X10 Community Forum

X10 WIFI => X10 WIFI App problems or bugs => Topic started by: Walt2 on October 01, 2018, 07:54:00 PM

Title: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on October 01, 2018, 07:54:00 PM
I just got a new Android tablet.    One of my first apps, that I installed, was the X10 app.

However, the app doesn't seem to want to access neither of the tablet's cameras.   :'(

Yes, the first time thru it triggered a pop up asking if the app can access the camera.   I clicked on "allow".    I have since went into Settings App, and have verified that the X10 app does indeed have permission to access the camera.

The X10 app just doesn't seem to be able to actually access a camera.  When the app tries, I just get a screen with a horizontal red line, and some random white dots flashing.  Yes, both cameras work when I manually try to simply take a picture.

Given this, how can I access my X10 Wifi Module?   Is there some way to manually enter the equivalent of the QR code?
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: brobin on October 02, 2018, 01:24:06 AM
It sounds like it's trying. The red line should be centered over the QR code and the white dots are the program scanning the code. Make sure you have plenty of light shining on the QR code. You may need to adjust your camera setting. You might want to try an app like Amazon which also scans QR & UPC codes to see if the problem is with the X10 app or your tablet's camera setting.  What make/model tablet did you buy?
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on October 03, 2018, 08:39:12 AM
It sounds like it's trying. The red line should be centered over the QR code and the white dots are the program scanning the code. Make sure you have plenty of light shining on the QR code. You may need to adjust your camera setting. You might want to try an app like Amazon which also scans QR & UPC codes to see if the problem is with the X10 app or your tablet's camera setting.  What make/model tablet did you buy?

Good suggestion.    After reading your helpful reply, I downloaded a couple of different QR Code reader apps from Google Play, and guess what.   None of them work.   Just like with the X10 app, all I get is a blank/black screen with a red horizontal line. 

However, let me add that both the front and the rear cameras work with the built-in android camera function, and work with any app that uses the cameras to take a snap shot or record/view video.   For example, I have a "nanny cam" app that I have been using for years, and it continues to work on my new tablet.

Its a Teclast T20 (http://www.teclast.com/en/zt/T20/).    I emailed the manufacturer about this problem, and waiting for a reply.

Let me speculate that possibly, the QR Code reader is a built-in Android function, and apps simply are "calling" some subroutine that's missing/bad from my T20?    ???
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Tuicemen on October 03, 2018, 12:15:21 PM


Good suggestion.    After reading your helpful reply, I downloaded a couple of different QR Code reader apps from Google Play, and guess what.   None of them work.   Just like with the X10 app, all I get is a blank/black screen with a red horizontal line. 

Have you tried the other apps with Other QR codes or just theWM100 code?
If just with the WM code try other codes the QR code could have a wrinkle or some defect. which causes the scan to fail.
The WI-FI daughter board in the WM100 has the same QR code on it.
Also others have reported taking a picture of the QR code then scanning that worked.
 >!
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on October 03, 2018, 12:57:17 PM
Have you tried the other apps with Other QR codes or just theWM100 code?
If just with the WM code try other codes the QR code could have a wrinkle or some defect. which causes the scan to fail.
The WI-FI daughter board in the WM100 has the same QR code on it.
Also others have reported taking a picture of the QR code then scanning that worked.
 >!

No, just the WM100 code, but the problem seems to be that the code label and surroundings aren't visible at all in the app screen.    Its like the camera isn't actually 'on', or the app isn't getting the video feed.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: brobin on October 03, 2018, 02:46:38 PM
I agree that it sounds like the camera isn't being activated correctly by the scanning programs.  You might want to look at the permissions for the scanning apps to ensure that 'Camera' is set to 'on' or 'yes' and in the camera app itself check that the 'Draw over other apps' setting is on.  In the camera settings check to see if there's a way to enhance the contrast or brightness.  Set the flash to always and if it doesn't come on that might be a clue that the camera isn't being activated.  If none of that helps try dl'ing another camera app from the play store. I've used 'A Better Camera' and it worked better than the stock app on the Galaxy S5 when I had that phone. Hope these thoughts help.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Noam on October 03, 2018, 04:05:31 PM
... I downloaded a couple of different QR Code reader apps from Google Play, and guess what.   None of them work.   Just like with the X10 app, all I get is a blank/black screen with a red horizontal line. 

