Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye  (Read 46863 times)

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« on: October 29, 2007, 08:54:24 PM »

Is there a way to know, besides from the box it came in, what kind of motion sensor it is from looking at the motion sensor? I have supposedly been delivered Active Eye motion sensors but they are acting like Eagle Eye in that they keep turning off the cameras and I don't understand why. I have the dusk/dawn thing set to "one blink" which means on at all times and does not turn on the +1 thing on, yet the cameras keep turning off and the tm751 is snapping all the time. What gives? My cameras are set to A1,A2 and A3. :'(
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2007, 09:03:10 PM »

Well, the sticker on the back of my EagleEye says:  EagleEye Indoor/Outdoor Motion Sensor Model MS14A.
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2007, 09:49:28 PM »

You mean, I have to climb up the ladder again and take these things down? Damn!

Why do the cameras keep turning off and the screen goes blue? ??? ???
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2007, 09:53:36 PM »

You mean, I have to climb up the ladder again and take these things down? Damn!

Why do the cameras keep turning off and the screen goes blue? ??? ???

Well, mine are brown and take two "triple A" batteries... if that helps any.

P.S.
From my understanding taking out the batteries (like to unscrew them from the wall) will default them.  ;)  :(
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2007, 10:11:59 PM »

Mine are charcoal gray.

I changed the setting to 9 blinks for the delay between when motion is detected to when the camera turns off and see if that makes a difference.

(oh, and they take 3 double A batteries)
Logged

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • Posts: 1340
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2007, 10:23:50 PM »

Mine are charcoal gray.

I changed the setting to 9 blinks for the delay between when motion is detected to when the camera turns off and see if that makes a difference.

(oh, and they take 3 double A batteries)

I guess you could call mine "charcoal gray" too... but they take two AAA batteries.
Logged
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2007, 10:38:22 PM »

I guess you could call mine "charcoal gray" too... but they take two AAA batteries.


Bill, mine take 3 AA's.

How big are they? Mine are about the size of a dinner plate. So much for trying to hide them out of sight. My neighbour thought I was installing satellite dishes. He couldn't believe it when I told him they were motion sensors.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7069
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2007, 10:44:40 PM »

Mine are charcoal gray.

I changed the setting to 9 blinks for the delay between when motion is detected to when the camera turns off and see if that makes a difference.

(oh, and they take 3 double A batteries)

The ActiveEye has an adjustment for that at the top , and look like this.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2007, 10:46:35 PM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2007, 10:51:34 PM »

he ActiveEye has an adjustment for that at the top , and look like this.

Good grief, WHAT DID THEY SEND ME?
Logged

Aquadeveloper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 51
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2007, 10:18:57 PM »

If yours are the size of a dinner plate, I sure hope a nice 1/2" thick med. rare steak is sitting on it!  :)
Logged

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2007, 10:33:03 PM »

If yours are the size of a dinner plate, I sure hope a nice 1/2" thick med. rare steak is sitting on it!  :)

not if you're a member of PETA ;D
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 137
  • Posts: 6097
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #11 on: November 02, 2007, 06:23:11 PM »


Good grief, WHAT DID THEY SEND ME?

Well? Have you figured this out yet?

"xxxEYE's"  take 2 AAA bateries
Robo Dog DM10A Takes 4 AA batteries

Is the brown motion detector you have taking three AAA batteries from X10??

Just curious...
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7069
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #12 on: November 02, 2007, 08:46:00 PM »


Robo Dog DM10A Takes 4 AA batteries


And looks like this: 
                                   

Sorta dinner plate-ish.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12859
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2007, 09:14:33 AM »

If I remember from my tests. Robo Dog does not send an off after a preset time. Actually never sends an off.
Logged

birdzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 475
Re: Active Eye vs Eagle Eye
« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2007, 06:35:33 PM »


Well? Have you figured this out yet?


Uh, yeah, I did. Actually I was just funnin' with ya'll about the size ;D:-[

But seriously now, I'm using 3 active eye motion sensors now with 3 cameras and I keep getting a blue screen after about 2 minutes or so. Are there any other factors that would turn all cameras off until motion is detected again?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.