Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Speakers activating in different rooms.  (Read 2273 times)

jpcool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Speakers activating in different rooms.
« on: October 21, 2007, 12:39:36 PM »

I have been using BVC with AHP and I am wondering how would I go about activating sets of speakers to be able to hear BVC only in the room i am giving a command in rather than being able to hear BVC all through the house?

Any thoughts would be great.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

jpcool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Speakers activating in different rooms.
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2007, 12:44:29 PM »

I guess the obvious would be to have a motion sensor in each room activate AP module which would be connected to the speakers for that room or something along those lines.
Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: Speakers activating in different rooms.
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2007, 01:20:50 PM »

jpcool I think Dave_x10_L has his set up to reply in the room he is in. I'm sure he will reply to your question. I am just getting ready to start looking into using BVC in more then one room so I will be looking forward to Dave's response.

----------------KDR
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7081
Re: Speakers activating in different rooms.
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2007, 04:49:12 PM »

So many ways to do this.... and all are easy!

Getting the command to the PC, and then the computer voice to the user is always the primary concern. But once I jumped in... it was all really straight forward.

I (proudly) created my setup very much on-the-cheap. I use $18 baby-monitors for microphones, and hardwired $5 powered PC speakers to distribute the computers voice. As my system grew, I was made aware that if I added enough (maybe 3) sets of speakers to my soundcard I will proably damage it. So I use a old amp'ed PC speaker as a pre-amp... which feeds my other [4 sets of] speakers.

I use macros to change microphones. I have to admit, 90 percent of the time I use the living room mic (cause that's where my recliner is at). I switch microphones with a "follow me command" (Bill's of wgjohns.com idea).

When I tell BVC (Kate) to "follow me to the office" BVC triggers a macro that turns OFF the upstairs mic and the receiver. Then turns ON the office mic and the receiver back on. When BVC hears a mic (house/unit code) turn ON it announces which mic just turned ON. When I turn ON my office lights (by ether voice command or X10 remote) another macro turns OFF the appliance module that powers the upstairs speakers.

The speaker outside is powered by the same appliance module that powers a night-vision camera. When BVC hears the the VCR Commander trigger... BVC announces a warning message... which is also played OUTSIDE. You can see (hear) this on my YouTube Video at my Web Site.

If your using a more centralized speaker amplification system you can break the signal going to speakers using a universal module (UM506). But because BVC is also my talking clock... I usually prefer to hear her...it.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 12:34:51 AM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.