Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!  (Read 72483 times)

X10 Deal Manager

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 6

The wait is over! Introducing OnAlert, the latest, greatest software plug-in for ActiveHome Pro!

For the first time ever, your home security modules can communicate with ActiveHome Pro! Receive e-mail alerts when your system is armed/disarmed, trigger lights/appliances with security modules, be notified when your sensors are low on batteries and more! OnAlert is the missing link between your security and automation systems!

OnAlert debuts tonight at midnight! Click the link below to find out more information:

http://www.activehomepro.com/plugins/plugin-onalert.html
Logged

Oldtimer

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 45
  • Posts: 364
  • Line Noise & Signal Sucker Fatigue Syndrome
    • Oldtimer's X10 Forum Home Page
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2006, 09:10:41 PM »

Will the OnAlert AHP add on allow you to use security modules with AHP even if you don't have Protector Plus?
Logged
Having "fun" with X-10 since 1980.

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2006, 10:57:59 PM »

Will the OnAlert AHP add on allow you to use security modules with AHP even if you don't have Protector Plus?

Yes - you can directly trigger macros from AHP with it, similar to triggering from a remote or o powerline signal.   A security console is not required.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2006, 11:22:13 PM »

Cool... so is what your saying is that you could setup a window contact switch and have it trigger a macro to turn on a light? Is the RF from the contact switch received by the CM15A?
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2006, 12:45:08 AM »

Looks interesting. Kind of a "poor man's" alarm system. If I didn't already have a real alarm, I might be interested. I'll keep an eye out for the best deal just to see how X10 markets it.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2006, 06:12:56 AM »

Cool... so is what your saying is that you could setup a window contact switch and have it trigger a macro to turn on a light? Is the RF from the contact switch received by the CM15A?

Yes, that's correct., for both questions.

[Comment added later]
Lest you be misled by my answer above, macros triggered by security device have to be run from the PC - they can't be dowloaded to the CM15A memory.  See: http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=9604.msg56764#msg56764
« Last Edit: September 12, 2006, 07:14:13 AM by Charles Sullivan »
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2006, 10:11:12 AM »

...macros triggered by security device have to be run from the PC - they can't be dowloaded to the CM15A memory....
Very good point for someone thinking of using just AHP as an alarm system. You will have to have an computer running all the time.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2006, 11:09:36 AM »

Oh, well. I'm not interested.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

cealbrecht

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 9
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2006, 07:05:48 PM »

How many security modules can you use with the AHP?  Is it still only 8 zones or can you set up more than 8 with the AHP software?
Logged

CLacina

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2006, 09:13:40 PM »

How many security modules can you use with the AHP?  Is it still only 8 zones or can you set up more than 8 with the AHP software?

OnAlert doesn't use the concept of 'zones' the way the Security Consoles do.  You should be able to include as many security modules as you want. 
Logged

Henri T

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 111
  • using X-10 since '80s ...
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2006, 01:57:08 AM »

Hi!

I'd like to know if a blinking function for lamp module will be available in macro instructions ?
(with security console, it's automatic for the security lamp module)

I'd like to have the possibility to send the AHP event log by email when an intrusion is detected.


Thanks.

I will buy this module for sure.  But I'm waiting to see if bugs will appear in the fisrt days of the release....

Sorry for my poor English, guys. I'm from Montreal, QC and I'm a french canadian.

Thanks.
Logged
Thank you !
:) Automation is funny with X10 Gadgets ! ;)

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2006, 06:32:12 AM »


Quote
Lest you be misled by my answer above, macros triggered by security device have to be run from the PC - they can't be downloaded to the CM15A memory

Charles, Thanks for that very usefull bit of information. That will certainly make a difference to me. I was thinking of getting it but if it has to be run from a PC and not able to be downleaded to the CM15a I have no interest. :-\
Logged
_ _ ... ..._ _

Henri T

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 111
  • using X-10 since '80s ...
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2006, 09:55:24 AM »

Hi !

I already have a Protector Plus system fully installed.
I have AHP and all plugins, a lot of switchs, lamp and appliance modules, etc.
I have 6 cams too.

I'd like to know if  I will have to reinstall all the sensors, motion detectors and remotes if I want to use OnAlert plugin

Thanks.
Logged
Thank you !
:) Automation is funny with X10 Gadgets ! ;)

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2006, 10:53:52 AM »

Hi !

I already have a Protector Plus system fully installed.
I have AHP and all plugins, a lot of switchs, lamp and appliance modules, etc.
I have 6 cams too.

I'd like to know if  I will have to reinstall all the sensors, motion detectors and remotes if I want to use OnAlert plugin

Thanks.


No - you shouldn't have to do anything with the security console except disarm it, if that is your question.

In AHP you drag  the sensors, detectors, and remotes into the room the same as you would any other module.  OnAlert will pop up a window asking you to "install" each device, e.g., press the test button or open the door for a Door/Window sensor, so it can match the security ID for that device with its icon.

When it comes to installing the remotes, just remember NOT to press the "ARM" button, else the next device you install will set off the alarms in your security console.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Henri T

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 111
  • using X-10 since '80s ...
Re: World Premiere: OnAlert, the First Ever Security-Home Automation Link!
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2006, 01:00:21 PM »

Thank you Charles.

I'll buy the plugin very soon (maybe tonight) to make some tries ...

 :D
Logged
Thank you !
:) Automation is funny with X10 Gadgets ! ;)
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.