Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem  (Read 9439 times)

uptownvideo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« on: January 19, 2007, 07:56:31 AM »

I have the Radio Shack Plug n Power Alarm 49-1000 system and it usually works okay.  One of the window/door sensors does not work correctly.  When I open my door the alarm console knows that it is open, but when I shut the door it does not send the signal that the door has closed.  This is very annoying, becasue this is the door that I usually leave my house when I arm the system.  The door is a fiberglass not metal.  The console is about 20 feet from the problem door sensor.  I don't know if the console is bad or the sensor.  Any help would be great.

Thanks,

Scott
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2007, 12:10:21 PM »

Double check the batteries are good.
Where you able to mount the magnet close to the sensor body. Sounds like the magnet may not always trip the switch inside the sensor back on.
Logged

uptownvideo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2007, 01:16:17 PM »

I moved the magnet as close as I could to the sensor/transmitter and it still occasionaly soes not send the signal that thee door is closed to the console.  Could the fiberglass door be causing some sort of interference?

Scott
Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2007, 07:35:04 PM »

I have a few of these sensors and they are more critical then the X10 model. If you look close at the body of the main sensor there is an arrow at the bottom just to the left of the words Radio Shack. The magnet has an arrow at one end of it. If the arrows don't lineup right on... the magnet won't trigger the sensor or it will be hit and miss. Double check that and let us know.

----------------KDR
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2007, 07:48:26 PM »

KDR; OH yes. Since the magnetic switch is mounted on the PC Board it has a correct position arrow. Nice catch. :)
Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2007, 05:33:39 AM »

Another thing I just thought of... make sure your cover is on the unit when you set it up. There is a tamper switch built into the unit that will trigger the sensor when the cover is removed.

----------------KDR
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

uptownvideo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2007, 01:05:11 PM »

I tried everything that was suggested.  The sensor that is giving me problems is on front door.  Right next to the front door is a leviton x-10 light switch which controls a compact florescent bulb.  Do you think that compact florescent bulb can be causing rf interference?

Thank you.
Logged

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2007, 09:16:11 PM »

I tried everything that was suggested.  The sensor that is giving me problems is on front door.  Right next to the front door is a leviton x-10 light switch which controls a compact florescent bulb.  Do you think that compact florescent bulb can be causing rf interference?

Thank you.

Nope

Tom j
Logged

david3336

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 20
Re: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2007, 09:40:55 PM »

I have had this problem and i just added a piece of wire to the ant. about 6 inches long and fixed the problem
Logged

uptownvideo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: Radio Shack Plug N Power Problem
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2007, 02:18:28 PM »

You are talking about the antenna inside the control panel, right?
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.