X10 Community Forum

📱🖥️PiX10Hub ( Always Evolving Open Source) => 🏥Help and Trouble Shooting => 🧞HomeGenie ⛑Help => Topic started by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 01:41:01 PM

Title: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 01:41:01 PM
I updated HomeGenie this morning on my Pi device and now I cannot connect to it.  I know it is connected to my router with the same IP address, and have tried multiple ports (i.e. 8080, 8081, 8082) with no luck.

Thoughts?
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 01:44:19 PM
I can connect to HA Bridge on port 2140 on the Pi still.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 29, 2019, 02:10:10 PM
open a terminal session using putty  and type in(or copy paste)
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart homegenie.serviceif it still fails to show up in your browser try
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl status homegenie.service to see if it is indeed running or if it started and stopped from an error.



Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 29, 2019, 02:26:26 PM
if the status command shows HG is running and no errors try typing
Code: [Select]
sudo netstat -tulpn | grep LISTEN this will show a list of ports that are listening.
I suspect if nothing was using port 80 it may have reverted to it as that is the default port.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 02:55:26 PM
Connected to the Pi via Putty.  Here is what is displayed once I enter the user and password
(see attached)

It is taking a long time to echo the commands back - trying to get this one to run:
sudo systemctl status homegenie.service

Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 02:56:57 PM
Here is the output from that last command - looks like it is running
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 03:00:27 PM
Here is the info from the post listening command
sudo netstat -tulpn | grep LISTEN
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 29, 2019, 03:08:58 PM
Ok looks like it is running on Port 8080
type
Code: [Select]
cd /usr/local/bin/homegenie once in the homegenie folder type
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl stop homegenie.service give it a few mins to shut down the service then type
Code: [Select]
sudo mono HomeGenie.exe
this will run HG in debug mode and should display a continually updated screen. Go to your browser and try to connect while in debug mode.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 03:27:12 PM
OK, tried getting it up in mono mode.

Connected via a browser it looks connected - it seems to just be taking a very long time to load

The command via Putty had these errors to report
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 03:29:32 PM
here is the browser screen - just looks like its loading
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 03:30:35 PM
more from the Putty window
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 29, 2019, 03:40:38 PM
OK do/did you have HG password protected prior to the update?
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 03:42:14 PM
If you mean do I require a user and password to sign onto HG, then yes I did.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 29, 2019, 03:45:26 PM
Ah that is your issue if you didn't remove it prior to the update.
the latest builds changed the password encryption.
Post to GitHub Gene may have a solution.
You may have to edit a HG file.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 04:18:27 PM
OK, I posted on the GitHub page for HomeGenie.  I think I did that right
https://github.com/genielabs/HomeGenie/issues/379
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 09:09:55 PM
Well an adventurous day to say the least.

Latest update hosed things.  Ended up going back to a saved image, which I now have on my SD card.

However, it seems to be the initial image and not one I saved - or at least I'm not really sure.

If i have an HDMI cable attached to the Pi I can see the splash screen - but if I try and connect via putty using the old IP address I get no connection.

And looking in my router I do not see the device connected at all.  So not really sure what happened.

Maybe time to start from scratch and get a new image etc - does the latest image use the Alexa interface that is integrated in HG or is it still the one with both as separate services ?
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 29, 2019, 09:27:34 PM
The latest image has the echo bridge (integrated Alexa)and no HA-Bridge.
if you can view the splash screen once that vanishes you can get to the pi configuration screen to setup shh and your wi-fi and may not to totaly start from scratch.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 09:33:25 PM
I was at the splash screen and thought I updated wifi - I had to scramble to find a keyboard.


I ended up at a prompt asking if I want to update and answered yes.

Now I don't get the splash screen.

Is there a way to edit the wifi info from the command line?
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 29, 2019, 09:42:43 PM
at the prompt type
Code: [Select]
sudo raspi-config that will open the configuration UI to set you  pi settings do them all as out lined in the setup thread to be sure nothing is missed
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 09:44:54 PM
I just found that command to get the config screen too😁

Trying it now
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 09:53:32 PM
It's back - with the original setup.

Loading my back up now
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 29, 2019, 10:02:44 PM
OK - back up and can access HG again.  I did NOT take an update.

