Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Help with the outdoor light toggle switch please..  (Read 9566 times)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Help with the outdoor light toggle switch please..
« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2008, 05:21:26 PM »

...What I was visualizing when I wrote my post was an industrial product that may not be cataloged by Google.
You mean there is something that Google doesn't know about.  ;)
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Help with the outdoor light toggle switch please..
« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2008, 05:22:56 PM »

try a togglelinc from smarthome.
http://www.smarthome.com/2466dw.html...
Correct me if I'm wrong but I think that switch requires a neutral wire.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Help with the outdoor light toggle switch please..
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2008, 05:30:19 PM »

steven r
i am the one who needs to be corrected.  sometimes i forget that not everyone has the white wire.  i should have reveiwed the post more thoroughly.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Help with the outdoor light toggle switch please..
« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2008, 06:08:41 PM »

Maybe one of these switch covers with a standard X10 switch could work for you. You would need to flip the cover open to push the button. Both are designed for wet environments. I like the 1st cover best as it is self closing and U.L. listed for wet locations with cover closed.

http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/14-50-weatherproof-covers/1-gang-receptacle-or-toggle-switch-cover--642819.aspx

http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/14-50-weatherproof-covers/single-gang-weatherproof-switch-cover-602103.aspx
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Galileo2000

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 9
Re: Help with the outdoor light toggle switch please..
« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2008, 06:27:19 PM »

Maybe one of these switch covers with a standard X10 switch could work for you. You would need to flip the cover open to push the button. Both are designed for wet environments. I like the 1st cover best as it is self closing and U.L. listed for wet locations with cover closed.

http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/14-50-weatherproof-covers/1-gang-receptacle-or-toggle-switch-cover--642819.aspx

http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/14-50-weatherproof-covers/single-gang-weatherproof-switch-cover-602103.aspx

Thank you Steven.

Looks like I'll use one of those or just forget about the whole thing altogether.

I can't believe x10 and simple toggle switch would be such a huge problem.
Logged

caudill22

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
Re: Help with the outdoor light toggle switch please..
« Reply #20 on: January 28, 2008, 07:05:37 PM »

You could install the XPDF? That would give you X10 in-line control of the lights, however I  believe you wanted to retain local control so I don't know that the XPDF would be the perfect solution. It would definitely eliminate the weather element since it could be installed anywhere along the wire run, even inside the house as long as you left the outdoor control on.

The more I think about it, if you you really want to maintain local control I would find a weather proof box and install a wall switch like the 2384 http://www.smarthome.com/2384i2.html that does not require a neutral wire to be present. I just checked smarthome.com and see that they do not have the 2384 in stock. I have used this switch and is a great switch and definitely would recommend to anyone who needs to do a quick install without a neutral wire present. You may be able to locate one on eBay or another home automation website.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.