X10 Community Forum

📱🖥️PiX10Hub ( Always Evolving Open Source) => 🏥Help and Trouble Shooting => Topic started by: Tuicemen on December 22, 2018, 09:25:04 AM

Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on December 22, 2018, 09:25:04 AM
Discussion about the tutorial can be posted here. ;)
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 24, 2018, 01:15:02 PM
I have been playing around with Home Genie and waiting for my Pi to arrive - I got an email this morning with an updated delivery date of later this week.  Since I had some time this morning I figured I'd try getting the image onto an SD card so I would be be ready to go.

I have a USB drive attached to my desktop - that had the Drive letter of K.  I also have slots in my desktop that accept a variety of SD cards - one being a Micro SD slot, which is Drive letter J.

I inserted the Micro SD card and proceeded with Win32 Disk Imager to get the downloaded (and extracted iso) image onto the SD card.

I was getting errors after clicking the write footer button about accessing the device.

I had to disconnect the drive I had on drive letter K, reboot my machine and then it was good to go.  Not sure if anyone else has this type of setup or not, but figured it couldn't hurt to post it in case someone else ran into it.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 24, 2018, 01:20:24 PM
As part of the equipment needed, it was recommended to get 2 Micro SD cards.  I have 2- one I just got the iso image installed on.  What do I do with the other one?  Is it it intended to be a backup image (so I should also put a copy of the image on the second one, and then store it away?)
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on December 24, 2018, 01:24:25 PM
The second SD card is for a backup just in case things go south.
you can either wait till the first is all loaded then copy it(which is the best option) or write it now and place the backups on it once the other is all configured.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: IPS on December 26, 2018, 07:02:31 AM
Is it possible to change SSID and password on SD CARD after it has been installed in Pi zero w ?
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on December 26, 2018, 12:30:42 PM
Yes. There are a few ways.

This is just another good reason to have a backup SD card on hand as you can just do option #2 to it and replace the SD card

 1: If you can still ssh in, once logged in type sudo raspi-config.
You can also safe power down & remove the card and add an empty file called FirstRun then place it in your pi and power back up.
2: If for some reason your router info has changed and you can no longer gain access you can power down the pi by pulling the plug and hoping you don't corrupt the card then add a blank ssh file and a wpa_supplicant.conf file. This file requires the following info :
Code: [Select]
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
country=US

network={
     ssid="Your network name/SSID"
     psk="Your WPA/WPA2 security key"
     key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
}

3:Still another option is to connect a HDMI cable to a monitor and plug in a keyboard to where the Cm15 is connected,  reboot if you have no display and once every thing is loaded, type sudo raspi-config


In both cases 1 & 3 you'll need to add your new info in the "network options" (#2).
If you did the second option since you added your new network info in the wpa-supplicant.config file your ready to go once powered back up
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: IPS on December 26, 2018, 03:33:41 PM
Thanks for the info. I was thinking about changing network to see if that would better Alexa response. I do have 3 backup SD cards. so I can now I can try. Like I said I don't know coding but am trying.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: alzy on December 27, 2018, 07:06:22 PM
What's the latest version of HG available via the update link in HG?
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: alzy on December 27, 2018, 07:08:35 PM
....That runs on the Pix10 hub that is?
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on December 27, 2018, 07:13:02 PM
All versions should work with the PiX10Hub release 1.1! I currently am running HG 1.2-stable.28
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: alzy on December 27, 2018, 07:17:33 PM
So you see my cm19 issue also?
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on December 27, 2018, 07:38:19 PM
Occasionally yes, but I currently don't believe it is a software issue as much as a location of the cm19 and maybe other factors.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: alzy on December 27, 2018, 07:43:40 PM
This is not a hardware issue!
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: alzy on December 27, 2018, 07:45:57 PM
The reliability of cm19a with Alex10 in my setup demonstrates that.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on December 27, 2018, 08:32:18 PM
This is not a hardware issue!
Actually It may well be a Zero W issue which would make it a hardware issue! The Hub was designed for the CM15 which is self powered the CM19 requires power from the ZeroW and if the power supply for it isn't supplying enough power that would explain the issue with sending RF. However it is possible the Zero just can't handle the dual software plus the added power requirements of the CM19.

