Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: My new ICON Remote, Review  (Read 24762 times)

cactusjack

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 5
  • Cactus Jack
My new ICON Remote, Review
« on: April 01, 2007, 01:02:34 AM »

I posted this same comment in another forum and then found this is a better forum for the post.

I received my ICON Remote IR10A yesterday afternoon. I have it mostly programed for my needs now. Everthing worked as advertised, they thought of most everything. I used all of the functions in setting it up. The only one a bit tricky is the learn. I had to place 2 of my 3 teaching remotes right against the bottom of the IR10A and then it worked pretty well. My intention was to program the device so I could leave it on SAT for all but rare operations.

My wish list of things not implemented (at least I couldn't find) is a way to edit the text for the learned keys without reprogramming. Second, I would like a key to go directly to the learned functions without going through "select device" since it's already selected.

Also, I could have used a way to move and copy ICONs between groups without setting them up again. Selecting ICONs for your Favorites is a tedious job. There are about 324 (36x9) ICONs to choose from and some are very tiny and hard or impossible to read the small text. And of course, not all I needed were listed (for example Showtime HD, I used the generic ICON with a number tag). The optional number tag is a nice touch.

One other minor thing, I didn't find a way to delete a learned side key. And what do you do if you program a fixed key in error and need to return to the original code. Dig out the associated remote and reteach the Icon Remote. There are't too many expendable fixed keys in my setup.

I used one macro to step through TV Input choices using 4 second delay, this again for a surveillance camera. Worked like a charm.

Besides the ICON selection method, I wanted a way to toggle my PIP (surveillance camera) faster and directly from the remote in my hand. I set it up as a learned key but also found a better choice using the (-) hard key which I don't need.

I have had many (cheap) Universal Remotes but this is the first one I will probably actually use. The ability to learn the side keys or the main keys and the convenient Punch Through function pretty much meets all my needs. Even the placement of the jump back and jump forward (Tivo) keys are easier to get to than on the original Tivo remotes. The key layout is pretty well thought out and I find intuitive.

Once it did hang up on me after a learning attempt but I reset by removing a cell for a few seconds. Thank Heaven the programming memory is non-volatile otherwise changing cells would kill anyone because of reprogramming. Anyway at today's flash memory prices, it's mandatory in something so complicated.

That's all I can think of. Basically pretty well thought out except for X10 RF transmission which would be nice. Probably the OEM couldn't be persuaded to include it (yet?).    :)

P.S. Tivo Tip: Use the macro function to send the 30 sec. advance Easter Egg (Sel,Play,Sel,3,0,Sel). I used a one second delay between the keys.

Followup May 6, 2007: My batteries lasted exactly one month. Extensive programming must have served to wear them down prematurely. I have reduced the lighted display time to avoid wasting the cells. The remote started operating erratically and I noticed the display lost some contrast. Otherwise, I don't know if there is any other warning. Wasn't immediately obvious the battery was failing.

I still think this is the best universal I have ever tried. All my other remotes are put away. I found the device codes obtained from the Wizard setup were a bit off for some functions but the learning function allowed easy correction. I am hoping the USB port under the battery cover is revealed to be helpful in program updates, icon additions, setting storage etc. That would be the icing on the cake!
« Last Edit: May 06, 2007, 04:25:01 PM by cactusjack »
Logged
Cactus Jack

nswint

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 49
    • Shiksa
Re: My new ICON Remote, Review
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2007, 01:53:11 PM »

Your tip works for comcast motorola dvrs too with the 30 second skip granted that you've programmed your remote with an unused key for 30 second skip

Add 30-Second Skip

The following technique can be used to map an unused or unneeded button on the "silver" remote to the 30-second skip command. Current versions of the i-Guide software will skip forward 30 seconds into a recording when this command is sent. A good choice is the 'A / Lock' button since many users don't need that function; you can feel both the '15-second-back' and '30-second-skip' buttons with one finger and move between them without looking. Another option is to reprogram the '15-second back' button, since PgDn already provides that functionality.

   1. Press the "Cable" button at the top of the remote to put it into Cable Box control mode.
   2. Press and hold the "Setup" button until the "Cable" button blinks twice.
   3. Type in the code 994. The "Cable" button will blink twice.
   4. Press (do not hold) the "Setup" button.
   5. Type in the code 00173.
   6. Press whatever button you want to map the 30-second skip command to (ex: A / Lock). The "Cable" button will blink twice if successful.

Note: This does not work on boxes with the Microsoft TV Foundation Interface (currently Washington State). As of firmware version 12.22 Insight Cable has disabled this feature. Comcast software Version 73.44 disabled this feature, but the latest software, Version 74.53-3321, re-enables it (this has been confirmed on the 3416 w/ 16.20 firmware). See software for more info.
Logged

JMac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 502
Re: My new ICON Remote, Review
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2008, 12:43:10 PM »

Is there any way to change the name of the Devices in this remote?  I don't have the "Label" in my list of device names (that can be renamed).
Logged

N4ST

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: My new ICON Remote, Review
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2008, 09:14:09 PM »

Is there any way to change the name of the Devices in this remote?  I don't have the "Label" in my list of device names (that can be renamed).
Yes, you can rename the devices (but, I don't remember how  :().  I have three different DVRs and an FTA satellite receiver and gave them distinctive names.
Logged

N4ST

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: My new ICON Remote, Review
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2008, 09:21:17 PM »

I have been very happy with my Icon Remote.  It's nice being able to do EVERYTHING from one remote, even if it does take a few button pushes.  The only problem I have had, is I have a couple of "learned" keys that work for a while and then have to be "re-learned".  I don't know why, but they stop working after a while.  One thing that was driving me nuts when I first got mine and was trying to set it up, was the compact fluorescent bulbs in an adjacent room were interfering with the functioning of some of my equipment (not the Icon Remote's fault).  I had to turn them off.  The other thing that messed me up was stacking all of the unused remotes in a pile and some of the buttons were inadvertently held down and constantly transmitting.  ;D
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.