X10 Community Forum

🖥️ActiveHome Pro => SDK => Topic started by: bill on June 08, 2005, 11:32:09 AM

Title: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: bill on June 08, 2005, 11:32:09 AM
I am trying to figure out how to read the
extended data byte that is returned from a
module in response to a statusrequest. I
can see that the data is being sent over
the powerline but have no way of detecting
what that is. Any ideas?
Title: Re: How can I figure out why the CM15A is not doing anything?
Post by: roger1818 on June 08, 2005, 04:05:46 PM
Bob:  The USB interface of your CM15A may
have become confused along the way.  A
while back X10 updated their USB driver and
the latest version of the SDK requires it.

Try resetting the CM15A (unplug and remove
batteries) and uninstalling all X10
software.  Then re-install the software
with the CM15A connected (first AHP
upgrading to latest version if necessary,
and then SDK).
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: roger1818 on June 08, 2005, 04:09:07 PM
Bob:  Have you read
ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/manuals/xtc798.doc ?
It describes the format of extended
commands.  What model of module are you
sending the status request to (I assume it
is a 2-way module)?  What are you getting
back?
Title: Re: How can I figure out why the CM15A is not doing anything?
Post by: bob on June 08, 2005, 05:58:16 PM
Done all of the above.

The problem is in X10's software -- it is
utterly without any diagnostic capabilities
as if all the error messages were simply ignored.

There no excuse for black-holing. The device
shows up as "unknown" though without the
yellow marker which means that there is
something that thing that is claiming to have
the device but not acting right.

I tried on a (relitively) clean machine just
in case but to no avail.

Is David Rye still working for X10 in Hong Kong?
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: bill on June 08, 2005, 06:00:50 PM
Thanks for the link.

I am trying to retreive the temperature
from a Smarthome TempLinc 1625. I can
program the thing just fine. When I send a
statusrequest, it replies with the correct
housecode/unit for the temperature range
but I need to be able to read the "preset
dim" level which I don't seem to get back
in the scripting interface. The monitor
program within the ActiveHome Pro software
also reports that there is "Extended Data"
which I assume is the preset dim level but
it doesn't say what the data values are.

I could go with a PowerLinc II USB adapter
which would work but I already have the
CM15 and SDK.
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: Charles Sullivan on June 08, 2005, 10:51:02 PM
The TempLinc 1625 returns the temperature
encoded as a Unit Code and Preset Dim level,
not an Extended Code described in xtc798.doc.

The AHP Monitor unfortunately displays any of
the X10 signals it doesn't support (e.g.,
Preset Dim level) as "Extended Data".
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: roger1818 on June 09, 2005, 04:48:20 PM
Charles:  Are you using AHP�s �Activity
Monitor� or the SDK�s RecvAction function?
I have seen PersetDim commands using the
RecvAction function in the SDK, although
this was only after sending it using
SendAction.  I haven�t tried receiving one
from another device.  If I get a chance, I
will setup my keypad linc to send a
PresetDim command and see if I can see it.

Regardless the new release of AHP is
supposed to support PresetDim, so hopefully
the activity monitor will interpret
PresetDim commands properly.
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: Charles Sullivan on June 09, 2005, 05:10:53 PM
Roger H:
I was referring to the AHP Activity Monitor.
I hav
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: bill on June 09, 2005, 05:14:49 PM
Currently, in AHP Monitor, I only
see "ExtendedData" not the actual PresetDim
values.
Title: Re: LabVIEW and USB Monitor
Post by: john l. on June 13, 2005, 07:51:10 PM
Rodger,

Just D/L your code and the SDK.  I have yet
to even open it up, but I am very
interested in using this for a full LV
programmed HA system.  I want to integrate
x10 with some cameras, A/V routing, PDA and
web remote control and some sort of
security interface.  Do you know of other
H/W interfaces for A/V or video that have
APIs available?  I will be happy to share
my results if you are interested.  I've
been LVing for 13 years now so I hope my
code will be up to snuff.

-John
Title: Re: LabVIEW and USB Monitor
Post by: jacks on June 15, 2005, 11:03:20 PM
I've been using only on and off for a few
years though I wish I had stuck with it when
I first started using it.   But I've been
using X-10 stuff for a long time.

