X10 Community Forum

X10 WIFI => General Discussion => Topic started by: Tuicemen on January 30, 2018, 08:55:29 AM

Title: Scene Run Time?
Post by: Tuicemen on January 30, 2018, 08:55:29 AM
During testing I discovered it was possible to have a scene run for 23 hrs 59 mins.
To me allowing that long of a scene( macro runtime was a waste of resources ) I agree the macro run time in AHP was short at 4.5 hrs. but we found a ways to get around the limitation.
Before I start a suggestion that this runtime be reduced to allow other options.
I'm wondering how long others really need these to run?
I had suggested it be reduced to 5 hrs runtime prior to release as that was better then the CM15 limitation.
I've not tested with the released app and hardware but it appears it is still possible. ::) :'
However now that it was released with what appears to be almost a 24 hr runtime, is a reduction request out of the question? ::) :'
Title: Re: Scene Run Time?
Post by: HA Dave on January 30, 2018, 12:34:51 PM
......  is a reduction request out of the question?

I am long retired now..... but NEVER in my entire working career did anyone EVER ask me for... less. I think it would go against normal social expectations. I wouldn't do it.

 rofl
Title: Re: Scene Run Time?
Post by: Tuicemen on January 30, 2018, 12:45:17 PM

I am long retired now..... but NEVER in my entire working career did anyone EVER ask me for... less. I think it would go against normal social expectations. I wouldn't do it.

 rofl
Not even if it meant getting more of what you wanted?
Your not really asking for less if you never use it but get something else in return you can use.
Think of it as swapping less scene runtime for more configurable devices or longer character names?
Title: Re: Scene Run Time?
Post by: Knightrider on January 30, 2018, 03:54:18 PM
Set it the same as AHP.
Title: Re: Scene Run Time?
Post by: Tuicemen on January 31, 2018, 05:25:55 AM
1) So what is the maximum Scene length users have setup?
2) And does it work (run to completion)?
3) Does the run button actually switch back to Off or stay Blue (Running) even after completion?
4) What is the maximum number of scenes you have running at any one time?
5) In reality what is the maximum run time length you'd use?

To date (other then in testing) my scenes have been very simple short 1 min-2 hours in length.
The ability to stop scenes and the status switching to Off again was just added prior to release so it never really got tested.
However it does work for the short scene lengths I had.
I setup a 24 hour (23hr 59min) one yesterday afternoon and a 4.5 and 5 hour one this morning.
All 3 are running now.
I'm wondering how many consecutive Scenes running before the WM100 failed to keep up. ::)
Would it actualy handle 32 scenes running 24 hrs each ::) :'
Title: Re: Scene Run Time?
Post by: m82a1pa on January 31, 2018, 06:53:00 AM
Can a scene do this?

I turn on an appliance module for a bathroom heater with my CM15A.  A macro runs and shuts off the module 15 minutes later.

However, right now, a scene for this won't work for me since I use an HR12A and my wife (or me) isn't going to remember to bring a smart phone to the bathroom.

Just wondering for when a remote ever comes out.
Title: Re: Scene Run Time?
Post by: Tuicemen on January 31, 2018, 07:13:08 AM
You can setup a scene so it turns on your heater and then turns it off 15 mins later.
 You currently manually have to start the scene, so you only need to start the heater with your phone it will auto shut off.

Don't expect a Wi-fi remote it would be far easier for Authinx to add RF to a Pro WM100 and you to utilize your existing RF remotes.
Title: Re: Scene Run Time?
Post by: JeffVolp on January 31, 2018, 07:24:36 AM
Timing to 1 minute in 24 hours only requires 11 bits.  The Active Home probably used 8 bits, which limited it to just over 4 hours with 1 minute resolution.

Assuming they are using a 16-bit word for the time, I believe it would be better to provide 1 second resolution and limit the duration to 18 hours.  There are events and macros in my Ocelot that require 1 second resolution, so those could never be ported over to the WM100 with its current 1 minute resolution.

Jeff
Title: Re: Scene Run Time?
Post by: Tuicemen on January 31, 2018, 07:42:14 AM
Thanks for the added info Jeff, I'm sure everyone would prefer a 1 second resolution.
1 Min delay is to long for many things I'd like to do with the WM100 as well.
Title: Re: Scene Run Time?
Post by: m82a1pa on January 31, 2018, 07:58:18 AM
You can setup a scene so it turns on your heater and then turns it off 15 mins later.
 You currently manually have to start the scene, so you only need to start the heater with your phone it will auto shut off.

Don't expect a Wi-fi remote it would be far easier for Authinx to add RF to a Pro WM100 and you to utilize your existing RF remotes.

RF capability would be excellent.