Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: #1: x10 noise esm1  (Read 28457 times)

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
#1: x10 noise esm1
« on: June 16, 2007, 03:28:40 AM »

GOOGLE: x10 noise esm1
#1 Jeff!
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

JeffVolp

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2062
    • XTB Home Page
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2007, 09:22:52 AM »

There must be a few people looking for the tutorials.

I wonder if Elk noticed a spike in their ESM1 sales...

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

JeffVolp

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2062
    • XTB Home Page
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2009, 09:50:14 AM »

Unfortunately, it appears that Elk has discontinued the ESM1.  The SmartHome TesterLinc is also listed as discontinued.  So, the only options left are the basic tester made by X10 (also sold by Leviton), and the much more expensive Monterey and ACT testers.  The ACT AT104 looks like the best of the crop, but it is too expensive for the average user.  To fill the gap, I started working on my own tester that will be available as a kit, hopefully by late summer 09.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 5983
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2009, 07:19:24 PM »

To fill the gap, I started working on my own tester that will be available as a kit, hopefully by late summer 09.

Jeff

I would like to help with that. I don't know why you would need to beta such a device, but put me as one of your first purchasers IF you can incorporate the the feature of providing HCUC in addition to signal level.

Thanks Jeff! You make good stuff!
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

JeffVolp

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2062
    • XTB Home Page
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2009, 08:21:52 PM »

The plan is to display both signal and noise levels from 10mV to 5V, and last X10 command in house code - unit code - function code format.  It will also have a transmitter so it can be left plugged in to respond to a powerline status query and report sudden changes in noise amplitude (all on housecode P).  The prototype circuit design is done, but I have just barely started on the layout.  Obviously, the firmware will take a lot of work.  Right now my priority is to finish up the XTB-IIR firmware update that adds the ability to repeat "doublet" extended codes.

Jeff

Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2009, 08:59:23 PM »

Jeff,
I hope the display resolution of your tester will be better than the ESM1.  The few bars on that tester make it difficult to observe incremental improvements.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

JeffVolp

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2062
    • XTB Home Page
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2009, 12:27:19 AM »

I hope the display resolution of your tester will be better than the ESM1.

The hardware should support 10mV resolution to 2.5V, and 40mV resolution above that.  The readout will be x.xx V for both signal and noise.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

GregH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 63
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2009, 08:16:01 PM »

Any update?
Now that my XTB-IIR is running I'm looking forward to your signal tester.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2062
    • XTB Home Page
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2009, 10:54:04 PM »


The prototype hardware is working, but I have been derailed on firmware for the time being.  This is a very busy time of year with taxes and yardwork taking priority.  It's also prime hiking weather.  All too soon it will be in the 100's again, and I'll be hunkered down in front of the computer working on the firmware.  My target is to have it ready by sometime in the fall.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

GregH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 63
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2009, 11:56:14 AM »

My target is to have it ready by sometime in the fall.

Put me on the list.  Oh, and have fun with the yardwork!  :'
Logged

GregH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 63
Re: #1: x10 noise esm1
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2009, 01:39:14 AM »

For those of you looking for an ESM-1 replacement do a search for the XTBM.  Jeff's new X10 signal meter is a great tool.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.