I'm working on integrating everything into a
full LV application.

I'm sort of curious that most of you don't
seem to be controlling the X10 interfaces
directly.

I have used the serial module and have had
pretty good luck.
I just got the USB module from Smarthome and
need some more info to build a driver for it.

Am I missing something here?  Why not control
everything direct from LV?
Title: Re: SDK on Win98/ME - we're fixing it
Post by: Tuicemen on June 16, 2005, 09:31:22 AM
I'm dissapointed!!!
I would have thought with the release of
V.3.187 the SDK would me working to some
degree with 98SE/M.E.
X10 Pro any idea when we'll see this work to
some degree (at least have the viewer
display the correct info)?
Title: Re: SDK on Win98/ME - we're fixing it
Post by: SkipWill on June 16, 2005, 03:21:22 PM
While you are in an SDK fixin' mood, dont
forget the broken queryplc

Thanks

Skip
Title: Re: Website Control
Post by: randy on June 20, 2005, 08:42:25 PM
Hello,

I'm just finishing a basic web interface
written in ASP. I'm looking for feedback on
the use of all on/all off (usage of which
is wrong in the X10 docs, the .dll errors
out unless you use AllLightsOn,
AllLightsOff).

I can see the use of AllLightsOn and
AllLightsOff but I am concerned with
AllUnitsOn and AllUnitsOff. Mainly
AllUnitsOn. My concern is the idea that
there may be a device with some sort of
risk factor that could be turned on
inadvertently with AllUnitsOn. For example,
turning on a Appliance module supporting a
device that may cause a fire. I realize the
risk is already there but I still have a
concern.

Anyone have any thoughts or feelings? As
for now, I have it coded in such a way as
to leave the On button inactive.

Thanks,

Randall
Title: Re: Website Control
Post by: danielbo on June 20, 2005, 11:21:20 PM
I agree with what you say, seems as if the
only control you would need is the all
lights on/off. If you need anything else,
that could be done with macros on a
individual basis. I am getting excited
about the idea of yours. I still have not
ordered Active home yet, just now waiting
till it goes on sale with the macro program
free again. I use homeseer now with
firecracker and it works good. But I like
the idea of only having to have one
reciever for all codes. I have used X10 for
about 18 years now and dont know where I
would be without it. This seems like the
best idea since the firecracker. Everyone
loves coming to my house to see what I have
done new, and then wants it for thiers.
Sounds like a upgrade for me and my friends!
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: M J on June 22, 2005, 12:57:12 PM
I'm having similar problems with the
"RecvAction" from the SDK only reporting
"recvplc b1 PresetDim1" and not the actual
data.  I'm using 3.0.0.183 of the ahscript.dll

Any chance of a fix for this?
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: bill on June 22, 2005, 01:02:47 PM
I have given up on the CM15a doing this for
me for the time being. I am using an old
CM11 with a Java interface to handle my
TempLinc sensor for now.
Title: Re: Website Control
Post by: dave m. on June 25, 2005, 03:28:33 AM
This is for Matss (re: garden Temp
control.) I would suggest looking at the
Parallax stamp microcontrollers.
parallax.com)  You can use an analog temp.
sensor, an 8pin A/D converter, and a
microcontroller to handle the processing
AND generate the X10 command to a powerline
interface. (They have some great project
books and a link to projects and code
contributed by viewers..) I'd be willing to
bet you would be able to modify an existing
project there to fit your needs.  Hope this
helps..
Title: Re: I have ASP.NET and Winforms.NET working sample code
Post by: al capps on July 09, 2005, 12:48:21 AM
Did you have an example using vb language
instead of C#? Any help would greatly be
appreciated. Need a jump start.