What I plan on doing tomorrow is getting another SD card (I had one but its fried).

Then getting the new image for the X10Pi and using that and hopefully can use the same restore file to get that up and running.

Before I do, is there something I should do to remove my password for access before trying to update to the latest version of HG again?
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 09:28:32 AM
I *think* I cleared my password and am making a backup of the configuration with that setting.

Assuming this is the correct place to Clear the password then I am all set:
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 30, 2019, 09:29:59 AM
yes make a backup after you clear the password just in case.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 09:32:22 AM
K, just did that.  Thanks once again for your assistance.

I am now downloading version 1.2 of the PiX10Hub and going to install that on a new SD card I bought.  Then I am going to restore my backed up (no password) configuration to that once I swap the SD card into the Pi.

Hoping that goes smoothly and also gets me to the point where I have also updated HG to use the integrated Alexa Hub :)
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 10:23:28 AM
@tuicemen

I installed Pix10Hub version 1.2 image on my new SD card.  I updated the config file for the wifi info and then stopped by currently running server on the hub, removed the present sd card (the backup one from last night) and inserted the new one.

Connected the power again and waited a minute or so.

I was able to connect using putty to the pix10hub, supplied user and pwd.  Was prompted with a question if I wanted to update - I answered N then hit return.

It then gave me my ip[ address as well as the port HG is running on (and none for alexa hub, which is good).

I never had to go thru the steps in the PiX10 Install Tutorial to Expand the File system?

I was able to connect to it via a browser and am restoring my backup configuration (without the password).
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 10:32:25 AM
Everything appears back with the restored config.  I also just turned on the "Amazon Echo Interface: and it went thru a bunch of things that looked like it was setting up my devices.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 11:11:05 AM
OK - back up and running with version 1.2 of the PiX10Hub and my devices (along with Alexa) working again.

I am going to hold off taking any HG updates for awhile and make sure everything is good before proceeding with that.

Thank you for your help.   NOTE: My password in HG is still cleared, will hold off on that for awhile too.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 30, 2019, 11:13:28 AM
you need to expand your file system! The down loaded image doesn't open up all your SD free space
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 11:20:11 AM
So I should still do this even with everything running ?
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 30, 2019, 11:22:12 AM
yes or you'll soon run out of space it will should not affect HG.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 11:34:15 AM
Can I do from command line via Putty?
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 30, 2019, 02:22:25 PM
Can I do from command line via Putty?
yes
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 02:41:07 PM
Do u know what the command is?
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 30, 2019, 03:18:31 PM
same as if your connected locally
Code: [Select]
sudo raspi-config
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 03:52:14 PM
I see. I thought it would be possible to do just the file unpacking from the command line.

But I will connect, get into the config screen and do it from there.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 30, 2019, 04:27:10 PM
Ok, sorry.  I get it now.   Been a long day, lots of projects to do today.

Anyway, I connected to the pi via Putty, got the config menu, went to advanced options and chose to expand the file system.  Then when I exited the menu it asked if I wanted to reboot, which I said yes.

So I think I am now finally all set.  Thanks
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 30, 2019, 05:15:51 PM
Yep, you should be good to go now.
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect **Resolved, User Error
Post by: soxfan1966 on March 31, 2019, 06:43:55 PM
Wanted to follow up this afternoon.

With no password still, I am getting the HG info about available updates.

I actually read the info provided (I know, I know) and saw the info about the password and need to remove before installing.

So I wanted to clarify that the problem I ran into is not the fault of HG - rather it was the dreaded user error (failure to read important information).

I was able to take and install the latest update with no issues.

Thanks
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: Tuicemen on March 31, 2019, 06:48:02 PM
The requirement of removing your password prior to updating should have been more noticeable.
This also should be posted for all new updates as so few users update regularly. ::) :'
Title: Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
Post by: bkenobi on April 01, 2019, 12:30:07 PM
When updating software, the user should always read the change log.  However, I'd agree that an updated that will most likely break things should have some kind of additional notification (pop-up, bold/red text in the change log, etc).  However, IMO this is not really that big a problem.  For typical HG users, they would simply uninstall HG, run the installer for the old version, and restore the backup.  If you don't have a backup, you are playing with fire and that is the user's fault, not the developer.