Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: How to test...CM15A...  (Read 5281 times)

ChiTriGuy

• Helpful Post Rating: 1
How to test...CM15A...
« on: November 03, 2008, 12:49:11 PM »

Hi Everyone -

I have been using X10 for a couple of years now on a Win98 box with varying ranges of success.  I'm pretty technical so I have been able to make do with a lot of trial and error and you helpful folks on Forums and the Internet (sorry X10 but your support has been less than helpful).  Regardless, I'm not here to bash anyone, I just need to get up and running again.

My Win98 box just died.  I have reinstalled everything to my Win2003 Server and it sees all the X10 hardware as installed.  I reinstalled AHP and this sees the CM15A and I am able to upload timers, etc.  If I go into the software and turn on an appliance module A1, nothing happens (the light doesn't turn on), nothing, nada.  I have called X10 and the technician had no answer, "I'm stumped.  It sounds like everything should be working right."  The activity monitor shows that the request is being sent out but nothing.  Is there an external way that I can view over the wire that the CM15A is, in fact, sending out the signal (kind of like a network sniffer)?  Basically, I am trying to find out whether there is a software problem or a hardware problem.  This isn't an RF problem so I'm a little at a loss as to how to troubleshoot this.  Could the windows firewall or virus protection be blowing something up?

Thanks much for any helpful suggestions.

Puck

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
Re: How to test...CM15A...
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2008, 01:36:30 PM »

Is the Win2003 PC & the CM15A plugged into the same locations as your previous setup?

If so, is your PC plugged into an X10 filter? If not, my first suspicion is the electrical noise from the Win2003 PC.