Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [2 of 5]  (Read 21125 times)

tony

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 72
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [2 of 5]
« on: April 08, 2005, 03:25:00 PM »

X10 Pro:  How about a Super CM15A kit that <BR>provides: <BR>1.External antenna with greater range <BR>like the V572AB. <BR>2.A Ethernet Port (RJ45) supporting <BR>TCP/IP and DHCP <BR>3.Ethernet and /or RF communication <BR>between AHP and CM15Ax instead of USB. <BR>4.AHP support for Network cameras <BR>(TCP/IP) and terminals. <BR>5.Add Diagnostic Mode with signal <BR>strength field and a detected X10 PLC error <BR>diagnostic field in the Activity monitor. <BR>6.Make selectable the size  of the log <BR>buffer for the Activity Monitor and wether <BR>it stops or wraps as selectable. <BR>

We're starting work on our next plug-in, <BR>which will put control of ActiveHome Pro <BR>(including cameras and video, if you have <BR>iWitness) on the Internet. We have a number <BR>of features in mind, but are looking for more <BR>ideas from our users. <BR> <BR>What kinds of features would you expect or <BR>like to see in an Internet plug-in for <BR>ActiveHome Pro?


Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?

Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [3 of 5]

Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [4 of 5]

Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [5 of 5]


[TTA Edit: Experiment to determine whether or not SPLITTING 'Highly-Viewed' / 'Highly-Replied' but currently INACTIVE threads from LONG, LONG AGO (I'm starting with ~2 years) into parts will allow current ACTIVE threads to appear in the Top 10 Topics (by Replies) section of the Statistics Center (aka More Stats) Page.

NOTE: I *WILL* address the <BR> problem...]
« Last Edit: April 19, 2007, 04:55:12 PM by TakeTheActive »
Logged

h j flynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2005, 03:26:18 PM »

Cont, post to large to submit

Currently my CM15A is working pretty well
except with remote and sensor ranges, I
have noticed range change with different
levels of software updates and I dont
understand why I would of though this was
hardware related. Example I think at 3.179
my sensor work fine but ranged dropped with
3.180 but with 3.183 it seems to be back,
but by 3.183 by wall switches and stick a
swithes don't seem to have the same ranged,
and I do have the diagnois unit running XP
sp2 and AHP is alwas connect to PC.  
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9423
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2005, 03:39:27 PM »

The scenario I see in wanting  to create new
macros/timers remotely? wouldn't be used
often but if you had different levels of
access then only the owner could do this. If
on vacation and needed to edit something to
perform a new task you didn't think of
before you left. Or your going to be late
getting home from work and want to change a
marco that fires normally just before you
get home. No use something running before it
is needed.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2005, 03:44:13 PM »

Limiting which cameras can be controlled by
which users is a great idea, and it goes
hand-in-hand with different levels of users
access that you can assign.

Tony: Those are all good ideas, but since
we're talking about software development for
now, ony our #6 is really doable (#4 might
be, but I don't see us supporting cameras
that aren't made by X10 at this point). I
think that we have a registry setting we can
use for setting the size of the Activity Log,
so it shouldn't be too much work to make it
an option in Preferences.

Another general question: Is there anything
new a macro should be able to do with the
Internet plug-in? Several of you have already
mentioned e-mail, which is part of the design
plan, but anything else?
Logged

carmine pacifico

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 194
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2005, 04:11:30 PM »

H J Flynn
The RF receiver, the external serial eeprom
memory and the X10 interface part are all
bit banged in firmware, any software
changes or even a new set of macros will
affect the ability of the CM15 to keep up.
Because of choice of part ( 18 pins versus
24 pin part) the hardware designer had to
use i2c Eeprom instead of SPI Eeprom, the
chip has hardware SPI , i2c takes a lot of
overhead, the CM15a simply can not keep up
and misses RF messages.
Now that I have a real controller(1132CUP
from smarthome) I erased the macros on the
CM15a and use it as a al house code
transceiver , the RF range increased
dramatically, I have a 2 story home +
basement ( about 2500sq ft non including
basement) and I was able to receive from
anywhere in the house; but it would fail to
recognize   the RF signal if I trigger the
motion detectors to close to one another;
of course any other transceiver(rr501 …)
has no problem kipping up).
If X10 is listening I would suggest to use
CY8C24794 instead of the CY7C63723,
Among the many pluses this part has to
offer the ability to field upgrade the
firmware; but, then again what do I know, I
only have 20+ years in design with
microcontrollers Intel 8051, Microchip,
Atmel, Cypress ……
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2005, 04:37:38 PM »

X10 -
Perhaps the ability to talk to/from AHP not
only using email, but perhaps also using
some of the more popular IM programs (AIM,
ICQ, Yahoo Messenger, MSN Messenger)
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2005, 04:56:10 PM »

I would like to be able to (when logged in
as administrator) be able to do anything
from the web that can be done locally.
This would provide the option of installing
AH Pro on a compact PC physically close to
the CM15a and then use any PC in or out of
the house to make configuration changes.
It would also act as the base platform for
an enhanced version of the CM15a that has
an embedded web server.

