Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: MS10A & RFI Shielding  (Read 12979 times)

tom j

• Helpful Post Rating: 16
MS10A & RFI Shielding
« on: August 06, 2007, 09:51:30 PM »

Hi guys  just wondering if there's anyway to add RFI shielding to the MS10a I don't know about you but I've experienced an unacceptable number of false alarms in the 1 movement mode and the 2 movement mode at least it's been my experience decreases it's range and lacks sensitivity sometimes it takes numerous steps to get it's attention. I have a friend with a masters in computer science that's an electronics buff and he looked at an old defective one I had and said as far as he can tell it doesn't have any shielding. RFI is supposedly the major source of false alarms in motion detectors and from what I read the shielding can dramatically reduces if not eliminate it. I found some links that go into this maybe I locate them again and post them if anyone is interested. Thanks & Stay Safe

Tom j.

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: MS10A & RFI Shielding
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2007, 06:50:22 AM »

X10s motion sensors use a change in detected temperature [IR I believe] in a set amount of time.
They sense better across them them  a motion towards them. Some have added thing to the lenses to make them less sensitive to false triggers and I have seen a mod that changed a capacitor to lower the false triggers. If you did RF shield it you may render it useless, as the sending antenna is on the rear and if the thing is on a metal surface you can detune it or stop the RF from getting to the receiver.

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2007, 12:00:27 PM »

Don't know if I buy in to RF being the biggest source of false triggers from motion detectors. I think it would have to be a very strong signal at close range to the detector.

FWIW