Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: PR511 & XPS3  (Read 4319 times)

Red Ryder

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
PR511 & XPS3
« on: July 24, 2007, 11:33:42 AM »

I've just installed a PR511 Motion Sensor w floodlights to illuminate my backyard.  I've also just installed a non X10 floodlight on the other side of my house that I've been planning to work as a slave off the 511.

For this slave light I've replaced the original switch with a XPS3 Wall Switch.

In the PR511 I've set the house code to H and the start code to 2. All the sensor switches  (+1,+2, etc.) are set to 'In", as are the
Dusk switches.

(I'm not sure what this means & that may be my problem.)

The XPS 3 switch is set to H & 3.

My problem is that sometimes the XPS3 switch light will come on when the motion detector turns on the PR511 lights, and then it won't at all.

I'm new to X10 technology, and some of the basics are still Greek to me.

Is the XPS3 switch my problem? Did I make a mistake in using it to act as a slave to the motion unit?

Any help you can give will be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Boiler

Re: PR511 & XPS3
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2007, 04:24:36 PM »

Welcome to the forum,

Your PR511 and XPS3 combination should work well together.  I have three of the PR511 and I like them as security lamps.

In regard to your settings on the PR511
  • When motion is detected, you are currently sending out X10 ON commands to addresses H3, H4, H5, and H6.  Your putting a lot of X10 information on your house wiring that's not needed. If you only want your XPS3 (address H3) to turn on, move the switches at the +2, +3 and +4 locations to the "out" position.
  • With all of the Dusk switches in the "IN" position you are sending X10 ON commands to addresses H2 - H6 as dusk and off commands at dawn.  Since you want to sense motion, I'm assuming you don't want any of these on.  Move them all into the "OUT" position