Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Where is the basic "start guide"?  (Read 4224 times)

King5555

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Where is the basic "start guide"?
« on: January 12, 2007, 04:24:56 PM »

Hello-

I'm brand new to X10.  I have decent computer skills (built my pc, modded my xbox) but I have recently started to look into home automation.  Of course I want to do everything in the world and spend as little as possible.  I have been reading tons of websites and checking out different options (RFID, Lutron, etc) and it looks like X10 might be the way to go for me.  I was trying to confirm a few things before I invest at all but after hours of reading and searching in forums, I couldn't find exactly the straightforward answers I need.  Forgive me if these have all been asked before, but searching forums and google for things like "home wiring" either gives millions of results or none at all.  No offense to anyone involved, but the main X10 website seems awful at providing any information and makes me feel like everything they offer is just a gimmick with all the popups, flashing and multi-colors.  So, here are my questions:

1. Is there some sort of Base X10 unit that sets up the standard in your house?  Or is the standard built into each component such as a lamp module and a remote?  I was looking at the basic starting package and it didn't seem to include anything like that.