Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: SENTINEL PTZ  (Read 16029 times)

bd0844

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
SENTINEL PTZ
« on: January 04, 2008, 06:32:35 PM »

I received my 'new' Sentinel PTZ camera today.

It comes with a 100-foot RCA video cable but nothing to extend the DC power from the power supply to the housing.  The male and female DC connectors are not the standard size - the male end on the DC power supply is bigger than normal and the pin on the female end on the housing is smaller than normal.  That means a regular DC extension cable or siamese cable will not work.

Technical support told me "that's the way they make it" and to run an AC extension cord out to where the DC power supply will be close enough to plug in.

I consider it to be a safety hazard having the DC power supply outside and question why X10 does not use standard size DC power plugs/jacks.  I  could splice normal size DC power plug/jacks on, but that should not be necessary on a 'new' camera.

I noticed another forum member made a modification to increase the tilt angle !  I used a J hook C-mount Bracket instead of the bracket provided to be able to point the camera up and be able to zoom in on objects about 100-150 feet away.  This way I did not have to open up the camera and modify it, which would have voided the warranty.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2008, 09:56:49 PM by bd0844 »
Logged

bd0844

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: SENTINEL PTZ
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2008, 07:16:57 PM »

 ???  I think I found the reason for the 'plug' problem !  The power supply for the Sentinel camera is 15 volts DC, not 12 volts DC like most everything else.  My guess is that the different plug is to prevent people from using the 15 volt Sentinel power supply on lower voltage items which would burn them up.  I have found no reference to the 15 volt DC power supply voltage in the Sentinel specifications and it was not pointed out in my discussion with tech. support.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2008, 10:01:01 PM by bd0844 »
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: SENTINEL PTZ
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2008, 10:44:03 PM »

I agree using a non standard plug makes it hard to run power. Also while the the camera is designed for outdoor use, the instructions specifically say not to use the power supply outdoors.

This is what I did. I bought the 100ft Video & Power Extension Cable from Smart home. I then went to Radio Shack and bought a matching set of "M" size connectors. Next I cut about 6" the end off the power supply cable. Then I added "M" connectors to the cut ends. Make sure you put them on the correct ends. I then took the 6" adapter cable and plugged it in at the camera. This gave the camera and the power supply a more standard plug arrangement allowing easy connection of the combined cable. I also taped over all the connectors once they were plugged in.

Wiring with the combined pair was much easier also.

I believe Smarthome has a 60 ft cable as well for a few bucks less.

Don't feel bad about not using the 100 ft video cable that came with the camera. Any power supply arrangement with 110V extention cords would cost at least as much as the combined Video & Power cable.



100ft Video & Power Extension Cable - Item# 79935A

« Last Edit: January 14, 2008, 11:10:24 PM by steven r »
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.