Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Problem with MyHouse and Email  (Read 44063 times)

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Problem with MyHouse and Email
« on: October 19, 2006, 05:45:04 PM »

Still trying to sort this out but when MyHouse is connected I can't send Email's and when disconnected Email's work fine. Anyone out there that could test this with their system to see if it acts the same?
« Last Edit: October 19, 2006, 07:57:00 PM by KDR »
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9394
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2006, 05:57:13 PM »

Which method are you trying SMTP or x10Gateway? ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2006, 06:00:15 PM »

I'm using SMTP. I was going to try the gateway next to see what happened.
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9394
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2006, 06:05:04 PM »

well I've tested and all 3 options don't work! Now I think you have the security plug-in as well don't you?
Maybe we need to see if it works on someones setup that doesn't have OnAlert, as we know the e-mail thingy with it is flawed! ;)
update: my test was flawed I was testing with a condition that wasn't met!
it seems to work using SMTP
« Last Edit: October 19, 2006, 06:15:26 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2006, 06:15:13 PM »

No OnAlert.... email works (all 3 modes) with MyHouse Online connected.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9394
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2006, 06:24:30 PM »

Well that one using On Alert and one not using it. Both of us can send e-mail
Any one else having problems sending? ???
« Last Edit: October 19, 2006, 06:47:57 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2006, 07:25:44 PM »

OK thanks... Let me recheck some settings and see what I might have config wrong. I have 3 email accounts and 2 of them won't accept email from MyHouse and one will so thats the one I use right now. I get an error message back about a LF or something like that. I will setup that account again and write down the exact error. It has something to do with my ISP at those 2 accounts.

The other account that I do get the email from shows that the email was sent from the address I have setup in MyHouse email config sometimes and from the X10gateway other times. Kinda happens at random. I would have thought that with SMTP checked that all email would come from my address.
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9394
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2006, 07:38:36 PM »

The other account that I do get the email from shows that the email was sent from the address I have setup in MyHouse email config sometimes and from the X10gateway other times. Kinda happens at random. I would have thought that with SMTP checked that all email would come from my address.
I've noticed this as well!
Maybe Puck can comment as to if this happens with his e-mail!
I posted this bug but your the first to state you have seen it too!  ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2006, 07:49:37 PM »

Well maybe once their Vista project is over with X10 will jump into correcting bugs, bugs and more bugs. I understand that there may be another plug-in coming out that may take priority. If they keep adding new it will take forever to correct all the problems. Though I suspect X10 can see the big picture and we only see parts of it.

What MyHouse needs is an interface to allow the end user the ability to use there own mail client to send emails if they want to rather then the one that comes with MyHouse. I see their looking into allowing end users the ability to use there own server for connecting rather then theirs. This would be a smart move on their part and less maintenance for them as well.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2006, 07:56:33 PM by KDR »
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2006, 07:57:27 PM »

Maybe Puck can comment as to if this happens with his e-mail!

Just did 6 tests, 3 modes with & without MyHouse active, and all 6 email were received with my email address as entered in the configuration.
Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2006, 08:01:24 PM »

Maybe Puck can comment as to if this happens with his e-mail!

Just did 6 tests, 3 modes with & without MyHouse active, and all 6 email were received with my email address as entered in the configuration.


When you say 3 with MyHouse active... do you mean connected to their server?
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9394
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2006, 08:03:03 PM »

Humm ::) I haven't heard of another plug-in in the works! but we did give them lots of ideas when X10 ;) :D ;D asked for them!

Just did 6 tests, 3 modes with & without MyHouse active, and all 6 email were received with my email address as entered in the configuration.

Ok thanks that seems to confirm that the e-mail bug is ON Alert related! I was sure it worked the way I had it configured before the ON Alert plug-in was added! ;) :) :D
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #12 on: October 19, 2006, 08:03:56 PM »

When you say 3 with MyHouse active... do you mean connected to their server?

Yes.... 3 connected to server & 3 disconnected.
Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2006, 08:08:57 PM »

Yeah I have the OnAlert plug-in. I have iWitness also but never loaded it because I have no need for it yet. Although since I have it I will add it soon.

Tuicemen,  You have all the plug-ins loaded not don't you? (Wonders what new adventures await me when I load it?)
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9394
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Problem with MyHouse and Email
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2006, 08:29:31 PM »

Yes I have all plug-ins installed!
I use most of them daily except My House Online(in server mode)! most of the problems you'll encounter you'll be able to work arround!
;) :D :)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.