Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: My House WORKS. Period.  (Read 32238 times)

tjdavj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 103
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2006, 07:25:59 PM »

X911,
Actually, I think you are missing a connection attempt.  According to the log you posted, the first X10 connection is to 63.211.210.21:80 [ftp.X10.com]

2006-11-13 18:22:05 OPEN UDP 172.16.1.33 172.16.0.1 1035 53 - - - - - - - - -  DNS resolution request, returns 63.211.210.21
2006-11-13 18:22:06 OPEN TCP 172.16.1.33 63.211.210.21 1042 80 - - - - - - - - - establish TCP connection to 3.211.210.21 on port 80
2006-11-13 18:22:07 CLOSE TCP 172.16.1.33 63.211.210.21 1042 80 - - - - - - - - -close connection.

My AHP has already been successfully registered with X10, so when I connect to My House this is what my log looks like:

2006-11-14 14:00:02 OPEN UDP 192.168.0.5 64.5.1.129 1036 53 - - - - - - - - - DNS request
2006-11-14 14:00:02 OPEN TCP 192.168.0.5 63.211.210.98 3443 443 - - - - - - - - -
2006-11-14 14:00:03 CLOSE TCP 192.168.0.5 63.211.210.98 3443 443 - - - - - - - - -
2006-11-14 14:00:04 OPEN TCP 192.168.0.5 63.211.210.99 3445 443 - - - - - - - - -
2006-11-14 14:00:05 DROP UDP 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.255 54193 61112 120 - - - - - - - RECEIVE
2006-11-14 14:00:11 DROP UDP 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.255 54195 61112 120 - - - - - - - RECEIVE
2006-11-14 14:00:13 DROP UDP 192.168.0.5 255.255.255.255 68 67 328 - - - - - - - RECEIVE
2006-11-14 14:00:17 DROP UDP 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.255 54197 61112 120 - - - - - - - RECEIVE
2006-11-14 14:00:18 DROP UDP 192.168.0.5 255.255.255.255 68 67 328 - - - - - - - RECEIVE

You will notice that there is NO connection attempt to 63.211.210.21

As I said earlier, I would like to see if others experiencing problems with registering show this same behavior accessing 63.211.210.21.


Logged

X911

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #16 on: November 14, 2006, 07:45:18 PM »

tjdavj,
I am lost!  Your AHP did not make any connections usingport 80 at all ?
Perhap you have to restart your computer, start AHP and log the message.
Maybe It only connects to 63.211.210.21 the first time it run only ?
Thanks,
Logged

glt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 104
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #17 on: November 14, 2006, 08:03:45 PM »

OK - this is a clean restart. AHP loaded but myHouse not started.

Turned on logging. Connected to MyHouse, AHP -"waiting for remote user".

Logging off.

This is it:

Version: 1.5
#Software: Microsoft Windows Firewall
#Time Format: Local
#Fields: date time action protocol src-ip dst-ip src-port dst-port size tcpflags tcpsyn tcpack tcpwin icmptype icmpcode info path

2006-11-14 19:53:05 OPEN UDP 192.168.1.2 192.168.1.1 1033 53 - - - - - - - - -
2006-11-14 19:53:06 OPEN TCP 192.168.1.2 63.211.210.99 1071 443 - - - - - - - - -
2006-11-14 19:53:15 OPEN UDP 192.168.1.2 192.168.1.3 137 137 - - - - - - - - -
2006-11-14 19:53:17 OPEN TCP 192.168.1.2 192.168.1.3 1072 139 - - - - - - - - -

GLT


Edit: Looks to me we go to the same place (X-10's Vanguard Surveillance system) but I get to logon because I am SO much better looking than ya'll (or at least my reg number is) ;D.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2006, 08:33:29 PM by glt »
Logged

tjdavj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 103
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2006, 09:14:49 PM »

X911,

I think we can eliminate the requests to 63.211.210.21 and 22.  I'm pretty sure these are "Check for Update" requests by AHP, when you first run it. In fact, if you do a manual "Check for Update", you will see the same TCP request.

tracert is a CLI command that "traces to route" to the IP you specify.
To run this, go to Start>Run, type: cmd and click on OK. this opens a command line window.
At the prompt, type: tracert 63.211.210.21
This will now list all the gateways (internet segments) that your request is traveling on.
The important figures here are times longer than 250ms and total # of hops. (20 or more could be a problem)

Also, from what I can tell, My House requests a connection from either 63.211.210.98 or 63.211.210.99, via port 443, which is an SSL (secure socket layer) connection. For whatever reason, this request is being refused by the MyHouse servers.
Logged

rhunt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #19 on: November 14, 2006, 11:37:15 PM »

I will get the capture you are asking for tommorow (i'm failing also)..

