Hopefully the developers will identify a fix.

BTY: I tested my phone line and it is NOT a top/ring reversal problem unless it is the cord X-10 provided.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Brian H on March 23, 2011, 06:07:07 AM
Tip/Ring reversal. I have never even seen anything on such a problem.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: bt54 on April 04, 2011, 04:17:53 PM
Can you set a time delay before the SC1200 answering machine activates?
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Brian H on April 04, 2011, 06:31:21 PM
Yes the answer delay can be set.
The manual indicates you can let an answering machine pick up the line so you can receive messages and if you send the four touch tones for the PIN. You should be able to control things through the SC1200A. That part seems to be not correctly working.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: vlong on April 04, 2011, 06:45:48 PM
the bad thing is when control by the phone to listent to any activity in the house the console will turn of the siren for it hear,,,, good to have PH508 as an additional siren.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: sanjay92 on April 25, 2011, 04:35:25 PM
Yes, I have same issue.
If I set Answer delay to low value on SC1200 then I hear Enter PIN. If my answering machine picks up then I enter PIN, it does not work.

Answering machine is also important and I want to turn off/turn on from remote phone.

Any idea how can it work ?
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: vlong on April 25, 2011, 06:12:41 PM
with answer machin is on it won't work for me as well so no point to enter pin will be uselessssssss.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: sanjay92 on April 25, 2011, 06:23:20 PM
It supposed to work with Answering machine as mentioned in Manual.

Question: When it start dialing out Numbers ( When you set in away mode ), How to I acknowledge from my phone ? It says in Manual press any button but it does not stop unit to dial out other numbers and it still keeps dialing. When it does stop dialing or how do I remotely deactivate alarm.

I have VOIP home  phone, is it same same issue with Non VOIP phone or VOIP does not matter in this case since there is flaw in the system.

with answer machin is on it won't work for me as well so no point to enter pin will be uselessssssss.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: sanjay92 on April 25, 2011, 11:36:42 PM
I have talked to support and here what they have said:
Greetings!

Please set the SC1200 to only pick up AFTER the answering machine message has finished playing. If you have any more questions, please reply to this email. Thanks for choosing X10!

>> Again asked clarification:
Well that's what I am doing ? Are you saying that I need to find exact seconds when my answering machine stops playing and then use that number in answering delay on the console.

>>Response from X10
Yes- if that does not work, try adding 5 more seconds to the delay. If you have any more questions, please reply to this email. Thanks for choosing X10!

I have tried various combinations on delays but still could not figure out .
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Dan Lawrence on April 26, 2011, 05:48:58 PM
Latest feedback I received via e-mail from X-10 tech support on the SC1200 and answering machines:
"I am afraid I need you to wait while I discuss further steps with the tech team and some of the developers. We are seeing a very high volume of support requests right now. Please rest assured that I am doing what I can to see the issue resolved, but it will take some time. As soon as I receive further information, I will let you know. Again, thank you for your patience."

This was after they had me provide the make/model of the answering machines I had tried and also had me try a test of answering the line with a phone after the answering machine had started recording.  Hopefully the developers will identify a fix.

BTY: I tested my phone line and it is NOT a top/ring reversal problem unless it is the cord X-10 provided.

Tip & Ring are the two sides of the talking path in a telephone line.  If tip & ring (the titles go to the early days of telephones. In the central office, one side of the line went to the tip of the plug, there was a phenolic insulator and a ring where the other side of the line went.  The terminology stayed right through the Touch-Tone era.) are reversed you can receive calls and talk, but cannot dial out.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Brian H on April 26, 2011, 06:23:10 PM
Well Dan. Mine can be reversed and I can dial out just fine. Don't ask how I know.  :'
Though I did find some old wiring diagrams for the original Western Electric Touch Tone Phones. They where polarity sensitive. So I can see where tip and ring reversal would make a difference. With some phones.

Now in my early days. We had a party line and it was tip to ground or ring to ground for the ringing signal.  ;D

I don't think the SC1200 ever monitors the phone line after the machine picks up. Like the TR16A Telephone Responder does.

