Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: CM15a - DS10 workaround for visualbasic et al  (Read 10255 times)

vbdeveloper

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 3
CM15a - DS10 workaround for visualbasic et al
« on: January 12, 2007, 08:22:43 PM »

I wonder if anybody has a workaround(until x10 updates their sdk) for reading the ds10 security switches from the cm15 in visualbasic or any other programming language.  Web searches have turned up empty and no mention in the forums.  Am I the only one interested in this?  If there are interested parties then I do have a working solution ... anyone interested?
Logged
All work and zzzzzzzzz!

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: CM15a - DS10 workaround for visualbasic et al
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2007, 09:38:42 PM »

I'm sure that almost all of us who have taken the time to explore the SDK would be very interested.   ;D

Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

vbdeveloper

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 3
Re: CM15a - DS10 workaround for visualbasic et al
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2007, 02:16:21 AM »

The best way that I have found to handle communications between the ds10 and cm15 at this time is to utilize AHP as a pseudo-daemon to handle RF communications between the two entities. Luckily, the DS10's are read-only devices so RF writes are not necessary.  The cool thing about this method is that this will still work when the SDK is updated.  Code Rewrites will be kept to a minimum.
To do this workaround you need AHP with the onalert and smartmacro addins.

1) install a new DS10 in AHP.
2) create a macro that sends an extended code when the DS10 is triggered.  This effectively converts the RF communication to PLC
    ie: device address = P1, command byte = 0x01, data byte = 0x00   (use your imagination here - lots of possibilities)             
3) with AHP running ... Test for this new event in your program.  Just compile and run the VB program supplied with the SDK to see this work.
Install as many DS10's as you like just change the command byte for a different value for each one.

Hope this helps the rest of the developers out there who have been struggling with this problem.
Logged
All work and zzzzzzzzz!

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: CM15a - DS10 workaround for visualbasic et al
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2007, 10:46:26 AM »

That is a good idea vbdeveloper.  Just make sure that extended command you use doesn't conflict with any of the previously allocated extended commands as defined in Standard and Extended X10 Code Protocol.
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: CM15a - DS10 workaround for visualbasic et al
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2007, 03:46:35 PM »

vbdeveloper,

Good idea!  I like!

(see I told you people would be interested!)  ;)


roger1818,

Good catch!  Extended commands cause enough headaches without name conflicts!

A "helpful" to you both!   ;D

Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.