X10 Community Forum

🖥️ActiveHome Pro => SDK => Topic started by: Dave Q. on October 16, 2005, 02:23:59 AM

Title: Powerline Commands Applied to Many X10 Addresses!?
Post by: Dave Q. on October 16, 2005, 02:23:59 AM
Is anybody knows how to send powerline
commands to many X10 addresses at the same
time with the CM15, like it was possible via
the CM11a? For exemple: House A, Modules 1,2
and 6, Turn OFF. The only way to do that
with the CM15 is to turn off each module one
by one. Is it a scripting limitation, or a
limitation of the CM15 itself?

Thanks,
Dave Q.
Title: Re: Powerline Commands Applied to Many X10 Addresses!?
Post by: roger1818 on October 17, 2005, 11:29:48 AM
The CM15a can do this.  This is done in X10
by sending multiple addresses on the same
house code and then a function.  It will not
work (regardless of the controller) if the
modules are on different house codes.

For your example, in the scripting interface
you would send the commands:

sendplc A1
sendplc A2
sendplc A6 OFF

This is not documented in the help file but
was added to the functionality of the SDK
about six months ago along with functions for
every X10 powerline command.
Title: Re: Powerline Commands Applied to Many X10 Addresses!?
Post by: Dave Q. on October 17, 2005, 01:43:01 PM
Thank you very much... so simple, that it
almost bounces on my face :) I had try every
thing except that!

Your answer seems to tell that we can now
use the "AllLightsOn" command!?

Is there a DLL version, to confirm the
supported commands?
Title: Re: Powerline Commands Applied to Many X10 Addresses!?
Post by: Dave Q. on October 17, 2005, 01:59:49 PM
Sorry... I mean "AllLightsOff" :)
Title: Re: Powerline Commands Applied to Many X10 Addresses!?
Post by: roger1818 on October 18, 2005, 12:51:23 PM
Dave:  Yes, AllLightsOff is supported in the SDK.  I can't find the post that listed all of the PLC commands that are supported.  From my notes the following commands are available with sendplc:

SendPLC         Function               Binary
Command                                Value
--------------- ---------------------- ------
allunitsoff     All Units Off          0000
alllightson     All Lights On          0001
on              On                     0010
off             Off                    0011
dim             Dim                    0100
bright          Bright                 0101
alllightsoff    All Lights Off         0110
extcode*        Extended Code          0111
hailrequest     Hail Request           1000
hailacknowledge Hail Acknowledge       1001
presetdim1      Pre-set Dim (1)        1010
presetdim2      Pre-set Dim (2)        1011
**              Extended Data Transfer 1100
statuson        Status On              1101
statusoff       Status Off             1110
statusrequest   Status Request         1111


* The extcode function is followed by the command and then data.  For example, to send an extended preset dim (Type 3 Func 1) to 50% (data 1F) on address A2 you would send: sendplc A2 ExtCode 31 1F

** I can't remember the sendplc command for Extended Data Transfer, but as far as I know, it is never used.

There is also now a sendrawplc command that lets you send one or more bytes of raw data. You follow it with the bytes of data (separated by spaces) in hexadecimal. I am not sure exactly how this works, but Charles Sullivan (http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?action=profile;u=13) once said that the above extended preset dim could also be sent as: sendrawplc 07 67 0E 1F 31
Title: Re: Powerline Commands Applied to Many X10 Addresses!?
Post by: Dave Q. on October 19, 2005, 12:34:22 AM
My code is now modified and everything works
fine. I am still concern about the DLL
version. Do I have to check the SDK one
only? You said the modifications had been
done 6 months ago, so what is the minimal
required DLL version that includes the said
PLC? Do you know? Thanks.
Title: Re: Powerline Commands Applied to Many X10 Addresses!?
Post by: roger1818 on October 19, 2005, 10:39:37 AM
I am not sure about the version number of the
DLL.  I to my knowledge there have only been
2 versions of the SDK and the first version
only supported basic commands (the ones in
the help file) and did not support sending
addresses only.  If any of the new features
work, you probably have the latest version.

One other thing, not all modules support
AllLightsOff.  For example standard lamp
modules do not, but wall switches do.
Title: Re: Powerline Commands Applied to Many X10 Addresses!?
Post by: Dave Q. on October 20, 2005, 05:11:44 PM
OK. Thanks for your help!