I got out my RS 49-1000 console by X10 and it is similar to the SC1200A.
Well when the answering machine answers and finished its message. I sent the four digit PIN and got a PIN Accepted Reply and the answering machine had dropped off line. So it looks like the 49-1000 seized the line and the answering machine disconnected.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: dave w on April 26, 2011, 10:34:51 PM
Now in my early days. We had a party line
US TO!   -:)  "Our ring" was two longs and a short.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: RFG on May 23, 2011, 04:07:22 PM
I have given up on X-10 Tech Support and requested a RMA to return the SC1200 for a refund :(  It's been over a month since I last had a response from the level 2 support person despite multiple e-mails and long waits on-hold with both Tech Support and Customer Service.  Especially frustrating when they drop the connection after 25 or 30 minutes B:(   Finally managed to get a live person on their on-line live chat who promised to issue the RMA.  My advice is to stay away from the SC1200 if you expected to use it on the same phone line as an answering machine!
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: dave1700 on June 01, 2011, 01:16:01 PM
Have had my SC1200 installed for about four weeks.  I'll be returning it for two reasons:  Range on DS10a's isn't more than about 25 feet and I need more.   Also, telephone dialer sometimes connects to the telephone line and stays connected.   There's no way to hang it up or disconnect, except to unplug from the wall, and keep it unplugged.

I did get it to work with my answering machine the first few times.  I called the answering machine picked up, I put in my security code, and immediately could use the machine.   Very cool being able to arm/disarm/listen to status, and turn on various lights etc using the cell phone.

Too bad about the range.   I've tried every type of passive antenna on both DS10 and SC1200 but nothing will get enough range.

Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: des1157 on May 04, 2012, 01:54:36 PM
I contacted the X10 on this issue and they have full knowledge that this system will not work as advertised and refuse to identify any phone system this feature will work with. They 1st told me it was my brand of phone system, so I have now tried 2 more brands of the latest phones systems available and this feature works on none of them. The have no list or will not provide one for phones it will work on. Then they refused to take the device back for a refund and wanted to charge me a restocking fee. With persistence, they agreed to return it but would still charge me a 15% restocking fee. I have filed a complaint no. 22339031 with the better business bureau regarding the product and X10's fraudulent claims on the product and their refusal to provide or identify any phone system the product will function on. Please due the unsuspecting public and myself a hugh favor and help by filing a complaint at WWW.bbb.org and you can reference my complaint 22339031 as supporting information. I would also appreciate it if you would spread the word.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Knightrider on May 04, 2012, 08:54:22 PM
des1157:

I removed your duplicate posts -- we get the picture.  Once is enough.  Most of us read all the posts.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: leo on January 20, 2013, 12:51:53 PM
Same issue here, i have older RS49-1000 and it works fine with answering system. The new sc1200 doesn't.. looks like
a bug in the system and poor testing of the system.. shame because it is a nice product.
Title: Re: SC1200 and Answering Systems
Post by: Stargazer on February 03, 2013, 11:57:10 PM
Hi newbie Jim here to the forum, but not new to X-10. I have used the old black console and all the mods for lights etc. for many carefree years. I now have the so called New and Improved SC1200 since early Dec. All works as should except with the answering machine. When I called my answering machine (all by my cell phone which is what I need to call with) it rang and then heard Please Enter Pin and my answering machine message played at same time and all was good, callers could leave a message and  I could enter my pin and shut lights on and off. Now sometimes all works well but other times I get just Please enter pin and my machine does not give its message so then no one can leave a message. We are in NY and our kids and grand kids are in NC so while away I wanted to be able to have this new unit call me on my cellphone if and when the alarm went off. I also wanted just in case it did to be able to shut the lights back off after the 5 minute alarm reset so lights would not be on 24/7 and work on the timers. Has anyone come up with a fix? Oh yeah we have all new phone lines on street, to our house and all new in house wiring with separate dedicated lines for the alarm, DSL and phone and all have the proper filters in place where needed and we have Verizon. I am hoping to add the camera so I and check on the inside of the house in the near future. Can anyone please help? Thanks much, Jim