Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector  (Read 74358 times)

dimka2000

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2008, 12:54:29 PM »


   What's the easiest way to make a water sensor like this one?  Any suggestions with possible links to required materials will be much appreciated!

   Thanks!
Logged

igi

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2008, 06:29:17 PM »

Thanks to all the people who posted on this thread. I was trying to do the same water leak detection and initially used plain DS10A's but never got enough sensitivity. Inspired by the posted circuits, I ended taking a slightly different route: I already had a couple of those "water bugs"  boxes that beep when they sense water. Their water detection circuitry is very simple but very sensitive. So instead of adding the posted circuit to the DS10A I hacked something similar so that when these water bugs go active, they activate the DS10A's.

Very simple, 1 mosfet, 1 relay, 1 diode. If anyone's interested, then let me know and I'll post the circuit and where I connected this to these "water bugs".

I.
Logged

Puck

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
  • Posts: 1799
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2008, 07:37:40 PM »

If anyone's interested, then let me know and I'll post the circuit and where I connected this to these "water bugs".

igi: Different ways of doing something are always welcome here. Please post your circuit on the forum too. Feel free to add to this thread or start a new one.

Cheers
Logged

bgardner

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 1
    • My Site
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #18 on: June 23, 2010, 05:28:35 PM »

I found this topic recently and was so impressed I decided to try my hand at a slightly different implementation with a battery backup to retain the DS10A ID.  Rather than attempting to provide all the details here, I am posting a link to my web page that details the implementation.  I hope this isn't a problem.

www.gardnerswebsite.com/ds10a/index.html

Thanks for all the information and inspiration.

Bob
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6847
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #19 on: June 23, 2010, 08:00:51 PM »

I found this topic recently and was so impressed I decided to try my hand at a slightly different implementation with a battery backup to retain the DS10A ID.  Rather than attempting to provide all the details here, I am posting a link to my web page that details the implementation.  I hope this isn't a problem.
www.gardnerswebsite.com/ds10a/index.html

Wow Bob... very impressive... and your 1st post too.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #20 on: June 24, 2010, 06:13:41 AM »

Very well thought out and presented modification how to.
Thank you for sharing it.
I also gave you a helpful.
Logged

JMac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 462
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #21 on: June 24, 2010, 10:36:27 AM »

Lot of thought here. Thanks..............
Logged

pconroy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 294
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #22 on: June 24, 2010, 11:39:32 AM »

I found this topic recently and was so impressed I decided to try my hand at a slightly different implementation with a battery backup to retain the DS10A ID.  Rather than attempting to provide all the details here, I am posting a link to my web page that details the implementation.  I hope this isn't a problem.
www.gardnerswebsite.com/ds10a/index.html

Wow Bob... very impressive... and your 1st post too.

+1!!!

Wish I could solder and new something about electronics...   
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #23 on: June 24, 2010, 08:05:15 PM »

Actually his second project posted here in the X10 forums.
The link to his Ninja Pan and Tilt Base Modification write up was posted by me in another thread.

http://www.gardnerswebsite.com/index.html
« Last Edit: June 24, 2010, 08:10:11 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Alan V

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 8
  • Posts: 171
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #24 on: June 25, 2010, 10:53:50 AM »

I found this topic recently and was so impressed I decided to try my hand at a slightly different implementation with a battery backup to retain the DS10A ID.  Rather than attempting to provide all the details here, I am posting a link to my web page that details the implementation.  I hope this isn't a problem.

www.gardnerswebsite.com/ds10a/index.html

Thanks for all the information and inspiration.

Bob


Great post.

It looks like there may be a way to simplify your circuit.  One of the inputs to the DS10 is referenced to ground already, so I don't think the analog switch is needed.  Unless it's there so that the user doesn't have to figure out which one of the DS10A wires is ground.  -:)

Also, it looks like the sense is wrong if someone wanted to use this with a DS7000.  For that use, connect pin 4 of U1 to the collector of Q2 instead of Q1.

Someone might want to check, but it looks like that would work.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12690
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #25 on: June 25, 2010, 03:15:28 PM »

Alan; I would think the analog switch was used so the water sensor part of the electronics was running on 5 volts and the sensors 3 volts supply was not compromised or bucked.

Yes the logic is inverted if linked to a DS7000 but with the W800RF32 as the receiver. You get an On when it is wet and maybe what was wanted.
Q2 is off when sensor is dry.
Q1 is On pulling the analog switches enable low and it goes off.
DS10 sends an Open signal to the W800RF32.
If it was a DS7000 as you said a open zone would be reported.
Logged

Alan V

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 8
  • Posts: 171
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #26 on: June 25, 2010, 03:52:46 PM »

Alan; I would think the analog switch was used so the water sensor part of the electronics was running on 5 volts and the sensors 3 volts supply was not compromised or bucked.

Yes the logic is inverted if linked to a DS7000 but with the W800RF32 as the receiver. You get an On when it is wet and maybe what was wanted.
Q2 is off when sensor is dry.
Q1 is On pulling the analog switches enable low and it goes off.
DS10 sends an Open signal to the W800RF32.
If it was a DS7000 as you said a open zone would be reported.

Just run the last transistor stage that's required from 3.3V instead of 5V (before the Schottky).  Then the analog switch is not needed.
Logged

tybirdtybird

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 128
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #27 on: August 05, 2010, 09:41:05 PM »

Thats what i need to. My basement gets flooded a lot. Having my backup pump hook up to x10 modules
Logged

jheere

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #28 on: September 07, 2011, 11:49:28 PM »

Puck,
I was wondering if you still get on the Home Automation chat room?  I tried to register tonite so I could contact you but it would NOT accept my email.  Says it's invalid.  It's just name at gmail.com--maybe it doesn't like Gmail??
Jerry Heere
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6847
Re: [MOD] DS10A Water Leak Detector
« Reply #29 on: September 08, 2011, 04:16:59 PM »

Puck,
I was wondering if you still get on the Home Automation chat room? 
I haven't seen Puck in the chat room in months. Actually the room hasn't had much traffic lately. I chatted with KDR (the rooms owner) last night and there has been some maintenance and changes. I am sure if there is any problems... he'll have it working fine soon.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.
Pages: 1 [2] 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.