Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: UM506  (Read 38292 times)

marineau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 162
UM506
« on: September 30, 2006, 07:54:50 PM »

I would like to make me a program to record the states of my thermopumps.   
Note that I'm programmer in VB6 !

Can I use CM15A to know a state if  ON(Short) or OFF on module UM506 ?

In others words, does UM506 can send a state (Open or Close) to CM15A ?
« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 02:18:54 AM by marineau »
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: UM506
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2006, 09:03:36 PM »

I would like to make me a program to record the states of my thermopumps.   
Note that I'm programmer in VB6

Can I use CM15A to know a state if  ON(Short) or OFF on module UM506 ?

In others words, does UM506 can send a state (Open or Close) to CM15A ?

No.  The UM506 only receives an X10  On or Off signal and closes or opens its contacts accordingly.

If you want something that will send an On or Off X10 signal upon a contact closure/opening (or an applied voltage), take a look at the PF284 Powerflash module  http://www.x10.com/security/pf284_s.html  or the equivalent X10 Pro model PSC01.


Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

marineau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 162
Re: UM506
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2006, 09:19:15 PM »

No.  The UM506 only receives an X10  On or Off signal and closes or opens its contacts accordingly.

If you want something that will send an On or Off X10 signal upon a contact closure/opening (or an applied voltage), take a look at the PF284 Powerflash module  http://www.x10.com/security/pf284_s.html  or the equivalent X10 Pro model PSC01.

But if I (short) install a jumper (no voltage) on his two terminals (two screws on UM506), does CM15A will see the change state ?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10016
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: UM506
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2006, 10:09:50 PM »

Active Home pro only knows if it sent the on/off command the um506  as Charles Sullivan  stated:
Quote
The UM506 only receives an X10  On or Off signal and closes or opens its contacts accordingly.
"the UM506 does not transmit to the CM15A it only receives!"
Now If you wish to write a program using the SDK that shows what state the thermopumps should be in then that isn't a problem!
You can record the signals sent to the UM506. Your program could then state what it thinks the pumps condition should be!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12790
Re: UM506
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2006, 07:06:32 AM »

As others have pointed out. The UM506 is a receiver and has no two way status features. You maybe thinking of the PowerFlash Module PF508 that sends X10 Powerline signals when the contacts are closed or a low voltage is applied; and it has no receiver in it so you can't turn anything on or off.
Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: UM506
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2006, 07:55:08 AM »

Couldn't you use a 2-way appliance module? That would send a signal back to the cm15a with a status?
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12790
Re: UM506
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2006, 12:33:20 PM »

Big brain fade in my last post on this. A PH508 is a Powerhorn Siren   ::). Should be a PF284 a Powerflasher module.
Logged

marineau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 162
Re: UM506
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2006, 02:13:38 PM »

Couldn't you use a 2-way appliance module? That would send a signal back to the cm15a with a status?
I asked me a something, maybe that is possible to use a 2 -way appliance module instead a PF284. Maybe that use another module.
I will explain you that I'm trying to do...
My thermopump is controlled by 24Volts on 7 output.
- Compressor relay
- Fan relay
- Set Point Setting (Thermostat)
- First stage relay for Element 5 Kw
- Second stage relay for Element 5 Kw
- Third stage relay for Element 5 Kw
- Reverse valve (Air conditionned)

So I want get a statut on these 7 output low voltage (24 volts). It expensive to buy 7 PF284 for this.
Does you know another method for get a status for 7 output 24V (or contacts closed) ?






Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: UM506
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2006, 03:25:26 PM »

Hummm you might be able to rig up some DS10A window/door sensors. If the relays currently used have any unused positions on them you might be able to tie into them. The other thought would be to rig up a secondary relay to each leg (24v) that you want to operate the DS10A on. This is provided that your 24v power source can handle the extra load.

