Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!  (Read 6166 times)

blown99bergerssclo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 31
newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« on: January 26, 2008, 07:34:42 PM »

i just placed my order for a whole bunch of stuff security and cameras please look at the list and see if the sells person may have missed anything. she was great and very helpful. however i have spent the last hour reading on here and now i am a little worried. as for the extra magnets i have a lot of windows that run together. any suggestions are very welcome. thanks ahead of time! ???    Here is a complete list of items your package will include:

 

12 door/window sensors

23 doow/window magnets

4 security keychain remotes

2 lamp modules

1 surveillance yard sign

3 surveillance decals

4 security motion detectors

1 voice dialer console

1 mini powerhorn siren

1 security remote control

1 Activehome pro USB interface

1 Smart macros software

1 iwatchout software

1 myhouse online software

1 onalert software

1 15 amp heavy duty appliance module

1 slimfire keychain remote

2 slimline wallswitches

3 wall switch modules

5 flood cameras

1 video receiver

1 camera remote control

1 small wireless transceiver

1 wide eye wireless camera

2 nightwatch wireless cameras

1 usb video capture adapter

3 eagle eye motion sensors

1 2 year x10 extended warranty plan

Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9552
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2008, 07:43:46 PM »

Welcome aboard!
Do an Advanced Search on "Flood Cams", many users have issues with these and you may wish to exchange these for other cams!
Be prepared to spend hours of tinkering!
This stuff isn't "plug and play" especialy when you add everything you've ordered into the mix! ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6894
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2008, 08:00:04 PM »

A great list!

With so many different items... it would be difficult NOT to use both phases of you electrical system. I use a passive Phase Coupler on my system. You can search the term "phase" here to learn more.

I tend to over-do somethings.... but I added a couple LARGE powerhorns to my X10 security/alarm system.

I can't disagree with Tuicemen's assessment of the floodCAMs.... However I highly recommend X10's FLOODLIGHTS.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2008, 08:04:59 PM by Dave_x10_L »
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

blown99bergerssclo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 31
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2008, 08:03:17 PM »

thanks for the input. i have been thats why im nervous. i really like the idea of the flood camms because i live in an area that was country and now is starting to grow alot.my plan was to set them up for a 360 view of my home and garages. then use the low lights in each garage and the wide eye on the front porch. any other suggestions. what about the soft ware do i need all of it? i want to be able to monitor the alarm and the cameras from the enternet due to my being gone alot. thanks again
Logged

blown99bergerssclo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 31
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2008, 08:04:38 PM »

thanks dave ill check it out
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6894
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2008, 08:14:51 PM »

................... what about the soft ware do i need all of it? i want to be able to monitor the alarm and the cameras from the enternet due to my being gone alot. thanks again

Everything you need... is in the list. The AHP (interface) [and] the My House On-line, [with] the iwatchout [plus] the video adapter... will do that.

Set-up will take a bit longer than 20 minutes.... actually you may have a few weekends of set-up ahead of you. But it should be FUN.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9552
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2008, 08:17:46 PM »

blown99bergerssclo
You probably could getaway with out the camera and internet plug-ins but for the price you might as well keep them!
As Dave Stated the flood lights seem to work better and you can control a camera with them as well as other devices!
One word of caution! Don't try to add every thing all at once, take baby steps and ensure each device works the way you want it before you add the next! Failing to do this will end in hours of frustration!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9552
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2008, 08:37:09 PM »

Since your interested in video monitoring you might want to look at a ninja pan&tilt it will cut down on the amount of cameras needed! ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

blown99bergerssclo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 31
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2008, 10:24:50 AM »

if i do the ninjas will they operate over the internet and how reliable are they? ive been reading alot about gear issues.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9552
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2008, 01:09:59 PM »

Yes,they do work over the internet!
As for the gear problem,I haven't experienced it. Yet! (guess I'm not a power camera Guy! ::) )
You can find metal replacement gears from hobby shops if they do fail.
Locate them under eves to semi protect them from the elements! ;)
Trying to turn them when they are iced up will damage them!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

blown99bergerssclo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 31
Re: newbie question....help b4 i get in too deep!
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2008, 07:32:22 PM »

thanks i went ahead and ordered 1 ninja ttoday to try it out.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.