X10 Community Forum

🖥️ActiveHome Pro => SDK => Topic started by: skeeper360 on April 07, 2011, 11:03:41 PM

Title: X10 Home Automation using Java
Post by: skeeper360 on April 07, 2011, 11:03:41 PM
Hello Everyone! I am interested in doing a project in ActiveHomePro using Java. Question is How do I access my cool Active Home stuff from Java? I want to have the same functionality in Java as is provided by the SDK.
Title: Re: X10 Home Automation using Java
Post by: pconroy on April 17, 2011, 10:01:59 PM
You can't access the existing AHP "stuff" from Java.  Java runs in a JVM and is pretty "sandboxed".  If you were dead set on a tie between the two, you'd have to write some C/C++ code to access the AHP "stuff" then wrap that C/C++ code with JNI so you could call it from Java.

What other's have done is just gone all Java - and they communicate directly with the CM15A or CM11A.
That's not an easy road to take but others have done a lot of work for you.

Jesse Petersen (sp?) comes to mind as an author of some great Java code to access the CM11A/CM15A.
Title: Re: X10 Home Automation using Java
Post by: ITguy on April 18, 2011, 09:30:12 AM
There's also an open-source project based in Italy that's almost all Java.  Supports not just X10, but other HA as well.  You can check it out at: http://code.google.com/p/freedomotic/ (http://code.google.com/p/freedomotic/)
The site is (mostly) in English.

ITguy
Title: Re: X10 Home Automation using Java
Post by: skeeper360 on April 19, 2011, 05:01:04 AM
Thank you so much for the replies! I really appreciate it.

In addition, there was a guy in here who figured out the solution using the  -:) com4j.jar(https://com4j.dev.java.net)

I'm not sure if this will work out but you might want to check this out guys.  http://justdevelopment.blogspot.com/2010/03/x10-active-home-automation-with-java.html

He kinda explained everything. 




Title: Re: X10 Home Automation using Java
Post by: pconroy on April 19, 2011, 05:19:42 PM
Wow - if that ain't cats and dogs living together...  :o


 ;D