Remember when your comparing Alex10 and the PiX10Hub software your comparing different OSes, drivers and power delivered to the USB not just software.
If you wish to compare software compare software that runs on the same setup for example use ha-bridge with mochad on your Zero W and see what results you get with it.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: alzy on December 27, 2018, 09:01:37 PM
Will Pix10Hub image v1.1 run on a more robust RPi board?
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: brobin on December 28, 2018, 12:16:44 AM
I have the PiZW AlexaHub (mochad & ha-bridge) running a CM19 with no issues.  I'm using a 5.1V/3A power supply but it also ran fine with a 5V/2.1A one first.  As Tuiceman says, if that works better then maybe the HG CM19 driver still needs tweaking.

@Mr.T: Could you put up the image for the Alexa hub again?
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Brian H on December 28, 2018, 06:22:01 AM
I have not tested this thoroughly.
I did install 1.1 on a Pi 3B {not the latest Pi 3B+}. It was NOT automatically installed like on a Pi Zero W. I had to use the keyboard and monitor connections. Manually starting things when it seemed to lock up and stall. Typing in things like raspi-config would get me back to a proper installation.

This was for the Wi-Fi connection. Ethernet didn't seem to work. Even with the suggestions I got during the test users section here.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: alzy on December 28, 2018, 06:38:05 AM
Brobin reports "I have the PiZW AlexaHub (mochad & ha-bridge) running a CM19 with no issues."

Tuicemen, Isn't that what you suggested I try in your last post here?

I also have a 5v 2.5 amp supply driving mine. So input power should be good.

Futhermore, wouldn't both the cm15 and cm19 take similar processing power , they both conect via usb. The only difference would be usb 5v power draw as Tuicemen pointed out. But if that's the prob then why is Brobin's setup working?

I too think its a driver problem, but if the HG folks disagree it will never get corrected.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on December 28, 2018, 07:49:31 AM
@alzy In Brobin's setup he is not using HG which is a large HA software package capable of timers and macros and a large amount of other drivers.
Brobin has HA-Bridge and the Mochad driver nothing else loading down the PI for his Alexa Pi.

@ Brobin I'll see about putting the Alexa install script back together.
 However there was very little interest in it probably as it required going down the Linux rabbit hole.
I guess I could create an Alexa Hub image now using what was learned in this project. ::) :'
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 28, 2018, 09:04:12 AM
Good morning,

My Pi Zero W arrived in the mail yesterday (earlier than expected) and having the day off today I decided to try and set it up.   I followed the instructions - and everything went well.

It is running and I can access the HA Bridge by typing the IP address (i.e 192.168.1.211) and if i use the IP address plus the port (192.168.1.211:8080) I get HA Bridge.

Not all I have to do is set up the individual x10 items in each of those and should be good to go.

I did notice the default devices appearing in HG - I will try and clean those up as I had done on the version on my PC.  Will report back later today on how the rest of the setup goes.

Thanks
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on December 28, 2018, 09:09:42 AM
You can actually load the backup of HG on Windows to the Pi HG, it will speed setup up considerably. ;)
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 28, 2018, 09:11:02 AM
I can try that - how do I do that ?
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 28, 2018, 09:12:24 AM
I can try that - how do I do that ?

And can you do the same with the HA Bridge setup ?
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on December 28, 2018, 09:14:41 AM
you need to create a backup from your windows HG configure/maintenance/configuration data
this saves to your connected device the in your pi HG go to the same location but browse for the back up file you created then click restore.
the HA-Bridge back up is a bit more involved but it is possible.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 28, 2018, 09:24:44 AM
I only had 2 devices entered in my PC version of HomeGenie so I think I will just try setting them up manually again (I do not need to migrate all that I had in AHP as I am not moving my cameras over).  I took a look at the HA Bridge setup for the devices, and it looks like even if I restored the back from the PC I'd still have to edit each of them for the correct IP address etc.  So I will work on those manually as well.

Off to the races :)
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 28, 2018, 12:22:30 PM
Allrighty....

I have a few of my X10 devices up working on HomeGenie and they seem to work.

