Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Please allow access from Work (port 80?)  (Read 18284 times)

Ant

  • Guest
Please allow access from Work (port 80?)
« on: February 09, 2006, 10:42:34 AM »

X10 Pro,

Are you going to change the ports MyHouse
works on so we can get access at work
through company firewalls?

Generally, companies allow web browsing on
Port 80 I believe, but 99% block the ports
used by X10.

This is an absolute must for this software
to be successful.  I get alarms from the
remote location and have to wait until I
get home to check the place out by video.

Thanks,

Ant
Logged

Drews

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 45
Re: Please allow access from Work (port 80?)
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2007, 02:41:42 PM »

This must be the problem I'm having.
Logged

MichaelC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 36
  • Posts: 151
Re: Please allow access from Work (port 80?)
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2007, 07:19:04 PM »

Drew, from your PM and other posts, I believe it is the problem you're having. Vanguard uses port 8080 (possibly 8001, I can't remember for sure) for communication, which may be blocked at your office. We actually made a change to MyHouse Online in version 3.203 to use port 80. We didn't make the same change to Vanguard before I left X10, and I don't think it's been done since.

There are some special proxy configurations that may block MyHouse Online and Vanguard no matter what port is in use, but they're pretty rare as I understand it.
Logged

Drews

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 45
Re: Please allow access from Work (port 80?)
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2007, 07:48:36 PM »

Drew, from your PM and other posts, I believe it is the problem you're having. Vanguard uses port 8080 (possibly 8001, I can't remember for sure) for communication, which may be blocked at your office. We actually made a change to MyHouse Online in version 3.203 to use port 80. We didn't make the same change to Vanguard before I left X10, and I don't think it's been done since.

There are some special proxy configurations that may block MyHouse Online and Vanguard no matter what port is in use, but they're pretty rare as I understand it.

Thanks.

Would using a IP redirect site like www.no-ip.com help?
Logged

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 781
Re: Please allow access from Work (port 80?)
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2007, 07:18:06 AM »

Would using a IP redirect site like www.no-ip.com help?

Over in MyHouse Online & port 80 blocking, SeeImRed reports he tried to get www.no-ip.com to work, but couldn't.
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.