X10 Community Forum

📱X10 WIFI => 🐞X10 WIFI App problems or bugs => ✔Resolved issues => Topic started by: DennisR on February 04, 2018, 11:58:25 AM

Title: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving (resolved???.....)
Post by: DennisR on February 04, 2018, 11:58:25 AM
Just received my WiFi Hub this week.  Noticed that if it does not have power the time defaults back to 1am and you have to go into setup and sync the time.  Anyone having the same issue?  I was kind of surprised that it had no place to put in batteries as a backup option.   I am also new to doing a forum but have been using X10 to control my house and also my 3 barns for some 15 years now.
Thanks, Dennis

Edited by Tuicemen to add resolved to title
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving
Post by: Tuicemen on February 04, 2018, 12:34:39 PM
Yep, no Battery backup! :(
There is the suggestion to make this automatic and sync from the internet.
since Authinx has stated suggestions will be looked at in order of their popularity I suggest you look at the wish list and vote fore every thing you wish implemented. ;)
http://forums.x10.com/index.php?board=150.0
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving
Post by: JeffVolp on February 04, 2018, 01:29:46 PM
Most people have a retired cellphone kicking around.  Would a near-term solution be to install the app on a retired phone and keep that running on a charger in the background just for time sync?

Jeff
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving
Post by: Tuicemen on February 04, 2018, 01:38:25 PM
Most people have a retired cellphone kicking around.  Would a near-term solution be to install the app on a retired phone and keep that running on a charger in the background just for time sync?

Jeff
unfortunately  the app doesn't auto sync the time currently
  B:(
The app justs displays a pop up which prompts you to sync the time.
It also waits for user input.
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving
Post by: runner49 on February 04, 2018, 05:17:53 PM
The time can be re-sync'd from remote location? A power outage in the middle of a weekís vacation would be a bummer.
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving
Post by: Knightrider on February 04, 2018, 05:33:12 PM
I just tested this. Yes, the unit can be time-synced from without the Local Area Network.
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving
Post by: HA Dave on February 05, 2018, 04:29:14 AM
I just tested this. Yes, the unit can be time-synced from without the Local Area Network.

Well then.... the only problem would be... it your home (and the WM100) experienced a power outage while you (and your phone) was in a different time zone. My phone automatically readjusts to local time zones.
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving (Bug)
Post by: Tuicemen on February 07, 2018, 10:12:52 AM
The time sync is getting a redo. :)%
I know it won't ask for a resync if you move the WM100 after the next update. I'm not sure if the App auto syncs to the WM100 or the WM100 gets the new time from the internet. ::) :'
I'm attempting to find out more details.
Since Authinx stated the developer was only working on bugs and he appears to be looking at this I'll mark it as a bug.
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving (Bug)
Post by: Tuicemen on February 14, 2018, 02:59:23 AM
I did some testing this morning on this with the new app update.
Although the HUB doesn't retain the time if it loses power the app if is open during this period it does not give an out of sync warning and resets the WM100 when power is restored. :)%
However if the app is not open and running on a device then as soon as you open it you'll get the popup warning of a time sync issue.
I noticed the Online status in the app never changes to off line, which is a new bug at least for androids( I'll start a new thread for this)
So Jeff's suggestion:
Most people have a retired cellphone kicking around.  Would a near-term solution be to install the app on a retired phone and keep that running on a charger in the background just for time sync?

Jeff
will now work as long as the HUB doesn't lose power for longer then the spare phone will stay charged for.  ::) :'
Since other then a hardware change to the WM100 or user mod to add a battery will now remedy this I'll mark it as solved.
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving (resolved)
Post by: BruceC on February 25, 2018, 08:35:35 AM
IMHO, I donít think this issue is completely resolved. If Iím away on vacation, how am I going to know that the HUB needs to be synced? Having it sync time automatically from the internet is essential!
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving (resolved)
Post by: SkipWX10 on February 25, 2018, 12:11:23 PM
/\ what he said....it needs to do it automatically when power is restored!

Another (cumbersome) workaround would be to sync time several times a day while on a trip. Pain in the *** but I suppose it would at least not let the WM100 be way off for days at a time.
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving (resolved)
Post by: Tuicemen on February 26, 2018, 02:52:10 AM
IMHO, I donít think this issue is completely resolved. If Iím away on vacation, how am I going to know that the HUB needs to be synced? Having it sync time automatically from the internet is essential!
The OP stated "WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving"
The app will tell you the hub needs to be synced if It wasn't connected to a phone with the app open.
With the update this is no longer the case if connected to the APP.
A sync from the internet would be far better that is true and I'm sure that will come.
In the mean time using JeffVolp's suggestion solves the issue of time sync
If the WM100 is connected to a device running the app prior to losing power, when it regains power it will auto sync(no pop up warning)

I honestly don't think the developer fully understands Home Automation as the first app build was nothing more then a fancy remote.
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving (resolved)
Post by: bubbah on September 20, 2018, 06:22:40 PM
If it's dependent on their server, then it should be able to garner the time sync automatically from that connection adjusted to location, no ??
Title: Re: WiFi Hub does not retain time on power outage or moving (resolved)
Post by: ceedee on September 20, 2018, 06:36:56 PM
If it's dependent on their server, then it should be able to garner the time sync automatically from that connection adjusted to location, no ??

All I can say is that lots of other apps donít seem to have an issue with time, time zones, DST, etc.  I am as baffled as you are.