Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Flashing Lights Macro  (Read 11539 times)

spam4us

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 138
Flashing Lights Macro
« on: September 09, 2007, 01:42:16 PM »

I want to be able to flash (blink on and off) some lights in my house whenever onalert detects a contact open.  I have no problem detecting the contact open (ds10A) but I can't get the lights to flash.  I would like the lights to flash on and off at 2 second intervals for 4 minutes (pretty much the same way the DS7000 condole does).  What I tried was this...


Macro1
  trigger on DS10A open
  Set b2 on
  set b2 on
  set b2 on
* Setting B2 on so that I can execute the on/of sequence from other macro's. (cuts down on lines of code)

Macro2
  Trigger b2 on
   turn on light c1
   turn on light d3
   turn on light e4
   turn off light c1
   turn off light d3
   turn off light e4
   set B2 Off

 I realize the above doesn't address the 4 minutes. I am just trying to get this part working first. It doesn't work.  I've tried butting delays into macro 1(between the set B2 on) and macro2(between the on/off) but it's a hit or miss.  Is there some other way to do this.

Thanks

Logged

Oldtimer

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 45
  • Posts: 364
  • Line Noise & Signal Sucker Fatigue Syndrome
    • Oldtimer's X10 Forum Home Page
Re: Flashing Lights Macro
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2007, 03:25:49 PM »


I want to be able to flash (blink on and off) some lights in my house whenever onalert detects a contact open.  I have no problem detecting the contact open (ds10A) but I can't get the lights to flash.  I would like the lights to flash on and off at 2 second intervals for 4 minutes (pretty much the same way the DS7000 condole does).  What I tried was this...



As an alternate path to your goal let me suggest this concept.  If it interests you I'm sure we can work on the fine points.

First put all the lights you want to flash on the same house code.  Don't put anything else on that house code.

Next buy either a PF284 or PSC01 burglar alarm interface.  Set it to the same house code as the lights you want to blink and set it to alarm mode. When it's turned on it will blink all the lights on that house code for you.

Next use a wall wart of the correct voltage to provide input to the alarm interface and plug it in to an appliance module set to a different house code than the lights you want to blink.

Finally when you want to blink the lights start a macro that first turns on the appliance module, then waits four minutes, then turns off the appliance module and finally issues an all lights off command to the house code with the blinking lights.

Let us know what you think of this possibility.
Logged
Having "fun" with X-10 since 1980.

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7051
Re: Flashing Lights Macro
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2007, 03:44:56 PM »

This is from memory... I created a similar macro for my garage door voice reminder. If it isn't perfect... at least you see what I did. 3 macros... not 2.


macro 1
B2 on
delay 4 minutes
B2 OFF

macro 2
conditional if macro 1 (B2) is ON then:
trigger macro 3

macro3 flasher
light 1 ON
light 2 ON
light 3 ON
delay 2 secs
light 1 OFF
light 2 OFF
light 3 OFF
turn off macro 2 trigger
delay 2 secs turn on macro 2 trigger

« Last Edit: September 09, 2007, 11:34:20 PM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

spam4us

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 138
Re: Flashing Lights Macro
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2007, 02:07:06 AM »

WOW....two great options.

Out of the 2, which one would take less processing power.  Would other macros still be able to run while either one Oldtimers' or Dave_x10_L macro is running?

Oldtimer,  What's the difference between the PF284 & PSC01? (please don't say 10 bucks LOL) Any advantage/disadvantages between the two? Also could a UM506 be used to trigger the PF284/PSC01 insteat of the appliance module & wall wart?

Thanks to both of you for your time & effort.
Logged

Oldtimer

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 45
  • Posts: 364
  • Line Noise & Signal Sucker Fatigue Syndrome
    • Oldtimer's X10 Forum Home Page
Re: Flashing Lights Macro
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2007, 08:41:40 PM »


Out of the 2, which one would take less processing power.  Would other macros still be able to run while either one Oldtimers' or Dave_x10_L macro is running?


I think using the PF284/PSC01 would take much less AHP processing power.  Other macros would still be able to run in either case.


Oldtimer,  What's the difference between the PF284 & PSC01? (please don't say 10 bucks LOL) Any advantage/disadvantages between the two? Also could a UM506 be used to trigger the PF284/PSC01 insteat of the appliance module & wall wart?


I currently use both a PF284 and a PSC01.  I don't see any discernable difference in them.  In general though Pro mocules tend to be more robust over the long haul.  You can get either for a good price on EBay.

A UM506 would work well as a trigger for either the PF284 or PSC01.  I suggested the aplliance module/wall wart combo strictly as a cost saving measure.

Logged
Having "fun" with X-10 since 1980.

gcb

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Flashing Lights Macro
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2009, 02:47:57 PM »

Not to take over this thread, but using Dave's example above; mine will not shut off.  after macro 3 runs and delays, my macro 2 trigger is F1 on.  Therefore the timer is not expiring.  I am stumped.
  I made three macros.  original trigger for Macro 1, is c 12.  Inside macro 1 is : turn on F1 timer.  Delay 4 minutes.  Tun off F1.
    Macro 2, trigger is F1 on and module status on, turn on F2.
  Macro 3,  trigger is F2; turn on all lights, delay 2 sec, turn off each light module.... c1, c3, c4 ect..delay, f1 on. 
 This is not working. I don't know how to set up condition of if macro 1 is on ...then run macro 2.. please advise.. Bill
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7051
Re: Flashing Lights Macro
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2009, 06:11:55 PM »

... This is not working. I don't know how to set up condition of if macro 1 is on ...then run macro 2.. please advise..

Looking back on this old thread... I think it was more an exercise... than a recommendation. As oldtimer says (below) a powerflash module would be much better.

That said... you will need to use your "smart macros" to setup a conditional macro. Be sure the module [thats status] is the "condition" is on the monitored House Code and that the macro is saved to the interface.



I think using the PF284/PSC01 would take much less AHP processing power.  Other macros would still be able to run in either case.

Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

gcb

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Flashing Lights Macro
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2009, 09:20:12 PM »

So your saying....a macro could be triggered off the status of a module?  ( on or off) ?  power flash will send in mode 2, light modules on, then all units off.  any one of these On/OFF's could be used as the trigger?  I tried this earlier( I didn't use conditions) & it didn't work for me.  That is where I figured that theirs a difference in how the coed is interpreted. All lights on, is different then all lights on & "C2" on (that is a light module).How would the macro read like

condition if c2 on then trigger
send email out

I am struggling writing he conditions.. Thanks Bill
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.