Sounds like an issue with the device, and/or the OS on it. If other QR-scanning apps can't properly access the camera, then it isn't something specific to the X10 app - and there is likely nothing that can be done in the X10 app to correct it.
Have you tried rebooting the device?
It sounds like the device has multiple cameras (I'm guessing front and rear). Are there options in *any* of the other QR reader programs to select which camera is used with the app? Most QR scanner programs can scan normal barcodes, too. I'd try one of those (off a box of cereal, for example) to see if it can read it.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on October 05, 2018, 10:16:38 AM
Yes, the first time thru it triggered a pop up asking if the app can access the camera.   I clicked on "allow".    I have since went into Settings App, and have verified that the X10 app does indeed have permission to access the camera.

You might want to look at the permissions for the scanning apps to ensure that 'Camera' is set to 'on' or 'yes' and in the camera app itself check that the 'Draw over other apps' setting is on. 

While I did check permissions, I didn't know about any settings that might be required in the camera app itself.   I'll check that tonight.   Thanks.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on October 05, 2018, 10:23:16 AM
... I downloaded a couple of different QR Code reader apps from Google Play, and guess what.   None of them work.   Just like with the X10 app, all I get is a blank/black screen with a red horizontal line. 

Sounds like an issue with the device, and/or the OS on it. If other QR-scanning apps can't properly access the camera, then it isn't something specific to the X10 app - and there is likely nothing that can be done in the X10 app to correct it.
Have you tried rebooting the device?
It sounds like the device has multiple cameras (I'm guessing front and rear). Are there options in *any* of the other QR reader programs to select which camera is used with the app? Most QR scanner programs can scan normal barcodes, too. I'd try one of those (off a box of cereal, for example) to see if it can read it.

Device has been rebooted a few times.

To my surprise, none of the QR Reader programs, including the X10 app, ask which camera to use.  Hay, even my phone has two cameras.   I did check, and neither my new tablet's rear camera (the one I would expect... again on my phone the X10 app selects the rear camera) nor the tablet's front facing camera are being activated.    I'll mention this again, that my "nanny cam" app works, but in its settings, does allow the user to select which camera to use.

Maybe its that apps which query the OS on cameras which are available, and offers the user select one, works OK.   However, apps which simply assume a camera, are all assuming wrong (there is no camera defined by the OS to be the default?).
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: brobin on October 05, 2018, 12:11:06 PM
Did you try a different camera app and set it as the default?  I wouldn't be surprised if that solved your problem. The free app named 'A Better Camera' is a good one to try.  You can always uninstall t if it doesn't work.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on October 09, 2018, 03:11:41 PM
Did you try a different camera app and set it as the default?  I wouldn't be surprised if that solved your problem. The free app named 'A Better Camera' is a good one to try.  You can always uninstall t if it doesn't work.

I tried "a better camera" and while it worked fine, it didn't get the separate QR code apps working.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: brobin on October 09, 2018, 04:49:45 PM
Have you tried running setup with a different tablet or phone? Once you get through the initial setup my understanding is that you can then open it on other devices without setting up again.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on October 23, 2018, 01:39:36 PM
Have you tried running setup with a different tablet or phone? Once you get through the initial setup my understanding is that you can then open it on other devices without setting up again.

I have the app running on my old tablet, and on my current phone.     I wish there was some way to setup the X10 app on a 2nd (or 3rd, etc) device, without needing to take a picture of the QR code.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: brobin on October 23, 2018, 04:28:15 PM
Take a photo of the code and print it out so it's always handy w/o having to uplug the unit.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on November 24, 2018, 11:01:50 AM
Take a photo of the code and print it out so it's always handy w/o having to uplug the unit.

Thanks, but that doesn't help while there is still a bug in the X10 App that prevents it from "connecting" to the camera (it can't "see" the actual code nor a picture of the code).
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on November 24, 2018, 11:13:11 AM
OK, an update...