I am having a problem with one that is on House Code B as opposed to A - under AHP, for the devices I have on B I have them running via RF commands not PLC (and that was the way I had them setup under Alex10 as well - they worked great).

So I am not sure if I can set up devices this way in HomeGenie.

I also have HA Bridge set up for the same devices (Forgot the ones I had on there and did a Discover to get the new ones).  They show up in Alexa (and HA Bridge) but trying to turn them on or off is not working - either in HA Bridge itself or via Alexa.

Assuming I have something set up incorrectly.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 28, 2018, 01:23:22 PM
Allrighty....

I have a few of my X10 devices up working on HomeGenie and they seem to work.

I am having a problem with one that is on House Code B as opposed to A - under AHP, for the devices I have on B I have them running via RF commands not PLC (and that was the way I had them setup under Alex10 as well - they worked great).

So I am not sure if I can set up devices this way in HomeGenie.

I also have HA Bridge set up for the same devices (Forgot the ones I had on there and did a Discover to get the new ones).  They show up in Alexa (and HA Bridge) but trying to turn them on or off is not working - either in HA Bridge itself or via Alexa.

Assuming I have something set up incorrectly.


Got Alexa working :)  Watched the video under the Help topic on this board here and realized (based on Tuicemen's comment about the password) that I was indeed missing something.  Followed the steps, updated the Legacy field for Header and bingo!

Still working on a few trick X10 modules on the B house code - need to find out how to use an RF for them I think
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: brobin on December 28, 2018, 03:10:45 PM

@ Brobin I'll see about putting the Alexa install script back together.
 However there was very little interest in it probably as it required going down the Linux rabbit hole.
I guess I could create an Alexa Hub image now using what was learned in this project. ::) :'

I think that now that you've refined the hub image concept there may be more interest in the Alexa (only) Hub from those of us who already have controllers that we're happy with. In addition to those who may continue with AHP, there are HomeSeer, Ocelot, StarGate, HRRBI and several other flavors that would benefit from it.  Installing the Alexa Hub image required more of a peek into rather than a trip down the rabbit hole and was pretty simple.  The image did all the heavy lifting.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 28, 2018, 03:18:56 PM
Allrighty....

I have a few of my X10 devices up working on HomeGenie and they seem to work.

I am having a problem with one that is on House Code B as opposed to A - under AHP, for the devices I have on B I have them running via RF commands not PLC (and that was the way I had them setup under Alex10 as well - they worked great).

So I am not sure if I can set up devices this way in HomeGenie.

I also have HA Bridge set up for the same devices (Forgot the ones I had on there and did a Discover to get the new ones).  They show up in Alexa (and HA Bridge) but trying to turn them on or off is not working - either in HA Bridge itself or via Alexa.

Assuming I have something set up incorrectly.


Got Alexa working :)  Watched the video under the Help topic on this board here and realized (based on Tuicemen's comment about the password) that I was indeed missing something.  Followed the steps, updated the Legacy field for Header and bingo!

Still working on a few trick X10 modules on the B house code - need to find out how to use an RF for them I think


I've got things up and running for the most part, down to 3 problem devices - all ones I had issues with in AHP but was able to use macros to get to work:

1) Kitchen Sink light - this is an X10 dimmer switch.  Currently turns on but will not turn off from HG or Alexa.

2) Table Lamp (currently used for Christmas Tree) - in AHP, I had a macro defined so that when a specific PLC command for a trigger device was hit it would send an RF signal to the x10 device for this.  I had 2 macros - one for on and one for off.   

3) Living Room Lights - same issue as #2, and in fact the same room.  Similarly, I had macros to trigger RF commands when triggered and these had been working in AHP but not working in HG / Alexa.

Taking a break for now, am going to leave things running in the Pi Hub and shut down the PC and see if my timed events I set up in HG get triggered correctly.

Any help on setting up HG macros to send RF x10 commands would be appreciated.

Thanks
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: alzy on December 28, 2018, 03:20:49 PM
An Alexa Hub driving a cm19a to replace my Alex10 install would be very useful to me!
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: alzy on December 28, 2018, 04:04:55 PM
Running on a Pi Zero W that is.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: soxfan1966 on December 29, 2018, 08:35:05 AM
Allrighty....