For now I did run tracert on the 3 ip's you mentioned and all mine were 13 hops with the last few to x10 all around 76 ms.  It didnt seem to have any hangups and I repeated the test 3 times.

More tommorow.
Logged

rhunt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #20 on: November 14, 2006, 11:43:49 PM »

oh..  How would be the best way to capture this data on XP Home?  I figure the Pro directions earlier will not work.

Logged

X911

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #21 on: November 15, 2006, 12:59:59 AM »

tjdavj,
Thanks for the tracert explanation.  Here is the worst time for each ip:
63.211.210.21
11  45ms  46ms  46ms  ....
total 14 hops
63.211.210.99
9   177ms 210ms 206ms ....
total 14 hops
63.211.210.98
11 128ms 100ms 47ms ...
total 14 hops
I see three timing numbers per line, which number do I use to compare with the limit 250ms you mentioned above?
thanks,
Logged

X911

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #22 on: November 15, 2006, 01:32:55 AM »

Hello all,
Very very suprise that Myhouse Online is working now on my computer!
I DID NOT do anything.  It just works now.
I think X10 FIXED it on their end.  Please try your AHP again.
My Myhouse Online loggin successfully on the first try (first time for me).
Hey GLT this make you NOT so much better looking than any one any more!!!
Thanks for all your help.  Hope it works out for all of you now.
Logged

glt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 104
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #23 on: November 15, 2006, 08:10:45 AM »


Hey GLT this make you NOT so much better looking than any one any more!!!


Well, that explains the new fat guy in the captures from my X-10 cams.

My old reg number now works, so I guess x-10 fixed it.  I started another thread so the fix is more visable and people can post their success there.

GLT
Logged

tjdavj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 103
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #24 on: November 15, 2006, 12:02:23 PM »

Well, it looks like this thread is finished.. Glad to see that it was an X10 issue and NOT some esoteric network issue. Must have been a problem with X10's registration server.

Also, did anyone capture the successful registration in their firewall log? It would be interesting to compare with the failure log.

X911,
Quote
I see three timing numbers per line, which number do I use to compare with the limit 250ms you mentioned above?

FYI, as far as the tracert times, you are just looking for anything over 250ms. I should have also noted that you want to run these tests when there is no other network traffic going on. ie: don't run this test while you are downloading!

rhunt,
Quote
oh..  How would be the best way to capture this data on XP Home?  I figure the Pro directions earlier will not work.

The tracert command works the same in both XP Home and Pro. There is NO easy way to capture the results, you just have to cut & paste from the CLI.

Enjoy..
Logged

rhunt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #25 on: November 15, 2006, 12:43:23 PM »

small side note..  I am working now of course.. like everyone else, but being the type that can't just drop things...

I shut off port forwarding for this PC's IP and recreated the exact error I was getting before.  Not sure what it means, but found it interesting.

Enjoy MyHouse!!  I sure hope it was worth all our time lol.
Logged

clunker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: -1
  • Posts: 13
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #26 on: November 15, 2006, 01:46:38 PM »

Try again - they just fixed something and now mine works.  :)
Logged

tjdavj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 103
Re: My House WORKS. Period.
« Reply #27 on: November 15, 2006, 02:29:02 PM »

rhunt,

Quote
I shut off port forwarding for this PC's IP and recreated the exact error I was getting before.  Not sure what it means, but found it interesting.

Is your pc in a DMZ, or is it NAT'ed thru your router to a private IP address?

Can you find out which port AHP/MyHouse is using by looking at the firewall log?

Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.