There definitely seems to be a bug in the X10 Android App that prevents it from correctly "connecting" the device's camera and therefore being able to take a picture of the QR code on the Wifi Module.   :(

While this bug seems to be shared with other Android apps, that shouldn't minimize X10's responsibility to fix it.   B:(

My new point is that I found an QR App that works!!!!!!    So, this is all it takes to confirm that my tablet's hardware is indeed OK.   :)%

The Android QR App that works is TestQR (aka QR Camera) by tacor.tw.   If this app can work, there is no reason why X10's couldn't work too.    While I kind-of quit testing out QR reader apps, I decided to give it one more chance with this app because I hoped, due to its name, that it might give me some diagnostic info (turns out... it doesn't give any diagnostic info).

What's my next step here?   How do I "encourage" X10 to fix/update their app to work?
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: dhouston on November 24, 2018, 12:10:30 PM
How do I "encourage" X10 to fix/update their app to work?
rofl
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Tuicemen on November 24, 2018, 08:50:46 PM
Authinx can't seem to get a fire lit under the developer as they were hired by the factory.
I don't expect to see any movement on this app till the new year  B:(
However I've been wrong before.
If it doesn't work for you return it.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: brobin on November 25, 2018, 12:33:37 AM
And then Chinese New Year starts 5 weeks later and shuts everything down for another 2 weeks.  :'
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Tuicemen on November 25, 2018, 06:41:11 AM
And then Chinese New Year starts 5 weeks later and shuts everything down for another 2 weeks.  :'
yep we'll be lucky to see any thing new before March 2019.
On the other hand end users fed up with this are developing alternatives which should be ready before Christmas of this year.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: brobin on November 25, 2018, 09:42:26 AM
I guess we can thank X10 for blowing the WM100 as the impetus to create something really much better - and for even less $$ (if you don't count the value of the time spent creating it!).

Given X10's failure with the WM100 one has to wonder just how much longer they will stay in business. People just starting out with HA don't and won't even know about X10 as there is zero marketing and few places that even it carry it anymore.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Brian H on November 25, 2018, 09:48:20 AM
I have seen on other automation sites and forums. Users just starting out. Should avoid X10 and go with another protocol.

I also have not seen many places even having X10 devices anymore. Maybe their own store, X10 web site and a few Ebay sites.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: brobin on November 25, 2018, 10:56:10 AM
There's so much X10 stuff on ebay at low cost there's hardly any reason to buy from X10. This is what happens when a company fails to change with the times. Rather than use the time when they had a patent to expand and improve the product and cement themselves as THE automation leader, they made only minor production changes and had one of the most annoying marketing programs ever created.  Meanwhile, products like Insteon, Z-Wave and Zigbee introduced competing products that blew X10 out of the water and continue to make improvements.  But the biggest factor for HA now is marketing clout which Amazon virtually owns having introduced their own modules now.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: HA Dave on November 25, 2018, 10:34:18 PM
.....This is what happens when a company fails to change with the times. Rather than use the time when they had a patent to expand and improve the product and cement themselves as THE automation leader, they made only minor production changes

X10 did invest heavily into the CM11 and CM15A.... virtually inventing the smart, computer-controlled home with on-line access. They were years ahead of their time in a tiny niche market..... all consumers wanted..... was hidden cameras.

and had one , of the most annoying marketing programs ever created.


X10 was sued over their pop-up ad's. It was awful. And then the emails and ad's full of soft-porn like images. Just sad. Worse marketing plan of all time.

But the biggest factor for HA now is marketing clout which Amazon virtually owns having introduced their own modules now.

IDK. I think what Amazon has now, is the same thing they had when they were just book sellers. Amazon provides a vision, and a strategic plan to make it all come together quickly and cheaply. What the consumer wants, when they want it (now), and at a low price.