I have a few of my X10 devices up working on HomeGenie and they seem to work.

I am having a problem with one that is on House Code B as opposed to A - under AHP, for the devices I have on B I have them running via RF commands not PLC (and that was the way I had them setup under Alex10 as well - they worked great).

So I am not sure if I can set up devices this way in HomeGenie.

I also have HA Bridge set up for the same devices (Forgot the ones I had on there and did a Discover to get the new ones).  They show up in Alexa (and HA Bridge) but trying to turn them on or off is not working - either in HA Bridge itself or via Alexa.

Assuming I have something set up incorrectly.


Got Alexa working :)  Watched the video under the Help topic on this board here and realized (based on Tuicemen's comment about the password) that I was indeed missing something.  Followed the steps, updated the Legacy field for Header and bingo!

Still working on a few trick X10 modules on the B house code - need to find out how to use an RF for them I think


I've got things up and running for the most part, down to 3 problem devices - all ones I had issues with in AHP but was able to use macros to get to work:

1) Kitchen Sink light - this is an X10 dimmer switch.  Currently turns on but will not turn off from HG or Alexa.

2) Table Lamp (currently used for Christmas Tree) - in AHP, I had a macro defined so that when a specific PLC command for a trigger device was hit it would send an RF signal to the x10 device for this.  I had 2 macros - one for on and one for off.   

3) Living Room Lights - same issue as #2, and in fact the same room.  Similarly, I had macros to trigger RF commands when triggered and these had been working in AHP but not working in HG / Alexa.

Taking a break for now, am going to leave things running in the Pi Hub and shut down the PC and see if my timed events I set up in HG get triggered correctly.

Any help on setting up HG macros to send RF x10 commands would be appreciated.

Thanks

I'm going to move this part to its own thread under HG.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Hollybrook on April 15, 2019, 12:38:31 AM
Its been a while since I was last here, but didn't the tutorial use to have a link to the SD card image?  I have been looking around the forum for any links and am not seeing any. Maybe its late and I should be sleeping...

I have some old images stored, but they are all from the beta program.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: bkenobi on April 15, 2019, 12:46:09 AM
Tuicemen will have to answer your question.  I think the image was stored on his forum and I heard that he shut it down recently.  Don't take my word for it though as it was 3rd party knowledge...
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Hollybrook on April 15, 2019, 12:49:08 AM
Yes, his forum does not currently appear to be up.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on April 15, 2019, 08:02:46 AM
The links use to be in this thread http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=30714.0
not sure where they went but I'll get them reposted as soon as I wake up.
My forum is up you just may have an old link, the link to that is http://forums.tuicemen.net
http://forums.tuicemen.com also should still work
Update: links are now in the tutorial thread once again
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Hollybrook on April 15, 2019, 12:33:16 PM
Thanks for adding the SD card image back into the tutorial!

The reason I couldn't find your forum is that I made you singular (i.e. Tuiceman).  It was late...   B:(
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on April 15, 2019, 02:05:49 PM
Thanks for adding the SD card image back into the tutorial!
The removal of the links was unintentional, I most likely was either still asleep or to tired and should have been in bed.
Quote
The reason I couldn't find your forum is that I made you singular (i.e. Tuiceman).  It was late...   B:(
rofl lots of people do that so your not alone. ;)
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Hollybrook on April 16, 2019, 10:22:18 PM
Thanks for the quick response -- I am up and running again.  The newer code looks very nice and I am happily configuring HG.
Title: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
Post by: Tuicemen on May 21, 2019, 11:21:50 AM
Lately I've found myself digging into the HG code B:( (something I didn't wish to do) ::) :'
This was done to address issues with the OpenWeatherMap add which replaced the Weather Underground app and widget that personally affected my setup. Some originally reported March 27th
Recently I created a Pull request so these changes can be added to HG in a future update.
Although you can update HG from the PiX10Hub these fixes have yet to make there way into a HG build.
I'm thinking about creating a updated image with these issues fixed as Gene seems to have found himself busy with other things.
However if I do that and Gene releases a new update with out implementing the pull the issues will reappear. >*<