The DS10A would then send an RF signal back to the CM15A and then to AHP software.
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: UM506
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2006, 03:52:35 PM »

I asked me a something, maybe that is possible to use a 2 -way appliance module instead a PF284. Maybe that use another module.
I will explain you that I'm trying to do...
My thermopump is controlled by 24Volts on 7 output.
- Compressor relay
- Fan relay
- Set Point Setting (Thermostat)
- First stage relay for Element 5 Kw
- Second stage relay for Element 5 Kw
- Third stage relay for Element 5 Kw
- Reverse valve (Air conditionned)

So I want get a statut on these 7 output low voltage (24 volts). It expensive to buy 7 PF284 for this.
Does you know another method for get a status for 7 output 24V (or contacts closed) ?


7 of anything will not be cheap.

What do you hope to gain by your program knowing the status of these relays?
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

marineau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 162
Re: UM506
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2006, 04:56:42 PM »

So I want get a statut on these 7 output low voltage (24 volts). It expensive to buy 7 PF284 for this.
Does you know another method for get a status for 7 output 24V (or contacts closed) ?

Quote

7 of anything will not be cheap.
What do you hope to gain by your program knowing the status of these relays?

I wrote this program like this, using a parrallel port 9 year ago, in O/S DOS.
This program was create for diagnostic thermopump,  air conditioning and heating.
I sold these program, with electronic interface and laptop to Cie that sale air conditioning and heating.

Now I want to do another program running under Windows, with USB support, and wireless support. Maybe that I will sale another licence for this new version.

In this program, Operator have to define a voltage (220), Amperage, Electricity cost.
This program verify state to each second.

In this new program, Each 24Hours, a report will be sent by Email to Cie, with each state while a day with a total defrost, and electricity comsumption, etc, etc  !

I run a mine since 9 years on my home with a 386-33 under DOS.




« Last Edit: October 01, 2006, 05:50:09 PM by marineau »
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: UM506
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2006, 05:14:01 PM »

I wrote this program like this, using a parrallel port 9 year ago, in O/S DOS.
This program was create for diagnostic thermopump,  air conditioning and heating.
I sold these program, with electronic interface an laptop to Cie that sale air conditioning and heating.

Now I want to do another program running under Windows, with USB support, and wireless support. Maybe that I will sale another licence for this new version.

In this program, Operator have to define a voltage (220), Amperage, Electricity cost.
This program verify state to each second.

In this new program, Each 24Hours, a report will be sent by Email to Cie, with each state while a day with a total defrost, and electricity comsumption, etc, etc  !

I run a mine since 9 years on my home with a 386-33 under DOS.


Maybe a cheaper solution is to buy a USB to parallel port adapter?
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

marineau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 162
Re: UM506
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2006, 05:30:11 PM »

This is provided that your 24v power source can handle the extra load.

The DS10A would then send an RF signal back to the CM15A and then to AHP software.

Good idea, but I think that no needing relay, just connect 24V+ to first side, and control signal 24V+ on a second side and when a signal would be 24Volt+ on each side, so AHP could receive a state.

Do you think that this method would work with no relay ?



Logged

marineau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 162
Re: UM506
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2006, 05:40:48 PM »

Maybe a cheaper solution is to buy a USB to parallel port adapter?

I'm obligate to rewrite a code in VB6 for run to Windows (I wrote with QuickBasic), also, I use a 8 pin to parralele port and detect a voltage on each pin... Impossible with a USB adapter.
Also, I want wireless support !
Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: UM506
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2006, 06:19:50 PM »

This is provided that your 24v power source can handle the extra load.

The DS10A would then send an RF signal back to the CM15A and then to AHP software.

Good idea, but I think that no needing relay, just connect 24V+ to first side, and control signal 24V+ on a second side and when a signal would be 24Volt+ on each side, so AHP could receive a state.

Do you think that this method would work with no relay ?


My first guess would be no it would not work. I have not seen the wiring print on a DS10A but the wired side of the magnetic reed switch I'm sure is not meant to have a voltage applied to it. The wired side is just a reed switch tripped by a magnet getting close to it.  I wonder if you could rig up a small coil with an iron core on each 24v leg and create an electromagnet that would open and close the reed switch. Maybe just use the coil from a 24 volt relay and place the end against the reed switch. You should be able to find some low current draw relay coils.

Some experimenting will be in order. Not sure how big or small a magnetic field would be needed to trip the reed switch and how much current would be needed.
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.