Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: need help  (Read 11449 times)

harpo

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
need help
« on: June 30, 2007, 06:17:38 AM »

 hope someone can help me. need to know how i can reboot my home pc remotley,using x-10.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12856
Re: need help
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2007, 07:25:26 AM »

Remotely?
Like from away from home or just from any place in the home? If away from home Internet; telephone?
Logged

harpo

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: need help
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2007, 09:54:12 PM »

  thanks..i drive truck,and am on the road a lot. i have ahp, plus gotomypc,but my pc at home  keeps shutting down.
  my home phone is hooked to my pc.
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: need help
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2007, 10:17:45 PM »

  thanks..i drive truck,and am on the road a lot. i have ahp, plus gotomypc,but my pc at home  keeps shutting down.
  my home phone is hooked to my pc.

So, your home PC connects to the internet through your phone line?
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

harpo

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: need help
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2007, 10:27:40 PM »

 Thanks Bill....nope i have one of internet phones. my pc shuts down, after awhile, need a way to reboot it from my laptop
   from the road. was thinking about hard wiring the on -off button/
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: need help
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2007, 10:49:34 PM »

Thanks Bill....nope i have one of internet phones. my pc shuts down, after awhile, need a way to reboot it from my laptop
   from the road. was thinking about hard wiring the on -off button/

So, you have cable or DSL internet at home.

You may want to check the BIOS settings on your home PC and enable "Wake on LAN".
You could also turn off settings in the BIOS and Windows that make the PC "Shut Down" or "Sleep".

There are some devices that can answer the phone and wait for a touch-tone code and trigger a relay, but nothing X10 sells that I am aware of.  For that matter, it would take some research to find something like that that is still made.
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

harpo

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: need help
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2007, 11:24:22 PM »

 Thanks again..i once had a pc that would reboot after a power outage,bye its self. i need my new one to do the same.           
   i like the phone thing, will look into that...                                     
                                                                                                                                                                                         
                                                                                               thanks for the help                         
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: need help
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2007, 11:49:53 PM »

Thanks again..i once had a pc that would reboot after a power outage,bye its self. i need my new one to do the same.           
   i like the phone thing, will look into that...                                     
                                                                                                                                                                                         
                                                                                               thanks for the help                         

There was once a device manufactured by a company called "Moose"... the founder of that company sold it and later started a new company called "Elk"... You will see references on this forum to some of his stuff, like the "Elk Signal Meter".

Happy hunting!
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: need help
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2007, 07:18:16 AM »

Here are a couple of links that might do what you want

http://www.42u.com/remote_reboot.htm

http://www.bbdsoft.com/utils.html

http://www.cpscom.com/reboot.htm

Hope this helps you some.

----------------KDR
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12856
Re: need help
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2007, 09:08:29 AM »

Look in the BIOS Settings. The wake on LAN was mentioned. Many times in the power settings area is also the place to set power on after power restoration. I have mine set to Always stay off, but on after restore was an option.
Logged

FourQ

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: need help
« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2007, 09:05:50 AM »

My home system has a similar problem.  It randomly reboots.  I've used TweakUI from Micro$oft to sign in automatically and have a batch file to launch the server apps and HomeSeer.  It works a treat.
Download available from http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx

As for the reboot, I use either PC Anywhere or LogMeIn (www.logmein.com) for remotely controlled access as LMI works from PDAs/Windows Mobile phones.  :)
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.