Thanks
Al
Title: Re: sendrf not working
Post by: moh'd elian on July 11, 2005, 07:59:52 AM
I have CM15A and i have tested sendplc
successfully, but when tried to test sendrf
it failed, i have my dlls version 3.183. Can
anyone plz send me a solution, or fix for
this bug?
Title: Re: I have ASP.NET and Winforms.NET working sample code
Post by: randy on July 12, 2005, 09:56:54 AM
Chris,

Are you utilizing ahscript.dll? If so, are
you having any issues? I'm having problems
with a classic ASP project I've put
together and I have yet to find anyone (X10
or other) that is willing or able to
comment. I have posted errors here and
AccessX10. Would you be willing to review
and discuss?
Title: Re: Website Control
Post by: russell on July 19, 2005, 09:52:29 PM
For a X10 compatible temperature sensor,
check out TempLinc at
http://www.smarthome.com/1625.html
Title: Re: I have ASP.NET and Winforms.NET working sample code
Post by: hector (newbie) on July 22, 2005, 06:05:40 PM
I wrote some asp.net code and it works fine
from the server but the minute I try to
access from outside the server the page
appears to work but for some reason it
doesnt do anything? any clues? it seems like
windows xp wont run executables from iis 5.1
Title: Re: VB 6
Post by: veetrag bafna on July 28, 2005, 02:23:31 AM
Where can i get a sample code for the sdk
for vb6.
Title: Re: VB 6
Post by: otis riggins on July 30, 2005, 09:04:54 AM
My X10 Exerciser is written in VB6 and the
source should provide you with an example.
http://gnbi.com/blog/?p=281
Title: Re: Website Control
Post by: randy on July 31, 2005, 01:38:58 PM
Hey Michael Creamer!

Have you finished your web control? What
are you using to create it? I've got a
pretty good basic control using ASP but
the .dll is erroring out. Please let me
know what you are working on/with and what
kind of luck you've had. I'd be happy to
share my code with anyone who is interested.

Thanks,

Randall
Title: Re: C#.net
Post by: todd on August 15, 2005, 08:23:31 PM
I have coded a C# windows application that
has all the steps that dev_dave suggested.
The sendplc does call the
ActiveHome_RecvAction handler event, but
the queryplc does not. Example
call: "queryplc, a1 on".
Does anyone know why?
Title: Re: Website Control
Post by: michael creamer on August 16, 2005, 06:07:38 AM
I still want to complete this but have had
to concentrate on some other things at the
moment.

I'm writing it using VB.NET 2003.  VB.NET
has the ability to host .aspx (ASP.NET)
pages from the app, so this is very
appealing in that users could easily write
their own .aspx pages for the system.

Michael
Title: Re: C#.net
Post by: skip on August 16, 2005, 07:54:47 AM
Queryplc is broken and has yet to be fixed.
It worked before 3.186 iirc

Skip
Title: Re: C#.net
Post by: todd on August 16, 2005, 09:50:12 AM
Okay then...Does anyone know how to
interface directly with the X10 Computer
Interface? I am sure there is way. If the
ActiveHome Pro can talk to it, then there
must be some DLL's that can be used, if
anyone knows how to use them.
Title: Re: SDK Updated
Post by: greywolf on August 20, 2005, 09:42:55 PM
Where can I get the updated SDK?  When I go
to the SDK download site I still get the
old version from 12/2004.
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: nuwan waas on September 08, 2005, 01:15:52 AM
I have noticed that most of yall trying to
create a web interface to CM15A...

Well its not so hard. The Only thing that
you need to understand is that if you want
remote access, U cannot write Client side
code onto your ASP page. Better be server
side. Most of the Examles that x10 has
provided are for Client side. They Do not
work if U put them on a server.

So first Step
Register the AHSCRIPT.DLL as a service in
your server. and then using Createobject in
ASP... create a ACtivehome Object. U need
the Object ID of the Activehome for this.

I'm provideing you all some information
reguarding remote access to CM15A in
another subject. "ASP / Flash controll..."

SO read it and U will not be asking any
quetions about web Access.

But I still ahvent able to get the command
correct to recive status. I would Like to
Ask from X10 to explaina bit more about
that ReciveAction() Function... What are
the parametrs U pass in and whats comming
out... Is it working or Not???



Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: roger1818 on September 08, 2005, 04:34:38 PM
The ReceiveAction function isn�t a function
you call.  Instead it is an ActiveX event
you need to respond to.  You will have to
check your development environment to find
out how you wait on an ActiveX event or set
up an ActiveX Call Back.  The function call
will pass string parameters.  The first is
the Action parameter and it indicates if it
was a powerline or RF command.  The
following parameters are depenant on the
Action Parameter as indicated in the help
file.  I hope this helps.  
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: michael creamer on September 14, 2005, 12:38:16 PM
I'm finally back on track with the program.
I've shutdown HomeSeer and started using my
program for basic lighting control. The
built-in webserver is also working.  
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: nuwan waas on September 15, 2005, 08:04:40 PM
I'm still having some problems in
understanding the Receve Action.
Can anyone tell me what actuall does
Project: Dynamic Receiver provided by X10
DO?

