Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: A quick Question  (Read 10443 times)

Jim 31452

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
A quick Question
« on: January 06, 2007, 12:09:14 PM »

I am using Active Home Pro on my PC with Wall Switches (WS12A's) as well as lamp modules (LM465's)
and all is well.

I would like to save some money on my elect bill and am wondering if, rather than 60 watt bulbs, can I use those 'sprial' type screw in bulbs that save energy. (Fluorescent I believe)

I have a feeling the answer is NO, but thought Id check with the wizards first!

Thanks in advance - Jim  :)
Logged

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: A quick Question
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2007, 12:30:25 PM »

Jim: If you do a search on CFL (Compact Fluorescent Lights) you will see lots on this topic. But the bottom line is, they generally require an Appliance type module / switch. I once tried them with a WS12A... not a pretty sight or sound.
Logged

Jim 31452

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: A quick Question
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2007, 12:52:58 PM »

CFL... I'll give that a shot and thanks for the warning on the WS12A!
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: A quick Question
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2007, 01:19:59 PM »

If you look at relay type wall switches. One more point. Since the switch does not steal power through the light bulb. The wall switch box has to have a Neutral wire in it. Some older homes; mine included; do not have a neutral wire along with the line and load.
Logged

nklght

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 126
Re: A quick Question
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2007, 12:02:09 AM »

CFL's can be used with X-10 aplliance modules/ switches, but it is not recommended.  The CFL's tend to introduce line noise which overpower the X-10 signal.  Some users have found CFL's which do not interfere with signal. (You will have to search the posts).  Personally, I have had good luck using CFL's with the socket rockets. 
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: A quick Question
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2007, 06:52:35 AM »

I also have used Socket Rockets and CFLs. After about maybe 6 months use. The socket rocket and Any CFL brand started making lots of powerline noises.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: A quick Question
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2007, 08:09:42 AM »

I've had CFLs in Socket Rockets for a year now with no noise problems.   I've been looking for non-dimming CFLs for non-Socket Rocket modules, but haven't found any locally.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.