Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: DS7000 - No code for (dis)aming?  (Read 16514 times)

Analoguesque

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
DS7000 - No code for (dis)aming?
« on: January 20, 2007, 08:00:59 PM »

All,

I previously had ADT security and decided to get rid of it - I just received my DS7000 today. I have a quick question that I'm sure more experienced users will know ...

Am I correct in assuming that the DS7000 does not require a code to arm or disarm it?  I can't find anything on this in the manual and it seems strange that this would be the case.

Couldn't a thief simply locate the unit or remote and turn it off if they know anything about X10. I mean the "protected by X10" signs outside would make this pretty easy?  ???
« Last Edit: January 20, 2007, 09:12:43 PM by Analoguesque »
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6856
Re: DS7000 - No code for (dis)aming?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2007, 12:57:03 AM »

The remotes must be "registered" with the DS7000 before they can arm or disarm the system.

All security systems can be defeated even bank vaults get robbed. Hammers work well as a universal disarming device. Very high-end units have cell phone dialers - because some theifs cut the phone lines before entry.

Continuing to use your old ADT signs might not be a bad idea.

« Last Edit: January 21, 2007, 01:20:41 AM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Analoguesque

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: DS7000 - No code for (dis)aming?
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2007, 04:49:40 PM »

Don't get me wrong - I'm happy with the purchase and glad to get rid of the "$100-to-have-a-technician-come-out-and-disable-the-$200-broken-infra-red" system  ;) ... I just thought "wow, all you do is press 'disarm' and it turns off?".

I do plan to leave the ADT signs out there. It's sure to fool someone who has knowledge of the ADT systems and tries to break in ;D.

Now I need another 3 window switches. Damn, that's gonna cst more than half of what paid for the full system with 8 switches. :)
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6856
Re: DS7000 - No code for (dis)aming?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2007, 04:54:08 PM »

If your not in a big hurry....X10 offten has sales that are 5 for 1 (price) and such.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Analoguesque

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: DS7000 - No code for (dis)aming?
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2007, 05:40:34 PM »

Cool, I'll keep a watch for the specials.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6856
Re: DS7000 - No code for (dis)aming?
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2007, 08:34:55 PM »

Another idea is use one window sensor to cover two or three windows by purchasing additional reed switches and wiring them together in a string.

Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.