Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Question on how to set up Insteon 2476D  (Read 28358 times)

den

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Question on how to set up Insteon 2476D
« on: May 27, 2007, 01:58:23 AM »

Hi all,

I'm a total newbie to using X-10, and am trying it in a very simple application--but need some help.   ???

All I am trying to do is convert a light fixture that had a single pole switch (one location to turn it on/off) to a 3-way (two locations to turn it on/off).  I also want to be able to dim the light from either switch, which is a problem because the fixture has 10 60 watt bulbs, for a total of 600 watts.

I purchased a XPT transmitter with an XP2D cover plate (on/off and dim), and placed this in an open spot in my electrical switch box--this is the new switch location.

I wanted a standard X-10 dimmer switch to replace the existing single pole switch--but because of the load, couldn't get a dimmer.  I have an XPS3--and I hooked everything up, and it works fine, except, of course, I can't dim the light since the XPS3 does not have a dimmer.

Looking around on the web, it appears that if I replace the XPS3 with an Insteon 2476D, I should be able to have dimming, so I ordered one of these switches/dimmers.  (Just ordered a few hours ago.)

Now I am reading the on-line manual for it, and I discover that for it to work with X-10, I need to program in the house/unit code.  The manual says to do this, I need to send the switch  "code-on" 3 times within a 4 minute period.  My question is, how do I do this?  Is this simply a matter of hooking up the Insteon and putting it in programming mode, then pressing the On side of the XPT switch 3 times?  Or do I need some sort of computer interface and/or other device to set this up in the Insteon?

Any help/advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Den

JMac

• Helpful Post Rating: 23
Re: Question on how to set up Insteon 2476D