Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: [Newbie] Can I Use Multiple CM15A in One AHP Installation?  (Read 9253 times)

kmcgillycuddy

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
[Newbie] Can I Use Multiple CM15A in One AHP Installation?
« on: September 24, 2007, 02:25:15 PM »

Thank you for reading my question.

I'm a newbie to X10 solutions.  I'm excited about implementing AHP with Video Surveillance and then perhaps look to replace my ADT system with an X10 security solution.  I've been involved w/ technology for 20+ years so I know this is going to take time to do right.  I'm going to eat this elephant one bite at a time and focus on getting AHP to work.

I just received my starter kit and ran into the basic problem of the X10 signals not being able to go across the different electicial phases.  Makes sense.  I investigated the phase coupler solution found at http://www.smarthome.com/solution04.html.  My problem is that I can't find a double phase outlet in my house, I have looked in the laundry room and everywhere else.  What's weird is that I do have a 40amp circuit that is connectd to phase A and phase B for my Central Air, but I can't find any other outlets on that circuit.  So I guess I'm stuck with having to have an electritian in to add a phase coupler to my circuit breaker board.  I don't like this solution for two reasons; the first is that I'm worried about the safety of coupling the phases (I have a good BASIC understanding of electrical circuits and I know enough to get a professional to do all of my wiring  :).  My second concern, obviously, is the cost of having to hire an electrician for this.

I was trying to think of an alternative.  Is it possible to put two CM15As onto a single installation of AHP without any system issues?  I could then put one CM15A on phase A and the second on phase B.  Would this be a less expensive way to be able to send the X10 command signals to all of my devices?