Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [1B of 5]  (Read 18046 times)

martin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 125
Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [1B of 5]
« on: April 07, 2005, 08:31:59 PM »

On the top of my head (for automation):

- Remote access to all rooms created in AHP.
- More then one Monitored House Code.
- Real-time confirmation of remotely issued X10 commands.
- Remote real-time access to the Activity Monitor.
- E-mail alerts for specific events.


OP:


We're starting work on our next plug-in, which will put control of ActiveHome Pro (including cameras and video, if you have iWitness) on the Internet. We have a number of features in mind, but are looking for more ideas from our users.

What kinds of features would you expect or like to see in an Internet plug-in for ActiveHome Pro?


Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [2 of 5]

Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [3 of 5]

Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [4 of 5]

Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see? [5 of 5]


[TTA Edit #2: Experiment to determine whether or not DELETING the OP (*AFTER* copying it into Reply #1) in 'Highly-Viewed' / 'Highly-Replied' but currently INACTIVE threads from LONG, LONG AGO (I'm starting with ~2 years) will allow current ACTIVE threads to appear in the Top 10 Topics (by Views) section of the Statistics Center (aka More Stats) Page.]

[TTA Edit #1: Experiment to determine whether or not SPLITTING 'Highly-Viewed' / 'Highly-Replied' but currently INACTIVE threads from LONG, LONG AGO (I'm starting with ~2 years) into parts will allow current ACTIVE threads to appear in the Top 10 Topics (by Replies) section of the Statistics Center (aka More Stats) Page.

NOTE: I *WILL* address the <BR> problem...]
« Last Edit: July 22, 2007, 01:22:04 AM by TakeTheActive »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9434
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2005, 08:45:08 PM »

Be able to create macros/timers online as
well as execute them.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

anonymous

  • Guest
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2005, 09:31:05 PM »

1. Ability to turn on and off flags (without
using a macro for that purpose) in both the
AHP software, OR the Internet-based control,
thereby allowing you to activate and de-
active conditional macros.
2. Ability to access the full AHP interface
from another PC.
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2005, 09:35:37 PM »

That last one was from me. Sorry.
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2005, 10:09:08 PM »

A couple things that I would want are:
- Ability to send an e-mail from within a
macro.
- Ability to send an e-mail to AH Pro to
send commands/run macros.
- Compatibility with a CM17a so that the
above commands can be sent even if the
CM15a is disconnected.
Logged

david k

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 126
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2005, 10:34:15 PM »

Access through the SDK to all plug-in
functionality.
Logged

julian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2005, 10:39:57 PM »

All of the above (or rather below) plus a
couple of extra features:
- ability to set triggers (macros) based on
certain events and be able to send snapshots
(and be able to set the delay) to a specified
email address, send an email alert when an
event occurs, stream live video to an
internet location (or localhost webserver as
long as the live video stream is password
protected), remotely control cameras (at
least basic functions - on and off), kill a
running macro and force a halt.
I agree with Roger - compatibility to CM17A
in case we want to keep CM15A out of it.
Logged

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2005, 10:44:50 PM »

1. WIRELESS connectivity of the CM15A or next
ver. to the AHP console in local (at home) or
via a browser. (that could solve some timing
issues)
2. CAMERA:Remote viewing and control via the
internet in real time, no time slices.
3. Remote control of the entire AHP desktop
via the internet including the ability to act
as "if you were there" (safely).
4. Intergration with a user owned and
controlled web site to allow "guest" viewing
of a cam.
5. X10 event notification via e-mail. (wireless)
Last and Most Important:
Stable and Reliable Operation is
PARAMOUNT !  (before anything else)
SteveRF
Logged

JP

  • Guest
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2005, 10:52:47 PM »

First of all, a CM15A that work
properly !!!!!
Logged

mark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2005, 11:03:50 PM »

I would like to be able to make the
internet connection directly to my other
computer verses going through some gateway
or server located at x10.

I'm mainly interested in remote vanguard
like functions with streaming video and
remote access to the recorded video and
snapshots.  Except this time I would like
it to actualy work and not crash each time
you try to retrive a remote picture from
the history.
Logged

coder since cp290

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 37
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2005, 11:43:05 PM »

1) working AHP/CM15A before 1 second of
developer time is spent on this.

2) DO NOT RESTRICT IT to MS IE by using some
MS only stuff...  Also, ALL FUNCTIONS should
be available from a NON MS workstation.
(I.e., if I have a SUN box at work with
Netscape, I should be able to access the
stuff (given firewall/security restrictions).
In other words, NO ACTIVEX.  Also, no Java
Applets!

3) BUILT IN security that can supliment and
fire wall stuff...  If I'm on a broadband
connection, I don't was some hacker turning
on my TV at 3am.  (one more layer of PW at a
minimum, on by default, but can be disabled)

4) a working AHP/CM15a before one second of
developer time is spent on this (oh...  I
said this already....)
Logged

coder since cp290

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 37
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2005, 11:50:21 PM »

This also shoud NOT require a MS IIS
webserver, or even a slimed down Apache, but
should play nice with them...  Maybe HTTP on
a port other than a standard one, or the
means to define a port.
Logged

carmine pacifico

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 194
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2005, 10:17:38 AM »

How about getting the CM15a hardware and
firmware working first, itís not a problem
for me , my controller is working flawless(
oops!! I forgot I am using PowerLinc
1132CUP now), and while we are on the
subject how about give me an RMA so I can
return this useless piece of junk and get
some money back; itís not useful even as a
door stop.
Logged

Henri T

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 111
  • using X-10 since '80s ...
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2005, 10:59:31 AM »

Hi,

The access of the AHP internet plug-in
should be secure.
Authentification agent should be use to
access the AHP computer.
How the plugin shoul be accessible (local
web server or client/server ???)
Wich port will be be use ?
I'd like to have the opportunity to access
the plugin via dial-up access too !

Thanks.
Logged
Thank you !
:) Automation is funny with X10 Gadgets ! ;)

arf1410

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 270
Re: Internet Plug-in: what do you want to see?
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2005, 11:58:27 AM »

I too would like to see the X10 engineers
concentrate 100% of their resource getting
the baseline CM15A to work reliably before
using X10's apparently limited resources to
develop plugins or additional features.
Does anyone disagree with this COmment?  If
so, why or what part of my statement do you
disagree with?

PS - You, I do acknowledge that for some
users, it does work well, but for a
significant % of users, it does not...
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.