X10 Community Forum

🖥️ActiveHome Pro => ActiveHome Pro General => Topic started by: jsl on March 31, 2005, 12:44:41 AM

Title: Extended code support
Post by: jsl on March 31, 2005, 12:44:41 AM
Does anyone know if you can send x10
extended code commands from ahp or the
smart macro module. I have modules that I
need to send extended code to. Your help is
greatly appreciated.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: Charles Sullivan on March 31, 2005, 06:32:09 AM
Thusfar AHP can send only the extended preset
and poll commands for the LM14A and AM14A
modules.  However you can send any arbitrary
extended code by using the ahcmd.exe command
from the Software Development Kit to feed the
raw hexadecimal byte command string to the
CM15A.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: roger1818 on March 31, 2005, 11:38:34 AM
Charles:  Can you do this from ahcmd.exe?
I didnít know low-level commands could be
send from it.  I thought it only accepted
high-level commands.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: X10 Pro on March 31, 2005, 12:38:52 PM
You can send any extended code sequence you
want with the ahcmd in the SDK. We also just
added a way to send arbitrary commands of any
type.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: roger1818 on March 31, 2005, 12:54:38 PM
Awesome!  Is this new, or am I loosing my
mind?

Now all we need is a way to send arbitrary
commands from within a Macro. :)
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: Charles Sullivan on March 31, 2005, 06:55:41 PM
Roger H:
I mentioned sending the raw byte string with
ahcmd.exe, but I've since noticed the high
level ExtCode command works for arbitrary
extended codes also, e.g.,
'ahcmd sendplc A2 ExtCode 31 1F'
sends extended code 0x31 with data value 0x1F
to module A2. (0x31 is the extended preset
code.)

The same command sent as raw hex bytes is:
'ahcmd sendrawplc 07 67 0E 1F 31'

Download document xtc798.doc from:
<http://www.x10.com/support/support_manuals.
htm> for the details of the extended codes.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: X10 Pro on March 31, 2005, 07:15:39 PM
Roger: Arbitrary commands in macros is kind
of an expert feature, but since we do it for
RF commands, maybe we can do it for PLC. I'll
see if we can do it. It probably won't be a
high priority at present though.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: roger1818 on March 31, 2005, 07:57:04 PM
X10 Pro:  I agree that having arbitrary
commands in macros is kind of an expert
feature but I would have thought that you
wouldnít want to exclude experts from using
Active Home Pro.  The availability of RF
commands in macros (as you mentioned) is a
perfect example.  The reason for wanting
them in macros is so that they would be
useable even when disconnected from the
PC.  Thank you for seeing if it can be done
in the future.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: jsl on April 05, 2005, 01:20:07 AM
X10Pro: I need the extended code support to
drive Leviton switches. My understanding is
that you manufacturer some OEM parts for
Leviton so it does not seem like they are a
competitor you need to lock out of AHP.
Can I do the following with AHP:
To include a Leviton switch at current
level for scene 1 (assume scene 1-64) send:
HC UC extended code 32, 48

To turn scene 1 on (activate scene 1) send:
HC extended code 32, 54
This one command will turn on all lights on
that HC (House Code). This could be up to
16 dimmers on different unit codes on the
same HC.

To dim and brighten an entire scene or turn
a scene off with one command.
To dim scene 1: HC extended code 32, 60
To brighten scene 1: HC extended code 48, 60
To turn scene 1 off: HC extended code 48, 54

For the next 63 scenes it is the same but
different codes.

My need in particular is for Leviton HCM-10-
1DW and HCM-10-1TW, but this should work
for all scene capable Levition devices
thereby helping all AHP customers that have
AHP.

Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: roger1818 on April 05, 2005, 10:22:04 AM
JSL:  I totally agree that they should
support Extended scenes (or Groups as they
are technically called).  Groups are not
limited to Leviton devices.  It is an X10
standard (although most if not all X10
brand products donít support them).  ACT
modules also support Groups.  Optimally
there should be a (free) plug-in for
configuring and using Groups.

Note: SmartHomeís scenes are not the same
as X10 Groups.  Those allow a single unit
to have multiple house/unit codes.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: jsl on April 06, 2005, 03:51:28 AM
Roger:
I appreciate your support on getting
extended code support into AHP.
JSL
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: X10 Pro on April 06, 2005, 01:44:10 PM
I've put these features on our list of things
to add, but I think it will be a little while
before we can implement them.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: jsl on April 06, 2005, 04:21:57 PM
X10 Pro:
Thank you. I look forward to having the
extended code support added as I am sure
many others users do to.
JSL
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: roger1818 on April 08, 2005, 04:17:33 PM
X10 Pro:  I know you say it will be a
little while before you can implement them,
but I was wondering if you could give us a
time frame.  Will it be a couple months,
six months, a year, several years, . . . ?
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: X10 Pro on April 08, 2005, 06:02:20 PM
Roger: Probably a couple months.
Title: Re: Extended code support
Post by: roger1818 on April 08, 2005, 11:19:17 PM
X10 Pro:  Thanks for the feedback.  That is
the answer I was hoping for (sooner would
have been nice, but I knew that wasn't
going to happen).