Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: email alerts  (Read 11248 times)

donutlou

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 38
email alerts
« on: December 18, 2006, 01:15:28 PM »

i have an eagle eye motion sensor that i want to trigger and email alert between the hours of 8:30am and 3 pm(when im at work) i have it all set up but it doesnt work???? if i click on the marco dirrectly it works fine, and an email is sent but when i break the beam of the motion sensor it flashes the macro but doesnt send the email, whats up with that?
any way to get a text message to my cell phone too?
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: email alerts
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2006, 02:54:01 PM »

Just to cover the basics...

Is the CM15A connected to your computer with AHP and on while you're at work? The macros with email commands have to run from the computer. Also if you don't already have a dummy module set up with the same house and unit code as the macro, create one.

If your phone can receive email, just plug in the phone's email address. e.g. For Verizon it's "your number"@vtext.com.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: email alerts
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2006, 03:17:36 PM »

steven r is correct about needing a dummy appliance module to get this to work. In addition it will take 2 macros not one.

Since you have conditionals set up in the macro and since the email command has to run from the computer, the conditionals are going to cause the macro not to execute. There is a problem with conditionals running in macros that run from the computer. I don't think it applies to all conditionals but many of them.

The first macro is set up with the dummy appliance module, your conditions and at the bottom of the macro screen the save to interface has to be checked. The motion sensor triggers the first macro and if the conditions are true you have it turn on the dummy appliance module. That module has the same house/unit code as the second macro so when it turns on it triggers the second macro. The second macro has the email command.
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9387
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: email alerts
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2006, 05:34:08 PM »

There are many posts in this section(MyHouse Online) regarding e-mail problems please read them and try what is suggested there if nothing works then post again stating what all you have tried and the results!
Also have you tried X10dispatcher yet? it has these options plus more that AHP doesn't.
there seems to be an issue right now with the way AHP is sending e-mails the settings for the transmition doesn't stick and that could be your problem if so X10dispatcher could be used until a update for AHP is issued! ;) :D ;D
It is easy to send a text message to your phone if your cell phone provider will share that info if not search the net there are sites that provide this service!
If you have a voice modem in your PC you can try AlertDialer it will send a voice alert and allow you to reply with an x10 command(via touch tone)!
« Last Edit: December 19, 2006, 03:46:30 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

donutlou

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 38
Re: email alerts
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2006, 12:13:59 PM »

i set it up with the dummy module and it seems to work, at least this morning it did. thanks
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.