Contact | X10.com
September 23, 2014, 10:20:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: The X10 Community wants to know how you use your X10 system!
Share your story in the Automated Home Showcase.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Converting a Wireless cam to a wired cam.  (Read 14189 times)
josepy
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 8


« on: December 29, 2007, 08:11:42 AM »

Has anyone converted a wireless to a wired cam? Would it suffice to cut the wires to transmitter antenna and wire them directly to the receiver, splicing into the wires at the antenna on the receiver?


Puck Edit: Corrected spelling of "Converting" in message header for searchability.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2008, 06:59:13 AM by Puck » Logged
Brian H
Community Organizer
Hero Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 257
Posts: 11150


« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2007, 09:54:08 AM »

Well getting a 2.4 Ghz signal to pass through a coaxial cable; maybe a big challenge. Baseband Video would be easier, though it also would have limited distances; without a better video output in the camera made to drive a coax cable.
Logged
HA Dave
Community Organizer
Hero Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 168
Posts: 5241



« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2007, 11:22:21 AM »

Has anyone converted a wireless to a wired cam? Would it suffice to cut the wires to transmitter antenna and wire them directly to the receiver, splicing into the wires at the antenna on the receiver?

Puck posted the info your looking for here. Puck simply converted the wireless to wired, disposing of the RF.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2007, 11:25:27 AM by Dave_x10_L » Logged

The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.
josepy
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 8


« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2007, 01:19:38 PM »

Hey thanks for the link!

Makes my day!

« Last Edit: December 29, 2007, 01:28:06 PM by josepy » Logged
HA Dave
Community Organizer
Hero Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 168
Posts: 5241



« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2007, 01:51:15 PM »

Hey thanks for the link!

Makes my day!


Thank Puck! He deserves a Helpful for that post.
Logged

The use of Home Automation is limited... only by our imaginations.
josepy
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 8


« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2007, 03:31:52 PM »

Thanks Puck!

Makes my weekend Wink
Logged
bd0844
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 9


« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2008, 05:22:03 PM »

I bought a XCam2 wide angle camera and was getting interference on all channels, so Puck's conversion explanation was very helpful.  However, I have an additional question.  The power input to the camera is a 3.5mm jack with 3 wires; a red wire which I believe to be the positive, a braided wire which I believe to be the ground, and a white wire which I believe to be something to do with the addressable power supply.  I want the camera to be "ON" all the time and do not need the addressable power supply function.  Can someone please explain how I should hook up the power input?
Logged
Puck
Expert Advisor
Hero Member
*

Helpful Post Rating: 171
Posts: 1799


« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2008, 08:51:12 PM »

The power input to the camera is a 3.5mm jack with 3 wires; a red wire which I believe to be the positive, a braided wire which I believe to be the ground, and a white wire which I believe to be something to do with the addressable power supply.  I want the camera to be "ON" all the time and do not need the addressable power supply function.  Can someone please explain how I should hook up the power input?

Tie the red & white wires together. There are 2 separate wires from the power supply to make the camera become instant on. One wire goes to the the camera electronics (always on) and the other wire goes to the transmitter (switched on & off via the power supplies X10 address). So since you will have the camera always on, tying the two wires together is required.
Logged
bd0844
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 9


« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2008, 02:44:36 AM »

Thanks again, Puck !
Logged
josepy
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 8


« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2008, 04:42:50 PM »

This is a very old X-10 cam with no "instant on" but here is what it looked like when I cut it open Wink

Logged
josepy
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 8


« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2008, 04:45:51 PM »

I stuck with the original power supply, and ran the video/audio back to my server



Seems to work Wink
Logged
petervrh
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 1


« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2008, 11:09:48 AM »

Joespy,
How did you connect the video and audio to your server ?  What type of connectors do you use ?

Logged
josepy
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 8


« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2008, 05:25:39 AM »

I don't recall the spec on the connectors, but they basically get plugged into the capture cards.

I'm on vac for a few days now but when I get back I try to post something more meaningful Smiley
Logged
josepy
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 8


« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2008, 05:29:14 AM »

This came from Puck Smiley hope it helps

--------------------------------

(my message)

Im attempting to hard wire a couple of X-10 cams for the same reasons you did. I've read your post, but am really a neophyte when it comes to the different wiring standards, plug ends etc. I am only interested at the moment in capturing the video (yellow) and would like to wire the camera directly to a Composite video (of which I have one or two) plug.

The composite video plug has two wires, the center and an outer. I presume that the center would be spliced to the yellow wire on the camera? but what color is connected to the other wire on the composite video plug?

Or am I completely off base here?

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

---------------------------------

(Puck's reply)

Hi,

You are correct that the yellow wire (video) will connect to the centre wire of the plug. The Blue wire is the return line to connect to the other wire of the plug.

Cheers
Logged
josepy
Newbie


Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 8


« Reply #14 on: August 07, 2008, 02:29:04 PM »

So the wiring is as Puck described it, in my previous post. Many thanks to Puck as always.

And a couple of pictures of my X-10 hookup:

Back plane of the computer:



A closer look at the plugin scheme.



Hope this helps Smiley

Joe

Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | X10 Mini Timer
© Copyright 2013 X10.com All rights reserved.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!