Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Software for CM11 fast macros  (Read 14267 times)

kevinwilson

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Software for CM11 fast macros
« on: July 26, 2007, 11:39:17 AM »

Hello,

Does anybody know of any Windows software which will allow me to download a fast macro which contains extended codes to a CM11 controller?

In other words, I just want to do the simple macros that you can create in the free ActiveHome software and download them to the CM11, but instead of only being able to send simple commands, I want to be able to send extended dimming commands to an LD11 dimmer (a UK module which supports 63 brightness levels).

I found Heyu (http://heyu.tanj.com) which seems to be able to do this (among other things), but it is only for Unix/Linux.

I hope that makes sense, and if anybody could help, that would be great.

Thanks in advance,
Kevin
« Last Edit: July 26, 2007, 11:42:20 AM by kevinwilson »
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Software for CM11 fast macros
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2007, 01:31:39 PM »

One of the few Windows programs I know of which supports loading timers and macros into the CM11A EEPROM is Zeus  <http://www.zeushome.com>.  Check it out - it's shareware.



Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Software for CM11 fast macros
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2007, 07:12:49 PM »

It occurs to me ...
ActiveHome 1.42 will do what you want if you program your dimmer as a LM14A 2-way lamp module.
I just tried downloading a simple dimming macro and it does send extended code preset commands to this type of module.

Note: Some PCs have problems with ActiveHome 1.42 under Windows XP.  Check out Zeus anyway.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

kevinwilson

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Software for CM11 fast macros
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2007, 08:31:46 PM »

Thanks for your help, Charles.  I'll check out Zeus.

It occurs to me ...
ActiveHome 1.42 will do what you want if you program your dimmer as a LM14A 2-way lamp module.
I just tried downloading a simple dimming macro and it does send extended code preset commands to this type of module.

I have fired up ActiveHome and set the units as LM14A as you suggest.  When I right-click on the module in the macro editor, I still just get the "10%, 20%, 30%..." list of brightness levels, like I do if it's set as an ordinary dimmer.  Am I doing something wrong?  Or is there no way to set the level with a finer "resolution" (e.g. 12%)?

Thanks again for your help!
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Software for CM11 fast macros
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2007, 10:33:20 PM »

Thanks for your help, Charles.  I'll check out Zeus.

It occurs to me ...
ActiveHome 1.42 will do what you want if you program your dimmer as a LM14A 2-way lamp module.
I just tried downloading a simple dimming macro and it does send extended code preset commands to this type of module.

I have fired up ActiveHome and set the units as LM14A as you suggest.  When I right-click on the module in the macro editor, I still just get the "10%, 20%, 30%..." list of brightness levels, like I do if it's set as an ordinary dimmer.  Am I doing something wrong?  Or is there no way to set the level with a finer "resolution" (e.g. 12%)?

Thanks again for your help!

If you exit the ActiveHome Macro Editor and go back to the Room screen, you can drag the slider on the LM14A icon for finer resolution.  (I haven't determined whether that setting carries through to the downloaded macro.)

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.