Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available [3 of 3]  (Read 5815 times)

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available [3 of 3]
« on: June 15, 2005, 07:37:36 PM »

Paul Mayfield: Use the link in the first post <BR>in this thread to download the update <BR>installer direactly. That should do the trick.


ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available [1 of 3]

Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available [2 of 3]


[TTA Edit: Experiment to determine whether or not SPLITTING 'Highly-Viewed' / 'Highly-Replied' but currently

INACTIVE threads from LONG, LONG AGO (I'm starting with ~2 years) into parts will allow current

ACTIVE threads to appear in the Top 10 Topics (by Replies) section of the

Statistics Center (aka More Stats) Page.

NOTE: I *WILL* address the <BR> problem...]
« Last Edit: April 22, 2007, 03:14:05 AM by TakeTheActive »
Logged

jim lytle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2005, 10:07:50 AM »

Now that I have installed iWitness and
upgraded to 3.187 at the same time, I
notice a problem that may or may not be
related to the upgrade.  To monitor my four
cameras I leave AHP up and running on my
computer overnight.  Invariably after
several hours it locks up and I can't do
anything until I've done a cntrl/alt/delete
to close the "not responding" program, AHP.

Again though, I never had occasion to leave
AHP open for hours at a time before so this
may have existed in previous versions. Is
it an iwitness problem or a 3.187 problem
or something peculuar to my system, that is
the question.

By the way, I too had the problem upgrading
directly from AHP.  No crash, but it just
sat there and did nothing.  Had to use the
direct link, which went smoothly.  
Logged

richard the 1st

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 45
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2005, 11:30:13 AM »

X10 Pro   6/15/2005 04:37 PM
Paul Mayfield: Use the link in the first
post  in this thread to download the update
installer direactly. That should do the
trick.

DIDN'T work for me.
Logged

paul

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 29
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2005, 11:44:20 AM »

WINDOWS 98

WHY DON'T YOU ALL GET RID OF THIS CRAPPY
VERSION OF WINDOWS AND MOVE TO XP.  I AM
SURE YOU ARE ALL HAVING OTHER PROBLEMS AS
WELL. MOVE UP IN THE WORLD AND YOU WILL
HAVE MORE TIME TO SPEND WITH YOUR FAMILY
AND LESS TIME TRYING FIX A BAD OPERATING
SYSTEM.
Logged

richard the 1st

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 45
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2005, 01:00:33 PM »

"Paul  6/16/2005 08:44 AM
WINDOWS 98    WHY DON'T YOU ALL GET RID OF
THIS CRAPPY  VERSION OF WINDOWS AND MOVE TO
XP.  I AM  SURE YOU ARE ALL HAVING OTHER
PROBLEMS AS  WELL. MOVE UP IN THE WORLD AND
YOU WILL  HAVE MORE TIME TO SPEND WITH YOUR
FAMILY  AND LESS TIME TRYING FIX A BAD
OPERATING  SYSTEM."
Spoken like a true sap.

I am sure you are driving a Rolls Royce, new
model every year and new chauffeur every
month. :)))

Logged

jeff w

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 37
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2005, 04:42:28 PM »

Logged

keith

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2005, 01:33:46 PM »

A couple of observations-

Upgrade went fine, no issues.

3 of my neighbors and I run almost the same
equipment. I've never had any issues, they
had constant problems till this past week.
We all trekked to each others houses and
looked at the installs to compare notes. The
problems my neighbors were having all
related to the following:
1. Norton Security dll's interfering with X10
2. A plethora of memory resident programs.
3. An overtaxed system (memory)

By diabling their virus software for
install, then using program manager to kill
all their assorted little "helper" programs,
we found that all 3 would install and run
fine. A little detective work allows you to
see which programs are giving you grief.

I know this won't work for everyone, but
these guys were ready to scrap their
hardware and now it all works fine.
Logged

arf1410

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 270
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2005, 01:41:20 PM »

Keith -

Were your neighbors problems with the
install of 3.187, or were they having other
problems?
Logged

richard the 1st

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 45
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2005, 03:24:33 PM »

Jeff W  6/16/2005 01:42 PM
easy upgrade to XP...
http://www.techliving.com/article/1171.html

Is there a freebie XP?
Logged

pigbear

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2005, 03:55:04 PM »

Sure there's a free XP, buy a new
computer...  ;)

No, Microsoft is in the business of making
money so they aren't going to give away
their product (you might find a good deal on
a site like
http://www.edealinfo.com/tech.shtml).  If
you buy a new PC the cost of the OS is part
of total cost of the new box.  I've seen the
XP Home version upgrade around $90 and lower
with rebates and specials at places like
Fry's.
Logged

richard the 1st

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 45
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2005, 08:32:09 PM »

"PigBear  6/17/2005 12:55 PM
Sure there's a free XP, buy a new
computer...  ;)    No, Microsoft is in the
business of making  money so they aren't
going to give away  their product (you
might find a good deal on  a site like
http://www.edealinfo.com/tech.shtml).  If
you buy a new PC the cost of the OS is
part  of total cost of the new box.  I've
seen the  XP Home version upgrade around
$90 and lower  with rebates and specials at
places like  Fry's."

I recently got a new laptop that has XP.
Using it with a router in my house. Why
should I pay again for XP after I bought it
once? Either I own it or not.
Logged

richard the 1st

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 45
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #11 on: June 17, 2005, 08:32:21 PM »

"PigBear  6/17/2005 12:55 PM
Sure there's a free XP, buy a new
computer...  ;)    No, Microsoft is in the
business of making  money so they aren't
going to give away  their product (you
might find a good deal on  a site like
http://www.edealinfo.com/tech.shtml).  If
you buy a new PC the cost of the OS is
part  of total cost of the new box.  I've
seen the  XP Home version upgrade around
$90 and lower  with rebates and specials at
places like  Fry's."

I recently got a new laptop that has XP.
Using it with a router in my house. Why
should I pay again for XP after I bought it
once? Either I own it or not.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #12 on: June 17, 2005, 11:31:56 PM »

I strongly encourage staying up to date
when at all possible. Both of my computers
are running the latest version of Windows
XP.

However, regardless of how much better it
is to have XP, upgrading is not always a
piece of cake. I've know several people in
the industry that recommend a complete
install of the new XP software not the
upgrade. Not to scare anyone away from XP
but I've heard some horror stories that
actually did not work until the complete
software was loaded. (Retail price $200.)
Also for an old computer you will most
likely need to add more memory. (More $$$)

Bottom line is some computers just aren't
worth upgrading. So it's unfair to expect
everyone to be able to replace their
software or their computer.

It shouldn't be impossible to have AHP work
on older versions of windows.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #13 on: June 17, 2005, 11:37:59 PM »

P.S.  What makes X10 such a deal is that it
is a low cost solution for our automation
needs. If we all had unlimited finasional
resources, would we still be working with
AHP just to save money?
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: ActiveHome Pro update to v3.187 available
« Reply #14 on: June 17, 2005, 11:40:23 PM »

That was suppose to be "financial".
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.