Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Help sending extended code to muliple units  (Read 34643 times)

gecono

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Help sending extended code to muliple units
« on: August 04, 2007, 11:34:36 PM »

I'm trying to send a preset dim to multiple housecode/units.

I've tried the following:

sendplc A1
sendplc A2 ExtCode 31 2f

Only A2 responds to the command.

I'm using a CM15A controller.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2007, 01:08:20 AM »

I'm trying to send a preset dim to multiple housecode/units.

I've tried the following:

sendplc A1
sendplc A2 ExtCode 31 2f

Only A2 responds to the command.

I'm using a CM15A controller.

Thanks in advance.

You may simply have to send each one separately, i.e.:
sendplc A1 ExtCode 31 2f
sendplc A2 ExtCode 31 2f

You may also try:
sendplc A1
sendplc A2
sendplc A ExtCode 31 2f
However, I'm not sure that will work either and have no modules that take extended codes to test it on.

Good luck.
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2007, 09:04:25 PM »

Note: this will not work with standard lamp modules. I tried the syntax on address A3 which is a standard lamp module.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

gecono

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2007, 10:45:10 AM »

The only way I can get this to work is by issuing the commands separately.

eg.
 sendplc A1 ExtCode 31 2f
 sendplc A2 ExtCode 31 2f

Which is a shame as there is about a .5 second delay between commands on the cm15a. I realize that I could set all lamps to the same house/unit code but that is not what I want to do. (need to turn on/off individually)

-george
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2007, 02:23:39 PM »

The only way I can get this to work is by issuing the commands separately.

eg.
 sendplc A1 ExtCode 31 2f
 sendplc A2 ExtCode 31 2f

Which is a shame as there is about a .5 second delay between commands on the cm15a.  I realize that I could set all lamps to the same house/unit code but that is not what I want to do. (need to turn on/off individually)

-george


For the LM14A 2-way Lamp Module, it's possible to assign individual modules (at different addresses) to a group and then send a single command to the group.  I don't know if the redesigned LM465 (which does support at least some extended code commands) includes the same feature, and I haven't fiddled with this myself so can't give much help with the details.  The commands are described in  http://software.x10.com/pub/manuals/xtdcode.pdf  in the section for Type 3 commands.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2007, 02:47:27 PM »

The only way I can get this to work is by issuing the commands separately.

eg.
 sendplc A1 ExtCode 31 2f
 sendplc A2 ExtCode 31 2f

Which is a shame as there is about a .5 second delay between commands on the cm15a.  I realize that I could set all lamps to the same house/unit code but that is not what I want to do. (need to turn on/off individually)

-george


I presume you use the executable ahcmd before the sendplc commands.  It's usually found in C:/Program Files/Common Files\X10\Common but can be copied to a new folder anywhere. I keep a copy in a folder on my D: drive.  achmd is only run through the Command Prompt, BTW.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 787
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2007, 05:53:07 PM »

For the LM14A 2-way Lamp Module, it's possible to assign individual modules (at different addresses) to a group and then send a single command to the group.

Wow, I never realized that the LM14A's supported the group commands (I thought only Leviton, etc, did).  Thanks for the heads up.
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

gecono

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2007, 11:32:18 PM »

@Charles

Thanks for the link. Once I figured out how to interpret the document I was able to use the group extended commands to do what I wanted.

For those who are interested, I just bought a bunch of the redesigned LM465 lamp modules and they DO respond to the group commands. These things are a great buy!

I issued the following using a cm15a and the activex sdk:

sendplc a1 extcode 32 0F // set a1 almost off, include in global group 0
sendplc a6 extcode 32 EF // set a6 bright, include in global group 0
sendplc a extcode 36 00  // execute global group function

Works like a charm! Thanks again Charles and everyone who helped.

-george
« Last Edit: August 28, 2007, 10:43:46 PM by gecono »
Logged

Boiler

  • Guest
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2007, 11:59:38 AM »

George,

Thank you for the information on the new LM465's.  From what you have posted, these redesigned units now support:
  • Extended code Dim commands
  • Group (scene) functions

Are there any other "undocumented" functions that you've uncovered?

Could I impose upon you to provide the date code (round sticker on the back "07XXYY") of your units?

Logged

gecono

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2007, 09:33:01 PM »

Here is what's on the sticker: 07D17.

-george
Logged

Boiler

  • Guest
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2007, 09:45:35 PM »

Thanks again George.

Please let us know if you find any additional "new features" with this unit.
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2007, 12:48:59 AM »

Thanks again George.

Please let us know if you find any additional "new features" with this unit.

Perhaps you've already seen this:
http://www.heyu.org/docs/New_LM465.txt

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Boiler

  • Guest
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2007, 06:53:42 AM »

Perhaps you've already seen this:
http://www.heyu.org/docs/New_LM465.txt

Thank you Charles,
I had seen this, but lost track of it's location. I'll add it to the database. BTW, nice work.
Logged

ylaviolette

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2009, 07:14:14 PM »

Hi Genoco, don't know if you are still around but maybe you can help me (or someone else): I am trying to verify if the "grouping" feature can  be executed on only one housecode or if it's possible to combine multiple housecodes? (great work finding the feature btw)

This feature is wonderful, just unfortunate it's not implemented directly in Girder or Homeseer...

Also there seem to be a way to change the "time" required to ramp up but I'll have to figure out how this translates on the command line.

TFIELD = the time over which the change takes place.
For T=0,t=3.7s ;for T=1,t=30s ;for T=2,t=1min; forT=3,t=5min
ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/manuals/xtdcode.pdf  )

If you can't help, I guess I'll mimic what you did and try to decode the protocol:

Thx
« Last Edit: November 12, 2009, 10:25:38 PM by ylaviolette »
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Help sending extended code to muliple units
« Reply #14 on: November 12, 2009, 10:42:18 PM »

Hi Genoco, don't know if you are still around but maybe you can help me (or someone else): I am trying to verify if the "grouping" feature can  be executed on only one housecode or if it's possible to combine multiple housecodes? (great work finding the feature btw)

A group contains units from only a single housecode.  But each housecode can have its own groups.

Quote

This feature is wonderful, just unfortunate it's not implemented directly in Girder or Homeseer...

Also there seem to be a way to change the "time" required to ramp up but I'll have to figure out how this translates on the command line.

TFIELD = the time over which the change takes place.
For T=0,t=3.7s ;for T=1,t=30s ;for T=2,t=1min; forT=3,t=5min
ftp://ftp.x10.com/pub/manuals/xtdcode.pdf  )


This ramp rate feature has not been found to work on any of the Extended Code modules manufactured by X-10.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.