Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Cannot connect to myhouse online  (Read 13340 times)

vegas75

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Cannot connect to myhouse online
« on: September 18, 2006, 10:39:06 PM »

Hello All,

Myhouse online has been working fine for months, then all of the sudden.  I cannot startup myhouse from home.  What I do is startup myhouse on my pc at home and minimize it.  Then I can log into the myhouse from work and use the camara's.  For about the last week, I cannot startup myhouse on the home pc.  It just keeps trying to connect, saying waiting XX s to reconnect.  Any ideas? 

The only thing that I have done is upgrade my anti virus software, as the definitions service had expired.  McAfee. 
Logged

vegas75

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2006, 05:59:22 PM »

Anyone???  I cannot use myhouse online right now and it is frustrating.  I cannot connect at home, thus I am not able to connect remotely to view camera's.  I just keep telling me it is trying to connect.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9445
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2006, 06:51:49 PM »

Since as you say
Quote
The only thing that I have done is upgrade my anti virus software, as the definitions service had expired.  McAfee
I'd start there! Never liked that antivirus! try AVG Free
I've never had problems with this one! and it is free!
  ;) :D :(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

vegas75

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2006, 03:06:32 PM »

Disabled anti virus and nothing.  Its as if I no longer am a registers user.  It comes up "verifying registration" then is says disconnecting.  I tried to reinstall myhouse, still nothing.  Any ideas?????
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9445
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2006, 07:47:52 PM »

If your anitvirus update caused the problem disabling it will not help You'll have to remove it,  but if you do that make sure you have another antivirus to use.
If you have Windows System Restore running you maybe able to go back to a time before the update and see if that fixes your problem! ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2006, 12:56:23 AM »

Also something to consider... if your update included the McAfee firewall, it may be blocking MyHouse.  Disabling the anti-virus portion will not necessarily disable the firewall!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

vegas75

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2006, 03:56:52 PM »

did not do a thing and now it is working fine.  I think there was a registration issue going on with myhouse online.  It connects without a problem now.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9445
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2006, 04:05:22 PM »

There may have been an issue with their server at the times you were trying! ::) ;) :D At least your up and running without having to do anything drastic! ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Dew

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2006, 11:57:33 PM »

Bummer............ >:(
I'm not familiar with 'myhouse online' but it sounds like a firewall issue. Has anything changed with regard to your firewall (assuming you are running one)?

Dew
Logged
Dew

Tucaffine

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2006, 10:23:08 PM »

Hello,
  New guy here.I to had the same problem and found that when my firewall would give an alert to a program trying to access the net i could choose to block it or allow it and Myhouse wasn,t shown as the program just an i.p. number when i realized it from alert logs i corrected it to allow out going and in comeing "was an obtion"...If your useing any firewall or new updates check there first.
I,ve had other issues that i will address  later on the posts that they apply too.Thanks for all the great input from everyone! <><
Logged

PTooTi

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 6
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2006, 01:00:20 AM »

I too have not been able to connect since the 15th of OCT
bummer cuz i use it in my retirement home 600 miles away.... a real pain the @ss
if i have to drive there on a weekend to setup remote desktop so i can control it directly
I kind of liked the idea of not having to do that but know i guess one should not trust reliability to no one except your self!

other than that it works fine...when i can connect  :'(


no changes have been made to my machine or config so it must be x10 servers?

Logged

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2006, 12:36:59 PM »

bummer cuz i use it in my retirement home 600 miles away....

With such a great distance I would recommend Remote Desktop or RealVNC to connect direct to your PC.
(I use VNC when I'm visiting family on the other side of the country  ;) )
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9445
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Cannot connect to myhouse online
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2006, 04:28:09 PM »

I've used RealVNC  for years!
-----A Very solid Free Program!-----
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.