Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Defective WS467?  (Read 19113 times)

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12829
Re: Defective WS467?
« Reply #30 on: November 11, 2010, 06:26:29 PM »

An UPS many times is a great X10 signal killer if plugged into the wall directly.

The UPS should be the one with an X10 filter on its AC power input.
I have a 10 amp FilterLinc on mine.

Almost 100% chance the UPS has a AC Input filter in it and the monitor is already filtered.

That AC filter on the UPS power input is what kills the X10 signals as it is noise to the UPS.
Logged

Jason B

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 79
Re: Defective WS467?
« Reply #31 on: November 13, 2010, 09:25:30 PM »

Thanks again. Don't you find it strange that just unplugging the monitor plug only... Fixes the situation? There are a ton of other things plugged into that UPS, but only the monitor messes things up when plugged into it. BUt if I plug the monitor into another outlet, the problem doesn't exist either.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12829
Re: Defective WS467?
« Reply #32 on: November 14, 2010, 09:20:52 AM »

Strange thing can happen with electronics. Murphy like to mess with me all the time.
It can't hurt to try an X10 filter on the monitors power cord directly.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 108
  • Posts: 2101
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Defective WS467?
« Reply #33 on: November 14, 2010, 09:53:35 AM »


From your descriptions, it sounds like your system is marginally working.  In that case small changes in the electrical environment can impact system operation.

The problem is probably a combination of weak signal levels and electrical noise on the powerline.  Isolating "problem" devices with filters will help.  So will boosting your signal levels.

You may find these troubleshooting guides helpful:

     http://jvde.us/x10/x10_filters.htm

     http://jvde.us/x10/x10_cellet_noise.htm

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.