Add to that (with the home automation) extreme AI high-tech stuff... so easy to program it's done on a phone app. But.... don't be surprised if in the end... consumers will really just want cameras that can peek in the neighbors windows (humans are jerks).
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: dave w on November 26, 2018, 08:27:56 PM
Given X10's failure with the WM100 one has to wonder just how much longer they will stay in business.
Considering their control, or lack of, over the manufacturer / developer, Trump will outlast Authinx.  rofl
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on December 08, 2018, 11:57:30 AM
Given X10's failure with the WM100 one has to wonder just how much longer they will stay in business.
Considering their control, or lack of, over the manufacturer / developer, Trump will outlast Authinx.  rofl

I hope this time, they will leave behind to their loyal community all the source code to the CM15A and the WM100, so we can continue to support ourselves.    -:)
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Brian H on December 08, 2018, 01:11:53 PM
I believe the source code for AHP was lost or scattered in so many places it may never be released. Even if they wanted to. It is in such an old version source code. The programs used to assemble it. Few software writers maybe able to do anything with it.

The developer for the WM100 has strangle hold on X10 and I doubt any source code for it will ever happen.

I suspect the Pi X10HUB project. Now in progress may be the next thing for end users to use.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: HA Dave on December 08, 2018, 01:38:16 PM
Given X10's failure with the WM100 one has to wonder just how much longer they will stay in business.

It's hard to guess at such things like longevity. But producing ANY successful product is difficult and a real challenge to any business. Even Microsoft and Apple has had their failures.

Considering their control, or lack of, over the manufacturer / developer, Trump will outlast Authinx.  rofl

Statistically... he has over 6 years. I wonder if (Obama's reconfigured) General Motors will still be here that long? 

I hope this time, they will leave behind to their loyal community all the source code to the CM15A and the WM100, so we can continue to support ourselves.    -:)

Looking at your tag line (below)....
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).


It would appear that you... as well as most of us... should have become accustomed to seeing businesses come and go. But many of the posts I am reading here at the forums anymore causes me to wonder about just how "loyal" the community is [dangling participial?].

I am of the belief that this is all working out for the best... or at lease for the better. The old Zenith Space Control TV "clicker" (which actually DID click) was wonderful technology in it's day. And in the 70's... and for many years afterwards X10 push button remote control and finally Smart Home Automation... was awesome. X10 exploited what technologies were available as well as cheap Chinese labor... and found a niche market.

But there has been an explosion of modern innovation associated with Home Automation. And X10's loyal community is now a "niche of a niche". I wonder if there could possibility be enough X10's to support any product line of any kind.

The only reason the forum remained was it was copied and stored without permission... to be restored later. Maybe... the community should seek permission this time.... and make regular updated forum and software back-ups.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: HA Dave on December 08, 2018, 01:50:28 PM
I suspect the Pi X10HUB project. Now in progress may be the next thing for end users to use.

I agree completely. I would also hope... the current X10 could be made to see the value of in-house code writers and a newer product line. And embrace an X10 Hub as their own! I know many of the current X10 crowd doesn't see value in cloud-based Home Automation..... but much of the world does. And being a part of the larger world of Home Automation I'd like to see X10 keep up.

I LOVE walking out the door knowing that the mere act of leaving the home triggers (currently limited) Automated actions and changes. And that returning home... with no other actions... will also set into motion actions predetermined to benefit my comfort and or safety. Todays automation is just so much better than my Dad's old "clicker", light dimmers, or lights that can we control with a push button remote.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Tuicemen on December 08, 2018, 02:27:40 PM
I hope this time, they will leave behind to their loyal community all the source code to the CM15A and the WM100, so we can continue to support ourselves.    -:)
If they had access to any usable code we would have seen this already.
The source code for AHP which I have is in bits and pieces and uses Microsoft drivers & Dlls no longer available.
Several developers attempted to do something with the AHP code without success.