I would also like to be able to design
virtual remote controls.  These remotes
could have buttons and switches programmed
to send commands (any address, function,
macro or RF command), dials to adjust the
brightness (or other variable parameter)
and labels that could be either pictorial
or textual.  There could be different
styles of buttons and labels available to
choose from and the ability to “paint” or
decorate the remote and controls.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9423
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2005, 05:05:10 PM »

How about macros being able to send pics to
a users web site? xray can do this.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

martin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 125
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2005, 06:14:01 PM »

X10 Pro, how about hiring Carmine as a
consultant? He has shown more then
willingness to comment the current CM15A
status lately and eager to propose
alternate solutions.

Roger H.

I like your remote idea!
Logged

burntcrispy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2005, 07:01:07 PM »

I would like to also be able to use this on
my home network, which would probaly be my
main use since we have a slow dial-up at
the moment. (Internet use would be cool
later if we find avalible broadband)

Also I would like to see prety much full
control of the program, but they might want
to just consider making another actual
client version of the active home software
for that, and just have the internet plugin
a little simpilar. (Just install the client
software on one or two machines for full
control, and use the Internet plug-in for
more movable access, or for other people)
Logged

carmine pacifico

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 194
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2005, 07:23:48 PM »

Martin
Thanks for the suggestion, but I have a
well paid fulltime job with great benefits,
my 10 month old baby keeps me busy. Then
only reason I purchased AHP with smart
macros because of the advertisement; I have
a populated PCB with 4 line by 20 character
display, a 16 keys keypad, a battery backup
clock and many more features, I just do not
have enough hours in a day to write the
code, I already spend more than 8 hours a
day coding for work.  I made some
suggestion because I feel with some changes
in hardware this can be a great product, I
design gas detector ( both toxic and
explosive mixture) for oil and Gas, in our
industry one false alarm, one failure is
one to many, quality and reliability comes
before cost.
Logged

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2005, 08:41:29 PM »

I would like to do all of the things
suggested below, especially control of the
cameras and all of the modules in all of
the rooms. What is important for me is that
I be able to do this without having to
download any thing to the remote computer.
Where I work we are not permitted to
download or install any software onto out
computers. If I could simply go to a web
site, enter a password and begin to play
that would be great.
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

nswint

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 49
    • Shiksa
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2005, 09:46:46 AM »

A internet plugin that will recognize the
broswer agent and display the page
appropriately for regular browsers (ie,
mozilla/firefox), pda(pocket pc, palm), cell
phones, and internet appliances (audrey,
Compaq Ipaq IA-1, Cybiko, I-Opener, WebTv)
with full AHP and plugin control.
Essentially a web client for the ahp pro
server/service

* Callerid information.  Email and sms sendable

* Remote ip access with username and password
from another computer with ahp
Logged

tony

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 72
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2005, 12:27:09 PM »

X10 Pro:  All the requests appear based on
an assumed platform capability and capacity
which has not really been defined.  How
about solidifying and expanding the platform
in capacity, communications, connectivity,
reliability, and fault tolerance/recovery.
The fastest and most economical way is to
use existing facilities that are supported
by most host systems including Internet and
the ISP’s. i.e.
1.External antenna with greater range
like the V572AB.
2.A Ethernet Port (RJ45) supporting
TCP/IP and DHCP
3.Ethernet and /or RF communication
between AHP and CM15Ax instead of USB.
Remember CM15A is advertised as not
requiring connection to a PC and iWitness
changes that currently.
4.AHP support for Network cameras
(TCP/IP) and terminals. Sure there is some
non-X10 out there and its growing does X10
wish to forgo that tsunami opportuity?
5.Add Diagnostic Mode with signal
strength field and a detected X10 PLC error
diagnostic field in the Activity monitor.
6.Make selectable the size of the log
buffer for the Activity Monitor and whether
it stops or wraps as selectable.
Doing that not only opens some currently
unavailable markets and compatibility
markets that will expand your module sales
and create a much broader professional
market.  Take a lesson from IBM’s PC  Open
flexible architecture took it to the
hundreds of millions and closed proprietary
bus (microbus) blew them out of the market
they created.
Logged

tony

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 72
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2005, 12:30:46 PM »

Don't put a V8 into a model-T before you
beef up the chassis and drive train.  Think
long term and invest into the future.  
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.