Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Poll

Which Procedure Works For *YOUR* KR19A Slimfire Remote?

[1] KR19A Slimfire Remote Installation and Operating Instructions
- 12 (60%)
[2] {Programming the New Batch of} SlimFire Remote KR19A
- 4 (20%)
[3] {Programming the EVEN NEWER Batch of} SlimFire Remote KR19A
- 4 (20%)

Total Members Voted: 19


Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/11/22]  (Read 91932 times)

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!

OPTIONS:


Also, after you VOTE, please post a message indicating:

  • WHICH option you choose (1 or 2)
    .
  • The DATE CODE on the back of your KR19A (little white sticker on the back with 5 alphanumeric characters)

THANKS in advance for your cooperation! 

You'll be saving some new KR19A owner loads of grief by sharing your information and participating in this POLL.  ;)


[Also, thanks to NEWBIE marineau for bringing this issue back into the "spotlight ".  :) ]

S u m m a r y :

DATE CODE That Works With Option 1: KR19A Slimfire Remote Installation and Operating Instructions

  • 05K47: JimC, Puck, KDR, DowNet
    .
  • 05H32: Puck
    .
  • 01F26: delibaker
    .
  • 01139: tuicemen
    .
  • 00135: -Bill- (of BXVC)
    .

DATE CODE That Works With Option 2: {Programming the New Batch of} SlimFire Remote KR19A

  • 06D14 DowNet
    .
  • P10898A: marineau
    .

DATE CODE That Works With Option 3:

  • P10898S gtsguy
    .


[Once we collect some substantial data, I'll add a LINK to this from my Troubleshooting Thread.]
« Last Edit: November 23, 2006, 02:22:27 AM by TakeTheActive »
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 7984
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2006, 09:00:24 PM »

It has been a long time since I used one of these, but I do remember programing it using the instructions.
 I'll see if I can find one(there's two arround here some where! ??? ::))
As soon as I find one I'll post the date codes but I'm thinking the sticker if it is still on it will be unreadable! ??? ::)
 In any case they are older ones 8 or more years old ::) ;)

Update:
Ok I found one! Opened it up and found round sticker with "01139" printed on it ;)
Tried both options for programing and only the directions that come with the manual work!
« Last Edit: October 08, 2006, 09:59:59 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2006, 09:46:35 PM »

I don't own one.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2006, 09:49:38 PM »

I don't own one.

So, uh, what, uh, was the purpose of replying?  ???  ::)
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

marineau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 162
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2006, 09:50:59 PM »

I use a new method, and inside, it's write this code: p10898a on white label !
Logged

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2006, 07:13:27 AM »

Mine programed with the supplied instructions.

Date code is 05K47
« Last Edit: October 09, 2006, 11:38:22 AM by JimC »
Logged
_ _ ... ..._ _

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 245
  • Posts: 7984
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2006, 08:53:03 AM »

JimC & KDR  You have to open up the flob, white round sticker is inside on the back plate!
At least with my ancient one it was! ;) :D
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2006, 11:29:21 AM »

I have 3 that program as per the manual.
Only difference is when you first press the button, the LED blinks multiple times for 1 sec as opposed to blinking once.

Date Codes:

2 of 05H32

1 of 05K47
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1428
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2006, 02:32:42 AM »

Mine (sticker code 00135) follows the option 1 instructions.
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 794
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2006, 05:59:41 AM »

Mine programs just like all the other RF units I have (per instructions). Mine were purchased about 4 months ago.

The date code on mine reads 05K47

[TTA Edit: Combined multiple posts in one.]
« Last Edit: October 15, 2006, 10:03:45 AM by TakeTheActive »
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

delibaker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 76
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2006, 07:13:31 PM »

Mine works with option 1, date code 01f26
Logged

DowNet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 40
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2006, 09:45:32 PM »

Well I have one of the newer units and one of the older units.  The older unit has a date code (on the little white sticker) of 05K47.  The programing of this unit was farily easy and straight forward however during use, if you hold the on or off button for too long, it will go back into "programing" mode.  Not too good.  My newer version code is as follows: 06D14.  This unit, once programmed, works perfectly and has the nice touch of NOT going accidently into "programming mode."  However to program the unit is almost impossible until you do some research.  The instructions that came with this unit are completely useless and do NOT work at all.  I want to stress that.  The followig works perfectly in programing this "2nd version" of this remote:

Press and Hold the top ON and OFF buttons together. The Red led will come ON and go OFF for approximately 2 seconds then come back ON, release both the ON and OFF buttons. The Red led will remain ON.

Now press the Top ON button the number of times corresponding to the House Code you want, ie: once for Code A, twice for Code B, three times for Code C, etc. The Red led will blink off on each push of the ON button. When you have entered the correct number of ON button pushes to represent your required House Code, immediatly go to Push the OFF button in the same row to the corresponding amount of times to set the unit code (once for 1, twice for 2, etc.) After you are done and threw with this, press the OFF button on the 2nd row.  This will take the unit out of "programming mode" and be ready for use.

In essense you are programming the unit and house code at the same time.

Hope this helps.

My vote is for the newer version...even though it was harder to program, once done it works like a champ to no accidental program intrusion.


[TTA Edit: Moved to the appropriate forum.]
« Last Edit: October 18, 2006, 01:24:31 AM by TakeTheActive »
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/10]
« Reply #12 on: November 06, 2006, 11:15:09 PM »

I don't own one.

My bad.   I do own one (it was a freebie from X10 USA when I bought some other stuff from them)  but it doesn't like my RR501 or the CM15A. It will turn off and on A2, but not A1, regardless of how many times I push the button, or hold the KR19 an inch away from either the 501 or the CM15A.  Since I paid $0 for it, there's no money lost. I've changed the battery in it, but signal strenght seems to be hit or miss, mostly miss.

Any ideas?
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Marean

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/18]
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2006, 10:23:12 PM »

I have the newer KR19A and the newer programming procedure does not work as written.  When i tried to do the unit programming, the house code went back to A no matter where it had been programmed.  I found that by staying in the progamming after setting the house code with the ON button and using the OFF button to set the unit code and then coming out of the programing mode worked. 

This makes sense when one thinks about it.  If the unit did not go back to A1 and A2 every time you went into program mode, how would one know where he is starting from?

Richard
Logged

gtsguy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 10
Re: KR19A Slimfire Remote Programming Discrepancies... [Updated: 2006/10/18]
« Reply #14 on: November 23, 2006, 01:00:41 AM »

Holy cow!  I had the same problem as you, Marean

I could not get my second SlimFire remote to program as my other one with the revised instructions.  So what we did is when we set the house code with the top ON button, we did not push the bottom OFF button yet.  Instead we programmed the unit code with the top OFF button, THEN we hit the bottom OFF button.  This worked for me. 

Looks like we have a THIRD WAY of programing these things.  My date code is p10898a, btw.


[TTA Edit: Highlighted *NEW* information.]
« Last Edit: November 23, 2006, 01:59:51 AM by TakeTheActive »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.