Does it really respond if U switch on and
off your apliance from its power button
Manually (with the module status to on), Or
it repond only to the Module status going
off ?



Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: roger1818 on September 16, 2005, 11:17:21 AM
Brainwires:  Most modules are not able to
transmit so if you turn the load on or off
locally you will not be able to detect
that.  Only "2-way" modules are able to
transmit their status, but they will only
transmit a change in module status (it will
not transmit if you turn the load on or off
locally unless the module itself changes
status).
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: nuwan waas on September 16, 2005, 12:18:35 PM
Roger: What I'm trying to do here is
Intrface TW523 with a Basic Stamp 2. SO then
I can send data to the powerline using Xout
command. like for example send the housecode
and the Unit code with the command in the
x10 standered packets, and when the CM15A
recived it, it will do something in the
computer. I guess As u have mentiond thats
the job for ReveAction() Will reciveaction
will detect the powerline commands from
CM15A or is it only to moniter the Command
reception from USB to CM15A. That I'm so
confused.
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: roger1818 on September 19, 2005, 12:19:48 PM
Brainwires:  The SDK will generate a
ReceiveAction event when it receives either
a powerline or RF command.  Obviously the
command is sent from the CM15A to the PC
via USB, but the SDK hides that layer of
communication from you so you can safely
ignore it.
Title: Re: New sample projects: Web control and more!
Post by: natarajan on October 10, 2005, 01:51:38 AM
i want one pro *c project.
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: basil on October 24, 2005, 05:14:12 PM
Hi, I just dont know why my WIN98 SE pops
up with an error message saying "you have
performed an Illigal operation and will be
shut down. If the programme persist please
conatact your system administrator.....
Coud any oone please help me to solve these
problems.
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: jonk on October 24, 2005, 06:21:27 PM
Does anyone have a code snippet in vb or vb.
net on how the recvaction works? I have tried
following the examples in the sdk but have
yet to get it to return anything from an asp
page.
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: roger1818 on October 25, 2005, 10:16:08 AM
Basil:  The SDK doesn�t currently work on
Windows 98.  This was broken about 6 months
ago and has never been fixed.
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: jonk on October 25, 2005, 06:09:04 PM
Please disregard the last post about the
recvaction. I have solved the problem. Thanks
anyway.
Title: Re: New sample projects: Web control and more!
Post by: dcrobert on November 12, 2005, 10:27:51 PM
Where are the "new samples".  I've looked
but can't find them.
Title: Re: sendrf not working
Post by: marc on January 24, 2006, 01:24:46 AM
Did x10 ever generate a version of the SDK
where sendrf works? If not, can anyone point
me to or does anyone have access to an older
version where it will work? I am trying to
use a CM19a with the SDK. It's pretty
worthless without the sendrf (OK, I can use
it to monitor the RF signals from the other
devices...)
Thanks.
Title: Re: Extended Data with statusrequest
Post by: KJackson on November 15, 2006, 02:55:20 PM
I need some assistance, too.  I am implementing the PalmPad web-based remote.  It works great on the server side ( when executed/viewed from the server machine), but when I try to click the lights on buttons on a client machine, it appears to try to execute it locally, rather than on the server side.  How can I fix this.  I use Microsoft's Expression web editor. and here is a copy of the actual code generated...

<a href="javascript:getUSCode(1,'on');" onMouseOver="ppImgOn('Button1');window.status='';" onMouseout="ppImgOff('Button1');window.status='';">
<img name="Button1" src="ActiveHouse_files/palmpad/Button1_off.gif" width=34 height=21 border=0 onclick="ActiveHomeObj.SendAction(&quot;sendplc&quot;, &quot;j1 on&quot;);" alt=""></a></td>

you can see the ActiveHomeObj.SendAction(&quot;sendplc&quot;, &quot;j1 on&quot;)" section that executes the command, but how can I force it to run against the server-machine instead of whatever machine is viewing the page?  Thanks