X10 Community Forum

X10 WIFI => Wish list => Topic started by: Noam on January 25, 2018, 01:34:59 PM

Title: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: Noam on January 25, 2018, 01:34:59 PM
The WM100 is currently limited to only 32 devices. Many X10 users have already expressed a need to control more devices than this.
Title: Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: Knightrider on January 25, 2018, 01:38:36 PM
Anyone have a BSR unit with 4 code wheels?
Title: Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: Walt2 on January 25, 2018, 02:56:49 PM
Anyone have a BSR unit with 4 code wheels?

It should take only two code wheels, one for A-P and one for 1-16, to get 256 combinations.
Title: Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: JeffVolp on January 25, 2018, 03:52:46 PM
Anyone have a BSR unit with 4 code wheels?
It should take only two code wheels, one for A-P and one for 1-16, to get 256 combinations.

It takes no code wheels.  They are defined in the application software, and can be spread across all house codes.  Perhaps they didn't think people used more than 32 X10 devices.  We are within that except for being able to control individual irrigation valves through a Rain8.

Jeff
Title: Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: dave w on January 25, 2018, 03:54:06 PM
Anyone have a BSR unit with 4 code wheels?
No. But Regency Electronics (old CB radio company, made the first transistor radio) made the "Regulator" PLC system with four dials. It would do 100 House codes and 100 Unit Codes. The first 16 codes were X10 protocol so it would control X10 and "Regulator" modules.
Check out the old DAK ad. The controller / Timer housing was also used in a Regency police scanner.
https://books.google.com/books?id=LdkDAAAAMBAJ&pg=PA135&lpg=PA135&dq=regency+electronics+remote+control+system&source=bl&ots=BwDgaiAF9Y&sig=jMVoDYJyly3mlMwIlYfa6AF6FVM&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjA79vCoPTYAhWjz4MKHeW6A5cQ6AEIgAEwCw#v=onepage&q=regency%20electronics%20remote%20control%20system&f=false
 
Title: Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: dhouston on January 25, 2018, 04:22:57 PM
I don't recall the details but Advanced Control Technologies (A10) used far more addresses.
Title: Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: dave w on January 25, 2018, 05:04:16 PM
I don't recall the details but Advanced Control Technologies (A10) used far more addresses.
Yeah, That was Phil Kingery's old employer. I run in to him every once in a while, although it's been years.
Title: Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: Knightrider on January 25, 2018, 08:00:09 PM
No. But Regency Electronics (old CB radio company, made the first transistor radio) made the "Regulator" PLC system with four dials. It would do 100 House codes and 100 Unit Codes. The first 16 codes were X10 protocol so it would control X10 and "Regulator" modules.
Check out the old DAK ad. The controller / Timer housing was also used in a Regency police scanner.
https://books.google.com/books?id=LdkDAAAAMBAJ&pg=PA135&lpg=PA135&dq=regency+electronics+remote+control+system&source=bl&ots=BwDgaiAF9Y&sig=jMVoDYJyly3mlMwIlYfa6AF6FVM&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjA79vCoPTYAhWjz4MKHeW6A5cQ6AEIgAEwCw#v=onepage&q=regency%20electronics%20remote%20control%20system&f=false

Thanks,
I knew I wasn't dreaming that I had seen one once upon a time.  I was a DAKonian.
Title: Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: Knightrider on February 16, 2018, 06:15:08 AM
The following is from an old HD.  Many of these units have been shelved due to the fact I can't get AHP to register, and that all of my x10 cameras have been given to my son, who I believe threw them in the trash.

This is for posterity, but I would love to have this kind of automation rolling again.
Title: Re: Increase the current limit of 32 devices
Post by: HA Dave on February 16, 2018, 02:23:28 PM
The following is from an old HD.  Many of these units have been shelved due to the fact I can't get AHP to register, and that all of my x10 cameras have been given to my son, who I believe threw them in the trash.

This is for posterity, but I would love to have this kind of automation rolling again.

We need to fix your problem.... I have similar concerns. http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=30197.new#new