I suspect the Pi X10HUB project. Now in progress may be the next thing for end users to use.
I'm hopeful we will see a release of the PiX10Hub image before Christmas (yes, of this year).
Currently focus of the PiX10Hub project is with the $7 Pi Zero W and does what we expected the WM100 to do by now plus much, much more.
The software is open source and uses HomeGenie which also works on Windows and has a couple of android apps as well it can be accessed on any device using any browser.
No farting around with a camera and QR codes. ;)
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Brian H on December 08, 2018, 06:22:34 PM
The Pi Zero W must be popular.
The vendors here that I looked at indicated one per customer. $10.00 plus shipping. That is why I have a spare coming from a different vendor.
I did see one vendor with a Pi Zero W selling one with the 40 pin GPIO connector on it.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Tuicemen on December 08, 2018, 06:58:55 PM
Yes with popularity comes price increases I got my first one for almost half of what I can get one now for.
Even then it was limited to one per customer order.
The GPIO connector may be nice for adding extra hardware but isn't needed for X10 control.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Tucson on December 08, 2018, 10:10:13 PM
Yes with popularity comes price increases I got my first one for almost half of what I can get one now for.
Even then it was limited to one per customer order.
The GPIO connector may be nice for adding extra hardware but isn't needed for X10 control.

Sounds interesting the Pi Zero based controller is there a link to follow what happening and what needed to get started.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Tuicemen on December 09, 2018, 01:38:54 AM
There is a link that you can use to semi follow the progress.
http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=30555.0
I'll PM you with more details.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on December 09, 2018, 11:48:55 AM

Statistically... he has over 6 years. I wonder if (Obama's reconfigured) General Motors will still be here that long? 


The GM bailout was done by Bush #43.   It was completed, and signed off by him.   True, it after the elections, and Obama was the President Elect, but about a month before Bush #43 left office.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Walt2 on December 09, 2018, 11:52:39 AM
I hope this time, they will leave behind to their loyal community all the source code to the CM15A and the WM100, so we can continue to support ourselves.    -:)
If they had access to any usable code we would have seen this already.
The source code for AHP which I have is in bits and pieces and uses Microsoft drivers & Dlls no longer available.
Several developers attempted to do something with the AHP code without success.

I have to wonder if anyone was ever able to contact Mike C, and if he kept a copy of the full source package?    IMHO, that would be the only true hope.
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: Tuicemen on December 09, 2018, 12:07:54 PM
I've reached out to several old programmers with out success. The old code that Mike may have would still require an old PC and a copy of the Old Visual Studio C+  (2005 if memory serves my right) to compile. It also would not include several plugins, not that many of them work now anyways. ::) :'
The WM100 was never intended to be a replacement for AHP though the original proto type did look that way. :( ::) :'

The option that my self and others in the X10 Community are working on will far out perform the WM100 or AHP.
Even the option dhouston is working on will also blow the socks off the WM100
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: HA Dave on December 10, 2018, 12:47:01 PM
Statistically... he has over 6 years. I wonder if (Obama's reconfigured) General Motors will still be here that long? 

The GM bailout was done by Bush #43.   It was completed, and signed off by him.   True, it after the elections, and Obama was the President Elect, but about a month before Bush #43 left office.

Your added information is semi-correct.  Bush approved a bailout plan and gave General Motors and Chrysler $13.4 billion in financing from TARP (Troubled Assets Relief Program).

But has nothing to do with my reference to The General Motors Chapter 11 bankruptcy and reconfiguration presided over by President Obama in 2009.

But this makes my point! This isn't stuff learned in a five second Google search. You've either learned this stuff or you didn't. Market forces have always been and will always be with us. We can either learn about what is happening and roll with it. Or we can just rant about what we wish, might, could, should, have been.

RE-acting to modern changes... is failure in motion. We need to collectively visualize and build a future that CAN include X10. 
Title: Re: Can't See QR Code (Can't Access Camera)
Post by: brobin on December 10, 2018, 12:51:26 PM
Statistically... he has over 6 years. I wonder if (Obama's reconfigured) General Motors will still be here that long? 

The GM bailout was done by Bush #43.   It was completed, and signed off by him.   True, it after the elections, and Obama was the President Elect, but about a month before Bush #43 left office.


Your added information is semi-correct.  Bush approved a bailout plan and gave General Motors and Chrysler $13.4 billion in financing from TARP (Troubled Assets Relief Program).

But has nothing to due with my reference to The General Motors Chapter 11 presided over by President Obama in 2009.

That's when GM stood for Government Motors  ;D